We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent accommodation in a beautiful rural...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Highlea

The front of the property.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The front of the property.
The bedroom showing the double bed The lounge including the sofa bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
The front of the property.
The bedroom showing the double bed
The lounge including the sofa bed
Another shot of the lounge
A further picture of the lounge
Part of the kitchen
Another picture of the kitchen
Another shot of the bedroom showing the single bed
The bathroom
Our delightful location with the guest accommodation on the left side of the photo
Another shot of the front of the property
The back of the accommodation showing the patio doors into the lounge
Another shot of the rear of the accommodation
Looking out across the field
A view over to our local 'Folly'
another view across the fields
Looking south west from the rear of the property
A greater spotted woodpecker in for breakfast! One of our many local wildlife visitors
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Horton, Wimborne, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
ValS_10
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation in a beautiful rural setting”
Reviewed 26 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We received a warm welcome to this lovely bungalow annexe. The accommodation was very comfortably furnished, cosy, well-equipped and clean. The small sitting room opens onto a garden with a beautiful view. The owners, Doreen and Dennis were very friendly and helpful, making us feel really welcome, and, as other reviewers have commented, Doreen's cake was delicious. We had a great short break at Highlea, despite rather miserable weather.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2018
Thank you. Apologies for the delay in replying. Thank you for your kind comments, we aim to make our guests stay as pleasant as possible. we hope to welcome you back at any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katie1009...
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely area and accommodation was excellent”
Reviewed 4 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Had a lovely stay. Hosts couldn't do enough, even had some cake waiting for us when we arrived! Lovely touch. Didn't bother us at all, but were available if required. They were very friendly. Had everything we needed in the kitchen, but would have accommodated us if we needed anything else. Were helpful re the location too. House was very clean and we had a lovely time. We were lucky with the weather too!
Thanks Dennis and Doreen x

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2017
Delightful family. Would welcome them back at any time. Do hope to see the book when it is finished Mick.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suda16
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Best holiday rental we have stayed at”
Reviewed 5 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We had a great few days at Highlea. Dorris and Dennis were so welcoming and how thoughtful and sweet to make us a chocolate cake. My girls loved them. The accommodation was so comfortable considering we are a family of five and we had enough space . Would highly recommend this place to anyone.
Thank you for being wonderful hosts and chatting us with and making us feel so comfortable,

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2017
Delightful family with beautiful daughters. We would welcome them back at any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fayhambro...
Deal, United Kingdom
1 review
“Our stay.”
Reviewed 13 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We had a great break.it was lovely to meet Doreen and Dennis so homely and friendly. Weather hot. Great just to relax and unwind in the garden.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2017
It was delightful to meet Fay and hope we may see them again in the future. Many thanks for your visit. Dennis and Doreen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicoleta...
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb”
Reviewed 5 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Lovely accommodation, beautiful views with two visitors (two deers) and Doreen and Dennis were very nice and helpful in every way! Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2017
Delighted to have had Nicoleta, Vaz and family to stay. We would love to see them all again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
517smith
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Lovely peaceful property with country side views”
Reviewed 30 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Lovely cosy property with view of the country side. Kind owners, nothing to much trouble. Welcome pack delicious home made cake and tea .Spotlessly clean and comfortable. Close to pretty villages. Would recommend

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2017
Thank you for your kind comments. It is a pleasure to welcome guests and to know that they enjoyed their stay. We hope to see you again. Doreen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
journeyma...
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home, lovely view out of the back.”
Reviewed 5 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We have been several times now as we were so impressed by Dennis and Doreen, the owners, really make you feel at home.
The location is ideal for visiting Bournemouth, Poole, Swanage, Dorchester, The New Forest, Salisbury and many other locations.
Very comfortable bed and great view out of back patio door.
We hope to visit a few more times this year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2017
Always pleased to welcome visitors for repeat visits. Delighted to receive positive comments and look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing