We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Discrimination alive and well at the Horton Inn.”
Review of Horton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Horton Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Horton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I called into this place after a very long 600 mile ride from the Isle of Man TT. It took the staff 15 minutes to reluctantly ask me what I wanted, after looking me up and down for that period of time. When they eventually asked me what I wanted, I asked if they had a room. No was the immediate answer without even looking at the register to check. This was a Monday night in the middle of nowhere. The large car park had 4 cars in it, including those belonging to staff and the diners. They had rooms but I looked too disheveled for their liking. They obviously don't have any mirrors in this Inn as they looked worse than me in their best clothes. Shabby hotel, shabby management, shabby attitude.
Avoid this place...send the message.

Room Tip: Rooms elsewhere are better at any price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

Great place to eat and drink when Tina and Dan were there. The food is not expensive and the drinks are reasonably priced. They were so friendly and funny! Always made us welcome. A shame they left June 2nd as we are on Holiday and would liked to have been at the party Friday May 31st. Tina and Dan are Irreplaceable!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelly l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We could not have been made more welcome, such a friendly warm and accommodating place to be. Fantastic food and refreshing drinks all served with a smile.
I hope the pub will continue to be as lovely after they leave on the 2nd June, I'm sure they will be greatly missed.
Thankyou for making our visit such a good one, may I wish you well on your future ventures.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clsirey321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We booked to stay here for a friends wedding. The new management had only been here 2 days and there had been no deliveries for food. The people could not have been more lovely and really tried to help but they had little knowledge if the area and it felt like they had literally been dumped in a sinking ship. The room was poorer than basic and all the wall paper outside the room was hanging off obviously after a flood. It is a beautiful old building and with some TLC and good management it has masses of potential. I wish the new managers the best of luck and was sorry we felt we could not stay due to the terrible room.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Walked into the bar and received a very friendly welcome from the landlord and landlady . Food was cooked beautifully and service was fast even though there where a few people in eating. A well needed change from the previous people , landlord and landlady have made thia pub 100 times better.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hannah01234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Booked in for 2 night on our wedding anniversary, first impressions a very shabby looking inn, on our return visit from a day out went to our room to retire for the night, the bed was lumpy and creeked with every move, the electrics are running off extension leads, wall paper peeling off the upstairs walls, the next morning went to shower there was a dribble of tepid water. Went down to breakfast, we were asked if we wanted breakfast and was served a fried bacon,sausage,egg, over fried mushrooms and fried bread, was never asked what we would like or even if we were veggies. We returned to our rooms packed our bags and left even though we had booked for another night. The inn in these pictures in no way resembles the actual place you get to stay in, it's suppose to be a Marstons inn, come on Marstons your places are 100 times better than this one!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We only popped in for a couple of drinks after a walk but the landlord could not have been more friendly and accommodating will definitely return again.
p.s. I hope that fellow with the motorbike didn't get too bored on his way back to Reading with the recovery driver.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Markham A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horton
4.5 mi away
The Langton Arms
The Langton Arms
#1 of 1 in Tarrant Monkton
307 reviews
6.7 mi away
Les Bouviers Rooms
Les Bouviers Rooms
#1 of 3 in Wimborne
158 reviews
5.3 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Wimborne
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Minster Arms
The Minster Arms
#3 of 3 in Wimborne
19 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Inn at Cranborne
The Inn at Cranborne
#2 of 3 in Cranborne
181 reviews
4.1 mi away
Cashmoor Inn
Cashmoor Inn
#22 of 23 in Blandford Forum
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horton Inn

Address: Cranborne Road, Horton, Wimborne BH21 5AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wimborne > Horton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Horton
Price Range: £74 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Horton Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new management team took over the running of this beautiful Inn on the 14th October with the intention of turning it back to it's former glory.Built in the eighteenth Century and surrounded by the beautiful forests and woods of Wimborne, the Horton Inn is the chance to take a step back in history and revel in the majestic traditional English surroundings. The inn is described as 'the rendezvous of many a daring poacher for operations in the adjoining forest' by Thomas Hardy, and we have an open fire and cosy bar with excellent quality pub food. If you’re too tired to travel on then you can make the most of our great hotel accommodation with several en-suite rooms, making the Horton Inn perfect for that well deserved rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Horton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horton Hotel Wimborne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing