We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thykattussery
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ayanat House Homestay
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We recently spent 2 nights at Ayanat House, towards the end of a 2 week tour through southern India. The warmth and hospitality shown us by John and Rani, were beyond all our expectations. They make all efforts to accommodate your individual interests, which for us included a visit to the local school and a cooking lesson at their home (including written recipes of special dishes). This is a very exceptional place if you want to experience a peaceful rural community, and a get a sense of real life in the backwaters of Kerala.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yaledeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
There are newer reviews for Ayanat House Homestay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2012

My wife and I spent over a month in India on our first trip. We stayed in a number of hotels, home stays, bed and breakfasts. Ayanat House by far exceeded anything we experienced on our trip. The location, food and hospitality which we were fortunate to experience in Johny and Rani's house was most memorable. The location was very remote. We even saw an elephant nesr the house. I will never forget as Johny told us before we went to bed: "If you need anything during the night, just wake me up." The complimentary boat trip, visit to the coconut factory and even to the little island that Jonny owns were magical. We even had local children swim across to the island to give us fresh coconuts.
As an owner of rental properties in Hawaii, USA , I speak from experience when I say Ayanat House and it's owners are absolutely the best we had seen in our travel around the world.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoconutHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2011

John and Rani are charming, the accommodations quiet, spacious and homey, the food delicious and the surrounding area beautiful--their home is right on the backwaters of Cochin. Staying at Ayanat House was also a great way to learn the local history and the current state of affairs of Kerala as well as India since our hosts knowledgeably answered all of our many questions and made sure we got to see the surrounding villages (they have bicycles and a boat to loan you, which are great ways to get around). They made sure we got to participate in a celebration of St. Sabastian's Day at the local church, which was an extra treat. John comes from an influential family that has lived in the area since the second half of the 18th century so he has many tales to tell for history buffs. If you want to have a real Indian experience in luxurious and historical surrounds, don't miss Ayanat House.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coach49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

My wife and I travel in Asia each winter and in all honesty I can say that of all places we have visited and all the hotels and guesthouses we have stayed in, Ayanat House has to be the best.
For comfort,excellent food,beautiful surroundings with the attention and kindness of Rani, Johnny and their staff you have to make sure you stay here when in Kerala.
Our only regret was in leaving this paradise it's the only place we've shed a tear when we had to say goodbye.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheAsiaphiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2011

We spent three nights here at the end of our India trip, and Ayanat House was the perfect wind down after the bustle of touring. Previous reviewers have covered Ayanat House's very thoroughly, and its consistent five star rating is fully justified. To highlight a few of the qualities that make it special:-
It is a genuine family home and the Tharakan family have lived in this area for two hundred years.
Johnny and Rani are delightful, articulate and generous hosts. The experience they provide is very personal.
The Art Deco house is marvellous, with spacious bedrooms, and a sitting room/bar for guests as well verandas, and a lovely internal courtyard complete with resident sunbird in a nest.
The food is varied, consistently excellent and quite different from the fare we had on the rest of the trip. The menu is decided by Rani, who guarantees the variety and quality. It is cooked by Shivan who has worked for the family for fifty years.
The setting of the house is perfect, in a garden, within a plantation and set back from the lake where you can watch the sun setting. It is in a tourist free part of Kerala. The village is within strolling distance. Kochi and Alleppey are only an hour's drive away. So Ayanat House can be used either as a base for some modest touring or simply to soak in the beauty of the Keralan countryside and the traditions and slow rhythms of rural Kerala.
All this one hour away from Kochi's domestic and international airport! Build four nights at Ayanat House onto the end of an Indian holiday and go back relaxed.. Recommended without reservation..

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barum_mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

If you are looking for a small experience of what is the INDIAN PARADISE, the only adress in the BackWaters area is certainly the AYANAT HOUSE Homestay.
Owners of this homestay, Johnny and Rani, are delightful people.
Everything was Perfect : Rooms, Food with a fantastic cooker, Garden, and that very peaceful area where you can have quiet time in an hamac with Backwaters view.
Unfortunatly , we stayed only one night on the way back to the airport but we really dream of coming back.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicolasq95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

We spent 2 amazing nights at Ayanat House. The attention to detail, stunning art deco estate house, fabulous traditional Kerela cooking and antique furnishings took us back to a fabulous era of bygone India. Our expectations were exceeded by the superb hospitality offered to us by Johnny
and Rani. A private tour of his ancestral plantations, buildings of
antiquity and passion for his
township made our trip one of our best family holiday highlights. Rani
looked after us all superbly. Ayanat
House is a hidden jewel which any
trip to Kerela is incomplete without stopping. traditional and luxurious we felt like we had come home!
Gold stars all round - loved it!

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldForgeKnoydart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ayanat House Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayanat House Homestay

Address: Ayanat Parayil, Thykattussery 688528, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thykattussery
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Thykattussery
Price Range: £194 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing