We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant country pub.”
Review of Drusilla's Inn

Drusilla's Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Horton
Price range: US$0 - US$77
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A cosy and friendly 16th Century thatched freehouse with fantastic views of the Horton Folly Tower (with a circular walk to the tower starting from Drusilla's car park). We serve fresh and, if possible, locally sourced produce prepared from scratch in our own kitchens. A range of menus are available from Bar Snacks to our A La Carte with regular special offers. We serve a good selection of wines and Real Ales. Drusilla's also has a function room available for special occasions and weddings, and two state of the art luxury shepherd's huts for those wishing to stay the night with king sized beds, ensuite bathrooms and heating(really warm and cosy even in the snow)- the ultimate glamping experience - read our reviews!
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This pub has changed hands many times since the original German owners and the present owners are the best so far; they are very friendly and welcoming. The menu has a good variety of dishes many of them not the usual pub offerings and at reasonable prices. Since they have been in charge we have not been disappointed by the food.
The pub is well situated for walks in Ferndown forest and Holt forest and in winter there is usually a welcoming log fire.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watling09, Owner at Drusilla's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for writing us such a lovely review (and for saying we are the best owners so far). We are delighted that you enjoy our food, the walks nearby and our fires - they are both roaring away as I type!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
There are newer reviews for Drusilla's Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 244 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

We went to this pub last year and decided to go again as we love the setting and the atmosphere. We were not disappointed. Last year we only had a drink but this year we decided to eat at Drusilla's. Our lunch was really delicious and service good. I had the ham hock and it melted in my mouth - scrumptious! This is a true English pub with lovely views - a real gem. The only thing I'd say (and I say this to almost every pub) is that I wish they wouldn't necessarily put cutlery on the tables as food should be optional and I like to feel I can just get a drink in a pub. We live in Devon and went out of our way to go here and will do so again when we have a day out in Dorset as we really love it. Hopefully we'll stay longer next time and walk to the folly which looks interesting.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LMitchell2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watling09, Owner at Drusilla's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

How lovely to hear that you went out of your way to get to us - and stayed and ate this time - and think we are a gem of a pub. We were delighted to read your review, thank you for writing it. As a rule we only put cutlery out on our restaurant tables (or pre booked tables in the the bar) - the tables in the bar usually just have a tankard of cutlery in the middle but hopefully that doesn't make people feel they HAVE to eat as that is so not the case and drinkers are just as welcome as eaters! We look forwards to welcoming you back again soon - for drink or food - you really should try the walk up to the tower, the views from the top are fantastic - and hopefully the blue bells will soon be in bloom! Thanks again - see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We visited for a midweek meal and drinks. Really nice friendly pub. Good food. Nice setting. We will definitely return. Thank you.

Thank tammy1378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watling09, Owner at Drusilla's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Drusilla's this week. Thank you for writing this review, we look forwards to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Decided to go for lunch on Sunday 6th April and had heard from different sources that Drusilla's was good although it was a long while since they had been. Had a quick look at their website and the food did sound lovely for Sunday lunch. The building is lovely but the bar area where we chose to eat was a bit dreary. We were given the menu, a set course menu and decided to skip starters and opt for either the 1 or 2 course meal. We both ordered Sea Bass with a caper butter and a 'melange of vegetables'. When it arrived the fish portion was tiny, held up by a little pile of crushed new potatoes. The capers were evident but no real evidence of butter. Perhaps the fish had been sauteed in butter but didn't seem to get as far as the plate. The fish was though very nicely cooked. The 'melange' of vegetables were a small bowl of broccoli.cauliflower and carrot, nicely cooked again, so no real problem with the actual cooking of the food, just the portion size and presentation. The selection of food on our menu was not as good as is advertised on their website incidentally.Our table was 'sticky'. Not sure if this is due to the cleaning agents being used or if it actually was sticky with spilled drinks or food but when a paper napkin was put on it, it stuck to the table. We ordered desserts but unfortunately the restaurant lost power due to the SEB doing work,so didn't get desserts, not their fault obviously. When we came to pay, we were overcharged and I am not sure how the price was worked out as there is nothing on the set menu which would have added up to what we were charged. We queried this and given some money back with an apology but it was still wrong so had to query it again. We did finally get the correct change and an apology. Such a shame as I was so looking forward to it and was very disappointed. I don't think this is terribly cheap either for what you actually get. Nice friendly staff though.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Dot48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watling09, Owner at Drusilla's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

We were gutted to read your review, in truth this is starting to feel like a hate campaign - especially if the reader looks at our other reviews for the last 6 months. Anyway (with a deep and resigned sigh) - I will answer the points you have made one at a time.

You wrote that it is a long time since we have been good - just how long ago was it that you last considered us? I have checked our tripadvisor reviews back for the last TWO years and the OVERWHELMING majority are 5's & 4's so excellent or good and evidence of a lot of happy and satisfied customers spread over a long period of time.

You wrote that the bar was dreary. When you arrived our log burner was lit and the lights were on, guaranteed we have low ceilings but our beams are full of polished brassware - it was pouring with rain and blowing a gale outside so it was a miserable dreary day but we were doing our best to make Drusilla's cosy. Of course, it didn't help when we had a power cut - something completely beyond our control though we did our best to carry on.

You wrote there was not enough butter on the fish - this is a subjective comment, someone else could easily have thought there was too much. If you had said at the time that you would have enjoyed more sauce this would cheerfully and easily have been provided. Equally we would happily have given you more veg if you had simply asked. Our customer service policy, displayed by the front door, invites people to do just that - tell us if you have a problem so we can ensure your visit is as enjoyeable as possible!

You wrote that the selection of food displayed on our sample menu on the website is better than the menu you received on the day. Either you read the wrong (not the Sunday) menu on the website or you are being unfairly contentious. I have checked the website menu (which is a real menu that we have used) against the menu of the day of your visit - both provide 4 starter options, the website menu offers one less main course but one more dessert - so they both offer the same number of options in total. The Sunday menu is created by our chef each week, sometimes it includes steak at a supplement and sometimes it doesn't depending on how many steaks were sold the previous Saturday evening.

You wrote that the table was sticky - it might well have been, sorry. It was from the cleaning agent though (stickyness caused by food and drink would have been blatently obvious due to marks on the table). This is something we are continually working on - after a while the cleaning agents react with the varnish creating a slightly tacky feel. Once we have noticed a table is doing this we sand it down and revarnish it - this one will be done asap.

You wrote that we over charged you - apologies. At this time the power had gone off so our till system had crashed and a lot of people were leaving all at the same time causing some confusion and a lot of stressed staff. We NEVER deliberately overcharge people, it was a simple mistake caused by circumstances beyond our control.

You wrote that you think we weren't particularly cheap - we don't sell cheap food, we sell fresh local, reasonably priced food. Our Sunday lunch prices are £11 for 1 course, £13 for 2 courses and £16 for 3 courses - the incentive is obviously to have more than one course with both the starters and the desserts being charged at a staggering good value of £2/ £3 each.

Finally we are pleased that you thought your food was well cooked and our staff were pleasant but dismayed that you only gave us a 2. Sunday was a horrible day due to the loss of power and we all tried so hard to still make things ok for our customers, this really does feel like a heavy blow that just completes a terrible day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We had a meal for two although the meal was tasty the portions could have been bigger, not worth the price. Staff very pleasant and welcoming though

1  Thank angelastocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watling09, Owner at Drusilla's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

We remember you well as your "lovely lady" snapped at our assistant manager when she was seating you accusing our assistant manager of looking at her in a strange way and upset our assistant manager to the point where she did not want to serve you again so I personally looked after you for the rest of your visit. That said, I do also remember doing my best to welcome you including talking to you about the show you had just seen - I remember that you had been to see Buddy Holly and that you said it was great. We do always do our best to welcome our customers (even if they have just upset a member of our staff) and we can only apologise if you do not think we managed that on this occasion.

As we remember it - you arrived about 5.45am in the evening before we had started serving food. Obviously at this early hour we were obviously still empty in the round restaurant area so it is hardly surprising that there was little personality. We served your food at 6pm and you left before our other evening customers started to arrive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Drusilla's Inn also viewed

 

Been to Drusilla's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing