We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful beach with wonderful snorkeling” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kapalua Beach

Kapalua Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
US$99.00*
and up
Club Alii Nui
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Kapalua
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach with wonderful snorkeling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

This was one of our favorite beaches on Maui. We saw an abundant variety of colorful fish and a couple sea turtles. The fish species change a little as you get further out, which made it very interesting for comparison. The coral is in pretty good shape, and because the area is more sheltered, the water is relatively calm for swimming and snorkeling. Sand is soft and beach area is not too crowded generally. Parking can be tough if you come late, but is available in nearby lots within 5 min walk. Would definitely recommend!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jessica Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    583
    198
    30
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
412 reviews
151 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Picturesque Kapalua Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Kapalua is a classic small Hawaiian Bay. It is somewhat protected on both sides making it a great swimming spot for the whole family. There are good walking trails that begin here as well and continue along the beautiful and varied shoreline for a couple of miles. People do snorkel here also and it is good for beginners despite there not being much coral there. Just a great setting overall!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jollymon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckeye, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Snorkling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

As strange as this may sound, we saw more fish at Kapalua Beach then we did on our snorkel boat cruise to Molokini! This is a great beach for kids as the waves break further out at the reef, so the shore is fairly calm. With numerous coral reefs, there is a ton of fish to see. A great spot for sun bathing or snorkeling.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Youngimpressions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Soft sand, snorkelling and turtles!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Great place to paddleboard, swim, snorkel, or sit on a soft beautiful little beach. Very calm, and at sunset the turtles come for a visit. Fantastic beach. One of the best in Maui that I have visited.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“MY FAVORITE BEACH! BEAUTIFUL!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Kapalua beach was, by far, my favorite beach we visited! Absolutely beautiful!! I was mesmerized! Great, calm swimming, good for snorkeling. My kids had a blast! So grateful we visited this beach.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kapalua Beach also viewed

 
Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Kapalua Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing