We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a dump”
Review of Horton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Horton Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Horton B&B and Inns
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“what a dump”
Reviewed 30 March 2013

good friday,called in for lunch,very cold lunch with our coats on,no heating on ,pastry very hard on meat pie.place very tired and needs a good shake up.will not recomend it to anyone .in fact it needs shutting down very sad lovely position.will not go again

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kenneth r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    21
    21
    22
    27
See reviews for
26
52
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
verwood
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2013

My Family and I often visit this establishment as we only live a few miles away.It is a very friendly pub with good staff and welcoming locals .Last night Saturday 23rd march was my worst visit ever,there was it appeared a large table in the Dinning room,who seemed to have a problem with some of their meals.The reason i am writing is that one of the party a gentleman,Was probably the most obnoctious person i have ever heard.The staff and management tried everything to recompense him for the problem ,But he just kept on and on to such a point i was on the verge of saying something myself.Fortunatly my Wife stopped me.If you happened to be in the pub last night d'ont let this put you off visiting again .With a bit of Luck this idiot will sobber up and have the balls to appologise for his terrible behaviour.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

I spend 2 days a month in Dorset and at this time i stay over with the manager and his wife at the Horton Inn
This is not the ritz but its comfortable and clean nThe outside needs painting and the inside needs some repair work
The breakfast is very filling and Tony cannot do enough to make your stay pleasurable
I know the pub needs a make over but for the amount i am charged for the one night i cant say i will get better anywhere
If your passing or just want t see the area on a budget then go and see Tony and Jade who will make you very welcome
If you have a chance and like indian food there is a little GEM of a place not far called the Cinnamon Lounge and that is a restraunt well worth the visit as the food is really excelent and the service top shot
I didnt get there untill 9 45 pm but was treated as if it was early evening I can recommend the Malayan these guys cook it with banana as well as the regular fruit it was special
Will i go back you bet ya see you next month

Room Tip: Ask for room 1 it has a 4 poster ,a large bath room and the water is very hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allysonjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

This large pub gave us a comfortable night in a large clean room with ensuite bathroom and included a decent cooked breakfast all at a very reasonable price. There were one or two niggles - the shower control needed coaxing and the lighting in the room was a bit dim and took a couple of minutes to sort out, but nothing too serious. Reasonably friendly staff and overall a good deal. We would certainly go back if needing a bed in the area again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing onto the road are a bit noisy until the traffic dies down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daz4710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

On arrival it looked ok from the outside but then it all went down hill from there the inn was in urgent need of a face lift the tables in the restaurant were very old with all the varnish coming off and not to clean my wife went to our room while I had a beer at the bar when she came back she told me that the room wasn't good looked like a single bed with another smaller single bed pushed together to make a small double bed and as for the shower she would have a problem using it so I had no chance,so we thought we would have a few drinks and something to eat I ordered the chicken sizzling skillet with spicy peppers and my wife ordered the fish & chips with mushy peas when the food arrived mine was very badley burnt the peppers were stuck to the skillet they were inedible the chicken was nearly the same as the peppers my wife's fish was still frozen in the middle the chips looked like they had been fried about 4 or 5 times previously and the peas were cold and they weren't even mushy ones all in all disgusting my wife left hers I ate some of the chicken and the salad garnish ? because i was hungry,after that we decided not to stay so we spoke to the young girl behind the bar who I must say was the best thing about this place she had to go and speak to the boss who told her that we still had to pay for the night which is what we expected £40 thank god it wasn't more we didn't get any kind of refund not even for the disgusting meal to which we had a sorry for and we have a new chef ? I know it wasn't the ritz or a 5 star hotel and I definitely won't be going back there ever again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taffy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Me and my fiance stayed here on passing through to Salisbury the following day. For the sum of £30 we got a room and breakfast which we found really good value. However, We was told where our room was not shown, then struggled to open the door and figure out the light switch system,I struggled to sleep with the tele on in the bar quite loud until around 1am. Then we it came to leaving we had an 11am checkout but the cleaners kept checking to see if we had gone, then we found that we was locked in the Inn and had to unlock the bolts and push our way out and leave the key in the letter box. Good price for money for the quality you get

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zcs89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Stayed here for one night at the end of December 2012. Booked via LateRooms.com for the sum of £25 for the 2 of us including breakfast and for this price it was acceptable. Room was comfy but cool and there was no real shower facility. Breakfast was a typical 1 of each style but was nice and prompt to tabe.
We ate dinner in the restaurant and have to say it was one of the best rump steaks I have ever had

Room Tip: Ask about the rooms facilities when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimboMidlandsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horton
12.5 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Inn at Cranborne
The Inn at Cranborne
#1 of 3 in Cranborne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horton Inn

Property: Horton Inn
Address: Cranborne Road, Horton, Wimborne BH21 5AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wimborne > Horton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Horton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Horton Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new management team took over the running of this beautiful Inn on the 14th October with the intention of turning it back to it's former glory.Built in the eighteenth Century and surrounded by the beautiful forests and woods of Wimborne, the Horton Inn is the chance to take a step back in history and revel in the majestic traditional English surroundings. The inn is described as 'the rendezvous of many a daring poacher for operations in the adjoining forest' by Thomas Hardy, and we have an open fire and cosy bar with excellent quality pub food. If you’re too tired to travel on then you can make the most of our great hotel accommodation with several en-suite rooms, making the Horton Inn perfect for that well deserved rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Horton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horton Hotel Wimborne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing