We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food and great service”
Review of Drusilla's Inn

Drusilla's Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Horton
Price range: US$0 - US$77
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A cosy and friendly 16th Century thatched freehouse with fantastic views of the Horton Folly Tower (with a circular walk to the tower starting from Drusilla's car park). We serve fresh and, if possible, locally sourced produce prepared from scratch in our own kitchens. A range of menus are available from Bar Snacks to our A La Carte with regular special offers. We serve a good selection of wines and Real Ales. Drusilla's also has a function room available for special occasions and weddings, and two state of the art luxury shepherd's huts for those wishing to stay the night with king sized beds, ensuite bathrooms and heating(really warm and cosy even in the snow)- the ultimate glamping experience - read our reviews!
Dorset
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely food and great service”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

When we arrived (at around 12:30pm) it was very quiet - usually a worrying sign. However the food was delicious - beautifully fresh and obviously prepared by a chef who cares about quality ingredients as well as presentation. The lady who served us was welcoming and efficient. Drusilla's is set in a lovely location with scenic views of the countryside and Horton Tower and it has a relaxing ambience.. The loos were beautifully clean - for me this is always an additional sign of how much a proprietor cares about their establishment and customers! A big thumbs up and we look forward to returning again soon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dorsetgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watling09, Owner at Drusilla's Inn, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you so much for your very lovely and kind review. We are glad you had a great time and that the food was delicious. It also nice to see a genuine and objective review that are few and far between.

We look forward to seeing you again next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    93
    39
    25
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A disappointing meal”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Good food, good selection of ales (Ringwood is always excellent) but the meal was rather spoilt by a number of aspects. It took nearly 2 hours to get a 2 course meal – the first course took a very long time (and the pub wasn’t too busy at the time). The main course meals were very pleasant. The dessert service were rather disappointing. 4 of us ordered the “Drusilla’s Apricot bread and butter pudding with clotted cream” as shown on their menu and 1 person ordered “Fresh fruit topped with sorbet & meringue” – all £5.90 (expensive for a small portion). The fruit salad turned out to be a few strawberries but on their own. When this was highlighted, a new dessert more fitting the menu was provided (the waiter did not know what was on the menu). The 4 bread and butter puddings came without any clotted cream and quite small portions. When we asked about the clotted cream, there seemed confusion. The waiter went to the kitchen and told us it wasn’t part of the offering. We asked to see the menu and the manager came over the say it wasn’t part of the dessert until we showed him the menu listing. We were then told that there was no clotted cream in the kitchen. Until we asked for a substitute, nothing was offered. We felt the staff did not know the menu and were quite happy to take £5.90 for a part dessert. It was a disappointing meal - £105 for 6 people.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank UkBleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watling09, Owner at Drusilla's Inn, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your comments, I will try to respond to all of the points that you have raised. It does seem (annoyingly) that the points raised are all silly little things that all of which combined lead to an unfortunately unhappy visit. The main point being that they could all have been avoided.
We do try and keep a varied choice of local ales and am glad that you were more than happy with the quality of our ales and main meals. The day of your visit was an exceptionally busy day, although not probably seeming very busy whilst sitting in the restaurant, we were very busy in the bar and garden restaurant too. This is however no excuse for your poor service. We did have a very new member of staff on that evening who was the waiter in question and is still training and learning our menu and that, doubled with the pressure of an exceptionally busy day was one of our downfalls.
We changed our menus back in April and with all new menus there are changes and improvements to be made once in situ. One of which was removing the clotted cream option, unfortunately there was a mixture of old and new menus out that night which is why there seemed to be confusion but I was told that you were offered ice-cream, custard or Chantilly cream as an alternative. The strawberries desert was due to the new waiter putting the wrong desert through to the kitchen.
As an independent business we always try our hardest with our service and quality of food and drinks, I can assure you that this is not our normal practice and that we have discussed your comments in detail so that they do not happen again. I can only apologise and hold our hands up for not being the standard on that evening that we strive to be and can only say that like everyone, unfortunately we do make the odd mistakes. I hope that the confusion over the deserts won’t stop you visiting us again so you can see our usually high level of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely creative lunch”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Had a second delightful lunch here. Surprisingly good menu at a more than reasonable price. Extra little touches and helpful and happy staff have made this a place we intend to visit regularly.

Helpful?
Thank Satokari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watling09, Owner at Drusilla's Inn, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review we are always trying our hardest to please guests like yourselves and really appreciate the positive comments. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We've been visiting this pub for a number of years. We've had family gatherings, special occasions, and meals with friends at Drusilla's and we always know we will have a good, freshly cooked and delicious meal. We also visit for just a drink or a coffee and the staff are always welcoming, friendly and attentive.
The freehouse is in a delightful spot in the middle of the Dorset countryside. It overlooks a sheep-clad hill with the folly Horton Tower in full view. The pub provides maps if you want to go for a walk before you have your lunch. Booking advisable at weekends. There are also two Shepherd's Huts if you want to stay overnight.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watling09, Owner at Drusilla's Inn, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind review! We enjoy seeing you regularly and really appreciate the positive lovely comments. Thank you for your continued support and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“More than a Pub with a restaurant !”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Went here today for a lunch. We have lived here for 8 years and this is our first visit. We chose the Je Jour menu (2 courses) and were amazed at the quality and the portions for such a brilliant deal, no room for dessert!! We loved the staff, Dee was a pleasure and at the end of our visit the owner took us on a tour of the Shepherds Huts, WOW !!! What a fantastic place to stay and you get breakfast in with the price, a definite place to experience a stay. All mod cons to boot. So if you want a holiday with a difference then book one of the Shepherds huts, and eat in the lovely welcoming Drusilla's, you wont be disappointed, loved it !!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DorsetMarilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watling09, Owner at Drusilla's Inn, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
We love that you loved Drusilla's! Thank you for taking the time to write us this review. We are really pleased that you were amazed at the quality and portion sizes of our menu de jour and also thought it was brilliant value. Thank you also for your complimentary comments about our shepherd's huts - they certainly are quirky and are loved by the people who stay in them (as shown in their reviews) who are often taken completely by surprise at just how comfortable, cosy and luxurious they are. We'll make sure Dee sees the lovely comment you made about her.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Drusilla's Inn also viewed

 

Been to Drusilla's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing