We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Superb service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Just spent xmas week at the Ritz in Maui. No use to repeat here all great features - found in guides such as Fodor-ot this very special resort except to highlight the exceptional quality of service from all staff at all levels. Have travelled extensively with family all over the world -especially in South East Asia renowned for superb service- but have rarely encountered such commitment from everyone to greet you with big smiles, help you in any of your enquiries or issues, and generally make sure everything is as best as can be. Very special recognition to the outstanding concierge team of at least 4 or 5 staff always on duty to help you plan and organize your activities, and in my case to Kai who before my arrival and during our stay made a very big difference in my family's total enjoyment of the week in Maui,

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JC B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,092 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,985
    610
    280
    133
    84
See reviews for
717
1,476
46
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed here with my son in Oct. Was surprised to see it only ranked in the top twenty. We only had breakfast in the hotel , which was super, so cant comment on the restaurant. Rooms were large twin beds and very clean and well equipped. Stayed in the Four Seasons in Atlanta in July and thought this was a far superior hotel. Staff and service were excellent. Beach is a couple of hundred metres from the rear of the hotel and is essentially a private beach for the hotel. Some have mentioned it being a bit of a walk, I'd say only a difficulty if you were extremely unfit. Have to say Maui itself is overly sanitized, no local culture, there appears to be no history before the Americans colonised the islands left. Villages around the island are essentially shopping malls with streets of souvenir shops. Our day trip to Molinkini was breath taking and would thoroughly recommend. We swam with tropical fish, say numerous dolphins and sea turtles. The weather , the beaches and scenery around the coastline is stunning. Would definitely recommend this hotel if visiting Maui, locals said it was the best temperature on the island for sleeping at noght

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StevieMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston, ma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed here for week 1 of our honeymoon. The hotel is absolutely gorgeous and the service is amazing (as is expected at a Ritz). All of the employees were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

Check in was a breeze and our ocean-view room was immaculate with a great full on view of the ocean. We were sent a lovely honeymoon treat - chocolate covered strawberries and bottle of champagne upon arrival. Also later on in our stay the manager sent us a nice cheese plate and wine after we met him at the pool earlier that day, which was very thoughtful.

We ate the buffet at the Terrace every morning and it was delicious. There was enough variety to please anyone and everything was very fresh. The smoothies offered were fantastic as well. Lunches were hit or miss, we loved The Beach House (had a great mahi mahi salad) however the Pool Bar, although convenient, wasn't very good (the flatbread was terrible, sushi was just ok). I couldn't get enough of their mixed drinks though - my favorite was the 96 Degrees.

The pool was beautiful, I liked the 3 separate levels and I believe 2 of the 3 were adult only which was appreciated. The chairs were comfortable and the towels were great quality. There was also flavored water stations available in a few different spots. The beach was beautiful, the water was a little too rough to swim in though - however that was expected for September.

We also did a couples spa package which was top notch - the facilities were modern and decorated beautifully. The techs were amazing! We booked the Kapalua embrace (body polish/massage/soak) and it was a nice treat. The polish smelled so good we ended up buying some in the store.

Overall this was my favorite resort during my honeymoon (also stayed at Hyatt and St Regis in Kauai). The grounds were beautiful, pool was very nice, spa was exceellent and employees very friendly. It was just a short drive downtown to Lahaina and there were several restaurants

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmd86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

It's a Ritz, and it lives up to its name. Enough said.

The location is either you like it or hate it. It's on the north end of tourist activities. Other than the hotel facilities (they do have a nice swimming pool), there is nothing much around it unless you are a golfer.

Next time I might try one of the hotels in Ka'anapali (Westin, Sheraton, Marriott, Hyatt, ..). There are more activities, and a shopping center (if your significant half is coming with you).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maui, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

My husband has frequented here over the holidays for years. We planned our honeymoon here- excited to share most evenings at his beloved Banyon Tree poolside restaurant. Only to arrive- a week in now- to the disappointing news- it is closed. Although the staff is exceedingly tremendous and gracious- the hotel, the amenities and the like, are truly very disappointing. We would transfer our next week here- if it weren't for the staff. The hotel is in great need of dose of Ritz quality and comfort. The concierge is only available between certain hours- etc. It's just not as grand a property as it once was.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Hapsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flower Mound, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

It was my first time to stay in a Ritz-Carlton hotel. It is beautiful facility. The staff were so wonderful. I would have to say that it is not nicer or fancier than JW Marriott Resort and Spa in Oahu. In our room, when you flash the toilet there is shrieking noise that last for at least half hour. However, room service was excellent. Location is beautiful but Maui is beautiful period. Local restaurants are great.

Room Tip: Breakfast is just okay
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marylou C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

This Ritz Carlton property is located in Kapalua, which is not very conveniently located if you want to be central to town, the airport, etc. However, it's so beautiful there that I think being away from all of it is worth it. This is truly paradise! The resort is located right on a terrific beach and the grounds are absolutely stunning.

We stayed for five nights in adjoining rooms in the garden view suites, and we had basically our very own two bedroom apartment, complete with living room, kitchenette, and private terrace. The rooms were terrific in every way, and were worth every penny.

The only downside to our otherwise perfect stay was that the room service food was awful. We ordered an omelette that was supposed to come with fries, but they were left off. We called to notify them, but had to wait 40 minutes for the fries to arrive, and they were terrible fries at that! Tasted frozen and microwaved! Thankfully, the service at the Ritz was exceptional, and when we called a manager about the issue, he comped our meal as an apology.

Overall, this is a phenomenal 5 star resort and I would not hesitate to stay here again, despite the high prices!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapalua
0.7 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
26.4 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.3 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
6.2 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
25.9 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
Address: 1 Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761-9067 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kapalua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua 5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 54 acres, The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua showcases a stunning, fully-renovated destination resort offering 463 guestrooms, including 107 residential suites, warm wood floors, travertine bathrooms, flat-screen televisions and Hawaiian-inspired artwork. The spa beckons with treatment rooms framed by private garden showers, volcanic stone grottos, heat therapies, and a fitness center with spectacular ocean views. Jean-Michel Cousteau's Ambassadors of the Environment offers all levels activities from land to sea. Also featured are six restaurants, indoor/outdoor meeting space, an inviting children's pool and luxury cabanas. It is enveloped by picturesque Kapalua Resort’s two championship golf courses, dining and a century-old pineapple plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Hotel Kapalua
Ritz Carlton Maui
Ritz-Carlton Lahaina
Ritz Lahaina
Lahaina Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing