We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic stay at Mandalay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Mandalay

Mandalay viewed from pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mandalay viewed from pool
Front aspect of Mandalay Swimming pool, overlooking one of the cabanas and paddy fields below
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
Mandalay viewed from pool
Front aspect of Mandalay
Swimming pool, overlooking one of the cabanas and paddy fields below
Second cabana
Garden and treehouse
Mandalay's beautifully manicured grounds
Pool cabana and sun loungers
Mandalay illuminated at dusk
Master bedroom
Overlooking second cabana from master bedroom balcony
Second bedroom
Third bedroom
Fresh local fruit breakfast, prepared by your chef
Mandalay's team of staff and its fleet of vehicles
Picking our own tea
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Darga Town, Western Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Andrew M
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic stay at Mandalay”
Reviewed 2 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We have just returned from a fabulous 4 days staying at the gorgeous Villa Mandalay. Set in a beautiful garden with wonderful elevated views over open countryside and a lovely big pool, it was just so peaceful and relaxing. Not only that, but Sudu and his team were absolutely brilliant hosts who made us feel very welcome and special. Shopping and the beach, as well as multiple other things to do, such as a fun river safari, a visit to a turtle sanctuary and a very inspiring trip to a significant Bhuddist Temple are all within 20 minutes by car or in the Mandalay tuc-tuc - the latter mode of transport was definitely my favourite!! We did plenty of things but also had a wonderful time relaxing at Mandalay - what a fantastic place, highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemmac128
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing!!! ”
Reviewed 2 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We are just returning home from a 10 night stay at Villa Mandalay and it was a fantastic experience! From booking all the way through to returning to the airport for our flight home the staff at the villa are truly wonderful. We had exceptional service throughout our stay from Chaturanga who made sure that the villa, swimming pool and bedrooms were kept to hotel standards. Ranjit was wonderful cooking delicious meals everyday, we will miss your cooking back in Dubai! Sudu and Chaminda were excellent taking us all over Sri Lanka and we were fortunate to have them help us meet and greet local Sri Lankan people and organise and drive us on some fabulous and memorable trips!

Our favourites were a visit to a waterfall, a Jeep safari, releasing baby turtles and a wonderful river cruise.

We can’t rate this villa enough and we are very sad to be leaving. If you visit Sri Lanka, don’t miss out on experiencing this wonderful villa and team of staff.

Until next time,

Daniel, Gemma, Ryan and Lia

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2018
Thank you for your wonderful review. Myself and my team are all so pleased that you all enjoyed yourselves so much and we all hope that you return again some day where you will be sincerely welcomed back.
Thank you again. Kim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Val D
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Totally wonderful in every way!”
Reviewed 26 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We can’t recommend this place highly enough. This has been our second visit to this lovely place. The villa is spacious, well stocked and very clean. The view every morning outstanding. We were looked after by Sudu, Chataranga , Ranjiv and the gardener. They couldn’t do enough for us. Sudu is an excellent guide and friend, the house and pool were cleaned immaculately every day, the chef cooked anything we wanted .... always lovely. Away from the villa...plenty of lovely restaurants, beautiful unspoilt beaches, easy reach to Galle, whale watching, turtle sanctuary. We were accompanied and guided on our road trips making seeing even more of beautiful Sri Lanka easy and fulfilling. It was sad to leave the villa and the friends we have made there.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2018
Thank you so much Sue and the “girls” for your wonderful review. I know that Sudu misses your laughter and wicked sense of fun. I truly hope that we can welcome you back again to Mandalay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shineflow...
England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Experience of a life time!”
Reviewed 27 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Wow what an amazing holiday. My worry with writing this review is that it doesn’t matter how much I try to describe what a wonderful experience I have had, I don’t think any words can truly do it justice. You really will have to go and experience Mandalay in Sri Lanka for yourselves!
The accommodation is so lovely and clean but homely at the same time. We returned to Mandalay from tour and I thought “It’s nice to be home” The views are amazing and if you’re an early bird like me you will love to watch the mist lift and reveal the beautiful view whilst listening to so many natural sounds.
Kim, Sudu and the Mandalay staff are amazing they work so hard all day making sure your every need is catered for and the cook makes food better than anywhere else you will eat. All food is locally produced. We even fetched the fish from the fish market (That was an experience that has to be done!) and cook barbequed it for supper.
Sudu, with his knowledge and kind nature was what made our holiday. Nothing was too much trouble. He even took us to the temple of the tooth and on safari at 5am. We were welcomed by all. Thanks to Sudu I got to tea pick on the side of a mountain with the locals and visit a Montessori where the children were wonderful.
On tour we went Whale watching, stayed on Hapitali Mountain, visited a tea plantation, stayed in a Jungle Bungalow and went on Safari, visited Kandy and the Temple of the Tooth and to finish a visit to the elephant orphanage. Each day I though was the best day but the next day brought another adventure and a new experiences. Who thought you would be shopping for t shirts and 75 elephants pass by!
There was so much to see locally the beaches are beautiful and the sea so warm. A visit to the local bakery is a must. A dip in the warm pool to cool down watching the parrots fly over gave a perfect end to a perfect day. There is just so much to see and experience.
It is the best holiday I have ever had and the memories will last a life time.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2018
I cannot begin to tell you how reading a review like yours gladdens my heart.
We are all delighted that you will never forget us and hopefully will return again.
Thank you for staying with us
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annhall27
Droitwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical”
Reviewed 27 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Mandalay for 2 weeks. We were really well looked after by Sudu and his staff. I can't praise them enough Always polite and nothing too much trouble. The villa is comfortable, clean and well maintained. Kataranga looked after us from early morning till the time we go to bed and everything is done with a wonderful smile. The food is always cooked fresh each meal and we could have what ever we wanted. The gardens and patio areas were immaculate and Saman worked hard to make sure it was all perfect. Kim and Sudu showed us so many wonderful and exciting things during our stay from Yala national park to the tea plantations to the temple at Kandy to the elephant orphanage and loads inbetween. Every day was different to the previous and we learnt so much about the area and Sri Lanka as a whole.
Really didn't want to come home! I can't recommend Villa Mandalay enough.
Exceptional holiday of a lifetime.

Thank you Kim and Sudu. Hopefully we will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2018
Thank you for your lovely review, I know that all at Mandalay hope that you return as well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaelma...
Pershore, United Kingdom
1 review
“A little Sri Lankan paradise!”
Reviewed 26 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

From the moment we arrived to the morning we left we were treated like royalty! The house and pool are beautiful and kept that way by Chaturanga. Ranjit cooked the most delicious Sri Lankan food for us and Ranjit kept the garden looking lovely.
Sudu could not have done more; running us here there and everywhere and arranging the wonderful trip into the mountains. We had the most memorable unforgettable holiday and hope to go back soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2018
Thank you for your wonderful review Mike, we are all so happy that you had a wonderful holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald S
Linithgow
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Mandalay Was Like A Home From Home”
Reviewed 8 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

What a wonderful place to spend a Christmas holiday. Mandalay has a lovely tranquil setting with beautifully maintained gardens. The house is comfortable and homely. But what makes it really exceptional is the people. The staff were always attentive but never intrusive. Kataranga looked after the house and kept it spotless. Ranjeev the chef made us wonderful meals. Samon the gardner kept the grounds immaculate. At this point we have to make very special mention of Sudu and his lovely family. He showed us much of his beautiful country with great enthusiasm and humour. On Boxing day he staged a wonderful dinner for our family and the families staying in the other two villas. It was a memorable evening. This was a truly wonderful holiday which we will never forget. Thank you so much Sudu & Kim

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jan 2018
Thank you very much Donald for such a lovely review.
I know that all the "boys" enjoyed your company and would welcome you back at any time with open arms.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing