We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect rest & relaxation”
other travellers have booked this property
The enclosed garden of Finechambers Chapel, with garden furniture and barbeque.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The enclosed garden of Finechambers Chapel, with garden furniture and barbeque.
Entrance to the attractive south facing converted chapel. Aerial view of the light and airy living area from the mezzanine
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
The enclosed garden of Finechambers Chapel, with garden furniture and barbeque.
Entrance to the attractive south facing converted chapel.
Aerial view of the light and airy living area from the mezzanine
Spacious living area with double height ceiling, gothic-arched windows and woodburner.
king sized bed on the attractive mezzanine overlooking the living area.
downstairs bedroom with comfortable twin beds and adjacent shower room.
downstairs shower room (with grip handles in the shower enclosure and by the loo.)
The Finechambers ponies and hens.(Children may enjoy helping to collect eggs).
garden of the Chapel with pastoral views of fields and distant moorland.
Twin bedded upstairs bedroom leading off mezzanine.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Juniper, Hexham, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lisa E
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Perfect rest & relaxation ”
Reviewed 26 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Cannot recommend this place highly enough. Catherine is so hospitable and goes out of her way to make you feel at home. From the fresh flowers and eggs to the homemade flapjack, chocolate cake & jam. The chapel is such a peaceful haven yet only a 10 minute drive to the thriving market town of Hexham. Certainly a place that we hope to visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2017
Thank you for your review Lisa. Glad you enjoyed your stay despite changeable February weather. That large new wood burner is a good addition if the sun doesn't shine!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venetiaco
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning house in a beautiful area”
Reviewed 30 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We absolutely LOVED our stay at The Chapel. The house is kitted out with everything that you could possibly need and the bedrooms are lovely. Catherine could not have been a more helpful host and the local area is absolutely stunning- lots of good walks nearby. I went with a group of 6 and there was more than enough room- we will definitely be returning!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
totandsam
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous Well appointed chapel conversion”
Reviewed 28 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Very friendly owner who provided us with homemade cake and flap jack and had the fire roaring for our arrival. The log burning stove gave a very homely feel, logs were supplied free of charge (there were also radiators for those not used to real fires). Comfortably slept 6 adults on our annual girly get together. Ample space in all the rooms, with well appointed kitchen. Lovely garden to the front for when the weather is better with hedges that are full of bird life. There are some nice walks locally along the river. Short 4-5 miles drive into Hexham. Overall a perfect weekend get away, highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2017
Thanks Sam. I'm glad you all enjoyed your weekend. A new Scandinavian woodburner being fitted next week, so chapel will be extra cosy for winter breaks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JKE70
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 15 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We recently stayed at Finechambers Chapel and as always when you book anywhere you never really know what it will be like. We were not disappointed. The chapel is beautifully decorated and very well equipped with all the home comforts you need.

The location is so quiet which was a welcome break from our usual city home. The main focus of our stay was the Great North Run however the chapel is ideally located for attractions such as Hadrian's Wall which we visited on one of the days. There are chickens and a horse in the field next to the chapel and lots of wild rabbits which were of great amusement for our daughter.

Catherine is very thoughtful and welcoming without being obtrusive. She told us about a trampoline in the garden which we hadn't seen which our daughter enjoyed playing on. There were fresh flowers, chocolate cake, flapjacks, milk and fresh eggs in the chapel when we arrived.

Overall we had a great stay and highly recommend the chapel to anyone - you won't be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary C
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great get away”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My family and I recently stayed at Finechambers Chapel for a short weekend break over the August bank holiday and we loved staying in such a nice location.

Catherine does a great job in making the chapel a comfortable and welcoming retreat. If you're as lucky as we are you'll get some tasty flapjack's and chocolate cake to welcome you.

We brought some essentials just in case, but the chapel comes very well equipped. We ate in each evening, and I found the kitchen very easy to use.

The chapel has sheep's, chickens and a horse near by (literally next door) and my son loved visiting them throughout the day.

From the chapel we were able to visit numerous locations for enjoyable family days out, and we visited a nice little pub (Travellers Rest Inn, Slaley) for a fantastic Sunday lunch.

We would most certainly recommend Finechambers Chapel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2016
Thank you for your review Gary. I'm glad the chapel was able to provide a good break for all three generations of your family, and pleased that you enjoyed our nearby pub.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sean w
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr”
Reviewed 23 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Highly recommended! Great location, fantastic facilities and great for the kids. My family and I had a wonderful week there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2016
Thanks for the review Sean. It was great to have you all at the chapel and the ponies and Dudley the dog enjoyed all the attention from the children.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globe28
England
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A very good stay”
Reviewed 29 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

A thoroughly enjoyable stay - the chapel is very well equipped, and provides for a comfortable and cosy holiday. Located in Juniper, it is very convenient for local walks + trips to Hadrian's Wall, Hexham and several picturesque towns.
The owners were very friendly, unobtrusive; and provided us with beautiful free range eggs, flapjack and chocolate cake. - All in all, a very nice stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2016
I'm so pleased you had a good week at the chapel despite the unseasonably cold weather which included snow and hail.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing