We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring breaK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Family of 5, first stay at Ritz for 7 nights. Fast, curteous reception at front desk. Suite was very large with microwave, fridge, freezer, toaster, etc. Furniture was dated. Three large TVs although main TV in living area didnt work well - call maintenance - replaced TV - still would not work 80% of time - probably poor cable connection. Grounds were immaculant. Rained every day - very windy - could not enjoy ocean swim. However shuttles would take us to better wind protected beaches. Pools were not really kid friendly. Staff was great! Food was good. Self parking was overpriced. Bed was very comfortable. However there was a loud high pitch wistle that occured every night 2-3 times waking us up (we think it had to do with the plubing but are not certain). Our ocean view, didnt have an ocean view unless we walked out on the balcony (then if we looked to the left we had a nice view). Kapalua is a long ways from many other island activities. We did the road to Hana (great trip) and upon return (after 6 hours of driving) we had 3 hour road jam around Lahaina trying to return to Kapalua. Had a great meal at Merrimans which we found as the only "great" restaurant in the west Maui area. I probably would not recommend the Ritz or stay there again - due to the weather in that area and the distance to other Maui activities.

Room Tip: The suites were very spacious. The pools were good for adults. The views from the Ritz are beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samuel999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,602 - 1,608 of 3,430 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

Beautiful!
Very picturesque & elegant.
Gourmet cuisine, excellent room service.
Rooms are large, comfortable and very well decorated.
Walk along the gorgeous beaches.
Party or relax in their large outdoor jacuzzi.
Grocery store, serving hot & cold prepared food selling clothing, trinkets etc. just a five minute walk away.
We had a great time!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gigetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

After an exhausting, negative and frustrating experience with Kapalua Villa's we decided to cut our losses and check with Ritz Carlton for accommodations to salvage our vacation. Our good fortune was to be greeted by Front Office Manager, Kevin Bass. Kevin immediately recognized our dilemma (spring break, no reservation) and welcomed us genially. We were given a number room options and chose a beautiful terrace room. Enjoyed pool, beach, spa, breakfast buffet, and frequent reliable shuttle service to Plantation golf, Pineapple Grill, and Napili.

Great hotel, beautiful location and weather during our stay. Outstanding positive attitude all staff from arrival to departure. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vinrouge-seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This is a beautiful resort with lots to do or nothing at all. We stayed 7 nights at the Ritz and the staff were very attentive and informative. The only downfall of the resort is the location. It seemed to have rain and wind all the time. I know there is nothing the Ritz can do about the weather but to enjoy our time there we had to daily go to Lahaina just a few miles down the road to escape the weather. The only negative I give the Hotel is the price to self park your car each day seems extreme given the price you pay for the room. We stayed 7 nights at the Marriott with no parking fees. All in all we enjoyed the Ritz

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Great experience for our honeymoon. Exceptional service, great rooms, definitely top notch service. I would recommend booking the breakfast when staying at this hotel. This hotel has great views of the beach and surrounding area. Only draw back is the strong wind and no real beach access compared to neighboring hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indo209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The rooms at this resort are in the small side. Stayed in a mountain view room. Disappointed at square footage, but the food more than made up for it. Plus, how much time do you spend in your room??

The beach is nice enough (not the clear blue I'd expected) and offers all amenities imaginable.

Sunday brunch is NOT to be missed!!! Worth every $60 or whatever they charge. The best brunch I've ever had!!! I don't give out those accolades easily.

Service is outstanding.

Proximity to excellent surfing locations is above average.
Make friends with bell staff; they will assist if they know you aren't a snotty/wealthy traveler. Graciousness goes a long way. Needless to say but worth reminding.

Room Tip: Go beachfront!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redgreen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Last time I stayed at the Grand Wailea in Wailea. Friends told us it the wrong side of the island and isolated. Well, depends what your looking for. This time I didn't arrive with small children but older teens so I didn't need to be near everything. I even went for lunch at the four seasons to,re evaluate my decision. We were not in the mood for crowds and kids anymore.
The Ritz is a magnificent resort, eye candy of rain forest, sweeping views of beaches, rain forest, lots,of property to explore and lots of service everywhere. We did go to Lahaina lots for dinner. Love Kimo's. make sure to get the breakfast package, it's five star !, I had fresh fish and miso soup with tofu, my husband had omlettes, the fresh fruits, the service and basically anything you want. The homemade Hawaiian granola is a journey! We stayed in the residential suites and we were overwhelmed by the space, full kitchen, but no ovens, space, service, really good. Now it's not as pretty as Wailea, on the outside. My daughter said we could live here!

Room Tip: Careful, ocean view really doesn't exist. Beautiful views but the design makes it a partial view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djgreenwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapalua
0.7 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
494 reviews
26.5 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.1 mi away
Four Seasons
Four Seasons
#2 of 8 in Wailea
5,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.4 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
25.7 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
25.9 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Address: 1 Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761-9067 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kapalua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Price Range: £426 - £1,194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua 5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 54 acres, The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua showcases a stunning, fully-renovated destination resort offering 463 guestrooms, including 107 residential suites, warm wood floors, travertine bathrooms, flat-screen televisions and Hawaiian-inspired artwork. The spa beckons with treatment rooms framed by private garden showers, volcanic stone grottos, heat therapies, and a fitness center with spectacular ocean views. Jean-Michel Cousteau's Ambassadors of the Environment offers all levels activities from land to sea. Also featured are six restaurants, indoor/outdoor meeting space, an inviting children's pool and luxury cabanas. It is enveloped by picturesque Kapalua Resort’s two championship golf courses, dining and a century-old pineapple plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Hotel Kapalua
Ritz Carlton Maui
Ritz-Carlton Lahaina
Ritz Lahaina
Lahaina Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing