We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh, my days - 5 star and more ......”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Osbaston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Dandelion Hideaway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Gosh, so we had read the reviews and absorbed the website and so we were expecting something special but Sharon & John's Dandelion Hideaway exceeded every expectation.

You step back into a time gone by when you arrive - the welcome, the peace, the exceptional attention to every single detail is quite extraordinary. From the jug of Pimms, the homemade biscuits and doggie treats that were waiting for us upon arrival to the cleanliness of the exquisitely decorated tents to the glorious, never ending hot water with which to fill the roll top bath - all absolutely perfect.

The setting and the tents really are beautiful - more so than the photos and reviews suggest - but it is Sharon and John who make this retreat truly idyllic - they have perfected the line between attentive hosts and respecters of your peace and tranquility. Nothing is too much trouble for them and their gestures of welcome extend throughout the whole week, not just your arrival day. On Friday morning we had gone in seek of bread quite early before it had arrived. Not really fussed as the dog had enjoyed the walk anyway, we settled into enjoying the glorious weather and secluded views from our veranda for the morning with every intention of wandering back up to the shop. However, time just passes in the Dandelion Hideaway in the blink of an eye, and before we knew it, it was late morning and Sharon appeared with not only a selection of loaves for us to choose from but also a homemade cake and a jug of Pimms - now, tell me where else - anywhere in the world - where such thoughtful touches appear?

Our dog, Yodi, had the most idyllic week, too and was made to feel as welcome as we were. Next, time, he promises to be brave and actually chase the rabbits into the woods rather than stopping short of them whilst they tease him from just inside!!!

The Dandelion Hideaway offers far more than you can begin to imagine - thanx you so much, Sharon and John, for the first of many visits.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Ronnie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

10 of us (including Dexter, our 4 legged friend) have just returned from a weekend at The Dandelion Hideaway… This is our Second time here – 100% fantastic, Britain at its best. Sharon made us a ‘Welcome Back’ cake (Lovely!) and both her and John as friendly as ever. We WILL be booking again for next year – I have no negative points to make on this weekend away, even when the weather was poor – we had a long game of Monopoly. Fantastic – needs much more praise than it gets. Sharon – thanks for the sheep chocolate lolly, I ate that within 3 seconds! See you next years, Shaun 

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shaunmay8831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

6 of us (consisting of 3 couples ranging from 23-31 yrs old) stayed at the Dandelion Hotel for a long weekend. We stayed in 'Rabbits Form' which was perfect and offered beautiful views and privacy.
The canvas cottage was decorated beautifully and everything we could possibly need was there. The decking area was fantastic - even when it rained, we were able to sit under the canopy.
The sleeping accommodation was great and the bedding/duvets etc were very luxurious.
We were a little dubious about cooking on the log stove but this was really easy and there was lots to purchase from the Cow Shed (cooking sauces, meats, cheese, cider, wine etc) We loved lighting the candles in the evening - we didn't miss electric once as we had lovely hot water and a huge roll-top bath :)
Each cottage has a BBQ and seating area which is great when the sun is shinning (coal etc can be purchased from the Cow Shed which is open all the time). We collected eggs each morning from the hen coop which was so much fun. We loved visiting the milking parlor and visiting the baby goats which was unbelievably cute.
We walked into Market Bosworth (ask for directions from Sharon as you can walk through the field as the road way was a lot longer than anticipated!) and had a lovely lunch at The Black Horse (it has a set menu in the afternoon which was great and amazing quality).
I would definitely recommend the Dandelion Hideaway to friends and couples - it is definitely not just a family retreat. We were very mindful of other guests - it is not a place for loud music and everyone was very respectful of each other. We had so much fun together as a group and enjoyed toasting marshmallows around the campfire.
Sharon and John are extremely friendly and lovely people - we will be returning next year without a doubt.

Room Tip: Rabbit Form was great for a group of friends as it was tucked away with a very large decking area fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KatKing83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had a lovely weekend here celebrating our daughters 21st and graduation, we had three generations in our party and everyone loved it! It's so peaceful the owners Sharon and John make a real effort to ensure everyone is welcomed and at ease, the animals are well cared for and I would really recommend this break. Thank you so much for helping to. Are some very special memories x

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We had an absolutely fantastic weekend at The Dandelion Hideaway. The children loved being able to roam free and go and collect eggs from the Hen House, we all really enjoyed our walk with Farmer John, and helping with the shetland ponies was fantastic for us all. The Old Cow Shed is perfect and it's refreshing to be somewhere that operates on a trust basis. The accommodation was beautiful, and we genuinely loved our stay. We can't wait to go back! Thank you to Sharon and John for creating such a wonderful place for us to spend a family weekend.

Room Tip: We stayed in Badger's Sett which is in a great position. It's sheltered and fairly private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Part of us feels very protective of The Dandelion Hideaway and we don't really want anyone else to go there as, although John and Sharon host hundreds of guests each year, somehow our weekend felt very personal, unique and special to just us. But the kind part of us wants everyone to experience this fantastic place.
We visited with our young family which was perfect but it would suit any group of people who want to spend time in an idyllic environment with luxurious surroundings. It feels a disservice to use the word 'camping' or even 'glamping'. The accommodation is better than most hotels!
We could go on an on and on and on but read the other reviews and believe them when they say that this place is superb. We stayed in Bluebells and Bluebells Nest which were both amazing.
Thank you to Sharon and John who go out of their way, with ease and good humour, to ensure every member of your group feels special and has a great time.
Just book it, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheGyvesFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Sharon and John have really taken a lot of care in getting all the details right. We ventured up from London via train and found our weekend stay to be the perfect break with three generations in tow. Of course, great care's been taken with the essentials: the beds are comfy, there are kid-proofed candleholders in all the essential places, firestarters and firewood are well stocked and provided free of charge, there's a stuffed friend waiting for cuddles in the children's cubbie bed, and the kitchen is very well equipped. But besides the essentials, the care that John and Sharon have taken (I suspect they're perfectionists :)) is not to be outdone. Even the barns are spic and span!
There were 6 of us (2 children, 2 parents, 2 grandparents) and we all found it to be the perfect getaway.
Top tips:
Definitely have Sharon provide the first night's dinner (if not every night's dinner). It's a good value as it's delicious and a good value given the size.
Ocado will deliver to the door. While you're at it, order some plain white marshmallows for roasting and a couple packs of dark chocolate digestives or Leibniz chocolate biscuits to construct the perfect s'mores around the campfire.
Thank you for a great stay Sharon & John!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GKLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Dandelion Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dandelion Hideaway

Address: Osbaston House Farm Lount Road | Leicestershire, Osbaston CV13 0HR, England (Formerly Osbaston House Farm)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Osbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Osbaston
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dandelion Hideaway offers the finest farm glamping holiday. Six, luxury country canvas cottages, nestled into the idyllic countryside, offer fun for families and pure indulgence and romance for couples. There are beautiful luxurious interiors, vintage touches and a roll top bath & shower in the en suite bathroom, with oodles of hot water! Each sleeps six guests in two bedrooms, plus a "hayloft", and the well equipped farmhouse kitchen includes a butler's sink and a traditional range cooker. Bluebells canvas cottage is just for two and is perfect for romance, proposals and celebrations, its very secluded, private and has its own delightful hot tub. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Dandelion Hideaway Hotel Osbaston
The Dandelion Hideaway Osbaston, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing