We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely find”
Review of Drusilla's Inn

Drusilla's Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Horton
Price range: US$0 - US$77
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A cosy and friendly 16th Century thatched freehouse with fantastic views of the Horton Folly Tower (with a circular walk to the tower starting from Drusilla's car park). We serve fresh and, if possible, locally sourced produce prepared from scratch in our own kitchens. A range of menus are available from Bar Snacks to our A La Carte with regular special offers. We serve a good selection of wines and Real Ales. Drusilla's also has a function room available for special occasions and weddings, and two state of the art luxury shepherd's huts for those wishing to stay the night with king sized beds, ensuite bathrooms and heating(really warm and cosy even in the snow)- the ultimate glamping experience - read our reviews!
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I've driven past a thousand times, but the only time I had previously visited was 25 years ago. It's a lovely little pub, ample parking and nice inside - exactly what you want in a country pub. It was also really lovely to see so many people there with their impeccably behaved dogs.
I was meeting a friend for lunch and we had a couple of light bites, soup and a ciabatta, both were very nice and arrived quickly, even though the pub was quite busy. The bar staff (whom I assumed to be the owners) were friendly and helpful.
I did look at the Trip Advisor reviews before I went and was confused by the extremes of review, so much so, that after visiting I went home and googled to double check if there was another Drusilla's nearby, because the experience I had in there bore no resemblance to the negative reviews I read about.
Overall a lovely little pub, with a good menu and a nice atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DaisyMaeLucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watling09, Owner at Drusilla's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

We were delighted to read your review, especially as you are someone who has written a range of varied reviews and is new to Drusilla's. We were obviously delighted that you so enjoyed your visit to us but were also pleased to read that you are mystified as to the source of some of our recent quite negative reviews because we are too! We did change our menu a few weeks ago (but the choice is now wider, the produce featured is still the same and we still have a special offer menu and bar snack options) and our ethos and staff have not changed. The only thing that we can think of is that we have upset someone - it certainly feels like a bit of a hate campaign. Thank you for taking the time to try and address the balance and speak up for us by writing a fair and honest review- it's much appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
There are newer reviews for Drusilla's Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

237 - 241 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

Having been singing the praises of this place since starting to hold our montly meetings here, it seems we're on the look out for somewhere else again.

The 'set menu' has shrunk down to just 2 choices for each course. They ran out of one of these and offered a substitute no one wanted and refused to allow an alternative substitute.
As it turned out, the alternative 'pork chop' offered turned out to be the belly pork which was mostly fat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watling09, Owner at Drusilla's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

How unfair - you clearly think that tripadvisor is only worth using to have a moan. You say you have been singing our praises for a long time - not on tripadvisor you haven't! Why is it that you can only be bothered to post a review when it is a moan and obviously cant be bothered to post a review when it is praise!

Yes we did run out of some of the menu de jour items which we then replaced on a "like for like" basis (we replaced gammon with a pork chop - NOT pork belly) - that is not an offence (and sometimes unavoidable as we use fresh produce), and as the menu de jour (which represents outstanding value for fresh quality produce - £12.90 for 3 courses with a choice of 2 items per course) is changed daily you could not have come to us to enjoy a specific item from that menu. A wide range of items were also available on our other menu. I, and several staff members, remember your party well, we table checked your party (when everyone said they were happy) and also checked everything was ok when you were leaving and clearly remember that everyone was happy then too - amidst your leaving smiles someone even commented that it had all been "very nice".

Also ... you scored us a 2 for value, 3 for service and food and 4 for atmosphere - I don't know how good your maths is but that doesn't add up to a 2 overall.

We have always appreciated your custom and feel we have got to know you over a period of time, we would feel very sad if we lost your custom because we replaced gammon for a pork chop and hope that you will return to Drusilla's on another occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We visited this pub a number of times over the Easter weekend and we were very pleased with what we found. The staff were very welcoming, the selection at the bar was very pleasing and the food was spot on. On two occasions they welcomed us for food as a very large group with dogs and made us feel right at home. I am certain we will be back there again when we are in the area. Well done Drusilla's.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watling09, Owner at Drusilla's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for visiting us over the weekend - we are really pleased that you so enjoyed your visits. We do try very hard to make all our customers feel welcome and it is great to read that we are succeeding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This pub has changed hands many times since the original German owners and the present owners are the best so far; they are very friendly and welcoming. The menu has a good variety of dishes many of them not the usual pub offerings and at reasonable prices. Since they have been in charge we have not been disappointed by the food.
The pub is well situated for walks in Ferndown forest and Holt forest and in winter there is usually a welcoming log fire.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watling09, Owner at Drusilla's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for writing us such a lovely review (and for saying we are the best owners so far). We are delighted that you enjoy our food, the walks nearby and our fires - they are both roaring away as I type!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We went to this pub last year and decided to go again as we love the setting and the atmosphere. We were not disappointed. Last year we only had a drink but this year we decided to eat at Drusilla's. Our lunch was really delicious and service good. I had the ham hock and it melted in my mouth - scrumptious! This is a true English pub with lovely views - a real gem. The only thing I'd say (and I say this to almost every pub) is that I wish they wouldn't necessarily put cutlery on the tables as food should be optional and I like to feel I can just get a drink in a pub. We live in Devon and went out of our way to go here and will do so again when we have a day out in Dorset as we really love it. Hopefully we'll stay longer next time and walk to the folly which looks interesting.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LMitchell2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watling09, Owner at Drusilla's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

How lovely to hear that you went out of your way to get to us - and stayed and ate this time - and think we are a gem of a pub. We were delighted to read your review, thank you for writing it. As a rule we only put cutlery out on our restaurant tables (or pre booked tables in the the bar) - the tables in the bar usually just have a tankard of cutlery in the middle but hopefully that doesn't make people feel they HAVE to eat as that is so not the case and drinkers are just as welcome as eaters! We look forwards to welcoming you back again soon - for drink or food - you really should try the walk up to the tower, the views from the top are fantastic - and hopefully the blue bells will soon be in bloom! Thanks again - see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Drusilla's Inn also viewed

 
Sturminster Marshall, Wimborne
 

Been to Drusilla's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing