We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We are here on our honeymoon and wanted to share our experience so far. We love how the staff greets us every time we walk by and try to memorize our names "Welcome back, Mr. and Mrs ___!!" The pool is open 24/7, but you have to remember to grab towels before 5pm before the towel stations close. The chair covers by the pool was a great touch and we loved the three tiered pool! The only reasons we gave this hotel a 3-star review was because of the silly shuttle and the bad food. Their shuttle service is not very helpful! They will take you as far south as the Napili Kai Resort and as far north as The Plantation Golf Course, which you can easily walk to, but as for going into Lahinia or to the airport, they didn't have any free shuttle options ($20/person/way into town), which was difficult for us because we wanted to not rent a car. Unfortunately as well, parking is $18 per day so renting a car really would add up for us. We went with Speedi Shuttle to go to and from the airport ($40/person/way), which was great, and used the public Maui Bus to get into town from Napili Kai. Honestly, we have heard that the Westin provides a great shuttle and we might look into staying there for that reason. Also, the food seriously sucks. Seriously. Go elsewhere to eat. However, the Ritz has all the other bells and whistles you'd expect from a 5-star hotel. The couples' massage was perfect (be sure to use the spa afterwards!!!) and the highlight of our trip here so far. We rented snorkel gear from Snorkel Bob's just down the street and are excited to catch the shuttle up to The Plantation to check out Honolua Bay. We'd recommend this resort for honeymooners because of the friendly staff, beautiful rooms, and great activities.

Room Tip: It was our honeymoon, so let them know if it is a special occasion for an upgrade!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Ritz Carlto... K, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Aloha and mahalo for sharing such a special occasion with us. Your feedback is very much appreciated as well. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the resort and received excellent service from our ladies and gentlemen. That said I was disappointed to learn that our dining options did not exceed your expectations. I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with further to gain a better understanding of where we fell short. I may be reached directly at 808-665-7037 or via email at Ian.mcphee@ritzcarlton.com. Thank you again and I look forward to speaking with you. With aloha, Ian McPhee, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,715 - 1,721 of 3,599 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

The setting is perfect...great beach, easy walk to good food and perfect sunset-watching bars. Hotel itself is a huge, industrial sized monster. No ritz feel to it, no real interaction with staff other than hellos with the cleaning staff in five dats. Bar could be at a Midwest airport Sheraton, food was just ok. First room they sent us to looked out, not kidding, on a cement wall six feet away. But they moved us, and we had a great time on the beach. Hotel was just a clean place to sleep with a very comfy bed.

Room Tip: Avoid garden view, ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

When you are staying at the Ritz-Carlton it is style all the way. The staff is amazing in every aspect you can think of. There are people there who really care for you to have the best time of your life.
The resort is beautiful. A short walk will take you to the hotel beach.
We too the terrace room which was very luxurious and roomy. Loved the bath room. Such nice bed bed the sheets!! The only problem with our room was that it is next to the golf course so you don't have privacy when the curtains are not shut.
Breakfast was quite pricy but fresh and good. You can find cheaper breakfast options just outside the hotel.
Would definitely come back.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Reutye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Just returned from a week long stay at the Ritz with my wife and two 20 something kids. Basically our last family vacation before youngest went off to college. Unbelievable resort, great breakfast buffet every morning with a very very great staff. From the valet to the turn down service and the front desk staff and concierge, I have never been treated so well in all of my travels. Highly recommend bringing your family to this exceptional resort. Allie at the Jean-Michel Cousteau’s Ambassadors of the Environment program was very knowledgeable and very friendly and we loved our hike through the beautiful landscape on Kapalua. The weather did tend to have showers off and on but was not in any way an inconvenience. Sunsets at the beach House were awesome as well. The private beach was very nice added bonus but the pool was the best. Very memorable stay and will definitely be going back for whale watching season some time in the bear future.

Room Tip: Definitely want to be on the 6th floor or higher to be above the palms. we combined suites, perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RPO_YO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I am going to list this hotel as very good, but last time I stayed it was rated excellent. I certainly have no beef with Marriott, but ever since they took over the Ritz Carlton name, it seems like things have slipped. This property was once one of the show places in the Hawaiian Islands.
Today it has aged, employee/guest ratios have given way, and the grounds are no longer pristine. It's still above normal standards, but not up to once Ritz Carlton standards. The staff still works hard. There's just not as many of them. Hopefully, Marriott will take a step back, look at its product, and return this once proud gem to its lofty status. Don't get me wrong.... It's still very good. Just not Ritz Carlton' good..

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug2492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed at the Ritz for four nights in early May and had a great stay. The only downside (and the reason for a four star rating instead of five) has not to do with the hotel but the weather and the beach. The weather was not a surprise given the time of year. We have learned over the years to expect a lot of wind and near daily morning (and sometimes afternoon) rain showers December through May. Best weather for Kapalua is summer and fall - June through November. The beach facilities and the sand itself is excellent but ocean conditions are usually rough and not safe for kids and adults without good swimming skills (this is why it is one of the few Maui beaches manned by life guards). Now for the good stuff. The hotel itself is excellent. All staff from bellmen to restaurant to concierge to housekeeping were top notch, friendly and helpful. We stayed in a residence one bedroom suite in excellent condition with a thousand sq. ft. of space and very well appointed. Restaurants were very good especially the sushi place and the morning breakfast buffet.Activities are excellent with world class golf and great hiking. The hotel grounds are spacious and quiet as the resort is not crammed into a "hotel row" like Kaanapali or Wailea. Bottomline we rate this hotel right up there with the 4S just be careful when you book if you want the best weather Kapalua has to offer. .

Room Tip: No bad locations or parking lot views. The higher the floor the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CAFlyfisher2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 10 days and it was worth every penny. We were debating between Ritz Carlton and Four Seasons but booked the Ritz Carlton since we got a better deal. However,we went to Four Seasons ( which is located on other side of the island) for a lunch and checked the hotel amenities. We were still happy with our choice since Ritz has a better beach. We're still missing the Ritz-Carlton's pool and Pina Coladas.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sam_Tehrani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapalua
0.7 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
523 reviews
26.5 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.4 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
6.3 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
25.7 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort - Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Address: 1 Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kapalua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Price Range: £409 - £1,490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua 5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 54 acres in Kapalua, Maui, Hawaii, The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua showcases a stunning, fully-renovated destination resort offering 463 guestrooms, including 107 residential suites, warm wood floors, travertine bathrooms, flat-screen televisions and Hawaiian-inspired artwork. The spa beckons with treatment rooms framed by private garden showers, volcanic stone grottoes, heat therapies, and a fitness center with spectacular ocean views. Jean-Michel Cousteau's Ambassadors of the Environment offers all levels activities from land to sea. Also featured are six restaurants, indoor/outdoor meeting space, an inviting children's pool and luxury cabanas. It is enveloped by picturesque Kapalua Resort’s two championship golf courses, dining and a century-old pineapple plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Hotel Kapalua
Ritz Carlton Maui
Ritz-Carlton Lahaina
Ritz Lahaina
Lahaina Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing