We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Cottage”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Longlands Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tewitfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stayed in cottage for a week and couldn't fault it in any way, beautiful, clean and well equiped. excellent base for us to visit the lakes. Had tea at the restuarant once and while the menu wasn't as good as last year when we stayed in hotel the food was still excellent!! All the staff were cheerful and very helpful

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

We visited twice at the beginning of August this year. The food was very good well presented and well cooked. The menu could have had a few more starters on it. This would have made it better. The staff were friendly and knew the menu and were very efficient. The food was very good value.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Attended a wedding at the longlands this month we stayed here overnight in a 2 bed-roomed cottage, we couldn't fault it, it was very clean, well equipped, 2 bathrooms, 3 TVs and very tastefully furnished. The downstairs bedroom had patio doors leading to a garden area with outdoor furniture. The bathrooms are lovely plenty of hot water and towels. Some of the guests had one bedroom cottages with four poster bed, other guests stayed in the hotel I was told some of the hotel rooms where in need of a refurbish. I would definitely recommend a cottage if you stay over. The food in the Lapwing room was lovely and staff efficient and friendly. I cant comment much on the food in the pub/ restaurant I have eaten here before but a long while ago, i would say it was average.

Room Tip: Choose a cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

A huge thank- you to Alex, Kirsty and all the team at The Longlands who made our wedding day such a success. Everything was just as had been planned, all the food was lovely, the Lapwing Room, marquee and walled garden were fantastic and the professionalism of the staff was excellent. We had a wonderful and memorable day that was enjoyed by all.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We walked seven miles to the Longlands Inn from Crooklands Hotel along the old canal footpath. We ordered three meals: Scampi, Surf & Turf and a Rump Steak served with a bottle of red wine. The Scampi was fine. The four small prawns on the the Surf & Turf were meagre. The Rump steak which was ordered medium rare and was tough, dry and cold. We sent it back and the replacement was much better although served with only one mushroom!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

i called at 5.20 pm and asked if it was possible for a sandwich. the friendly bar man showed me a menu and i chose a sandwich which was over £5.00 i purchased a drink and was told they only started food at 5.30. i said this was fine and went to an outside table. the barman said he would bring it out. at 5.30 he came to my table with my money and said the chef wont make a sandwich after 4pm. he apologised for this. it was only a cheese and pickle which would have taken 2 minutes to make. as i was hungry i ordered a pizza. it came quickly but was only at best average.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank mark l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We used to regularly go here for evening meals and raved about it. However over recent months the menu has significantly reduced to the point where all my favourites had gone and what was on offer was poorly cooked. It tasted burnt, was tough and poorly presented. We won't be returning until things have improved and certainly won't be recommending the Longlands to others

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank L-JM198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tewitfield
2.3 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#3 of 3 in Carnforth
131 reviews
2.9 mi away
Redwell Inn
Redwell Inn
#1 of 1 in Arkholme
122 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 10 in Morecambe
2,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 6 in Lancaster
1,111 reviews
24 mi away
Stirk House Hotel
Stirk House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gisburn
805 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Cross Keys Hotel
The Cross Keys Hotel
#1 of 2 in Milnthorpe
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Longlands Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Longlands Inn & Restaurant

Address: Greenlands Farm Burton Rd, Tewitfield, Carnforth LA6 1JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Carnforth > Tewitfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tewitfield
Price Range: £88 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Longlands Inn & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are looking for a weekend break near the Lake District, Morecambe Bay, The Yorkshire Dales, business accommodation or simply an overnight stop over between Junctions 35 and 36 of the M6, The Longlands Inn is the perfect destination. Our 4 star Inn have rooms which are all designed individually with an eclectic mix of old and new. All have Vi-Spring mattresses, bright new bathrooms piled high with fluffy white towels, televisions, and a tea and coffee tray. Some have contemporary beds and others have old fashioned brass bedsteads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Longlands Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Longlands Inn And Restaurant Hotel Carnforth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing