We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Longlands Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tewitfield
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Awful!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

My partner and I stayed at this hotel on 30th August. I had booked it as it was classed as a 4/5 star hotel....I have stayed in nicer Travellodges. The room we stayed in (no 9 Lapwing) was very dirty with cobwebs hanging over the window. The chair next to the bed had dubious stains and there was a massive hole in the bed cover. The windows were far from noise proof....There was a party just under our room which was very noisy.
I have complained to the hotel but they have chosen to ignore my email.

Room Tip: Book a different hotel!
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank CathKirby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    92
    34
    22
    13
See reviews for
81
131
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aude, France
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

On checking in with a very friendly and helpful receptionist, we were amazed at the quality of the room for a dog-friendly hotel! Often it appears you get the dingy rooms but this was of the highest quality and was very clean, fresh and modern.
All the staff were very friendly indeed and the location, near to the M6 yet within minutes of wonderful scenery and the Lancaster Canal, was excellent.
We had our meal there which was fine although the service was a bit slow- this may have been because we were tucked away in the bar and a little forgotten about.
We will use this again when travelling northwards

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stayed in cottage for a week and couldn't fault it in any way, beautiful, clean and well equiped. excellent base for us to visit the lakes. Had tea at the restuarant once and while the menu wasn't as good as last year when we stayed in hotel the food was still excellent!! All the staff were cheerful and very helpful

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We visited twice at the beginning of August this year. The food was very good well presented and well cooked. The menu could have had a few more starters on it. This would have made it better. The staff were friendly and knew the menu and were very efficient. The food was very good value.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heysham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Attended a wedding at the longlands this month we stayed here overnight in a 2 bed-roomed cottage, we couldn't fault it, it was very clean, well equipped, 2 bathrooms, 3 TVs and very tastefully furnished. The downstairs bedroom had patio doors leading to a garden area with outdoor furniture. The bathrooms are lovely plenty of hot water and towels. Some of the guests had one bedroom cottages with four poster bed, other guests stayed in the hotel I was told some of the hotel rooms where in need of a refurbish. I would definitely recommend a cottage if you stay over. The food in the Lapwing room was lovely and staff efficient and friendly. I cant comment much on the food in the pub/ restaurant I have eaten here before but a long while ago, i would say it was average.

Room Tip: Choose a cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

A huge thank- you to Alex, Kirsty and all the team at The Longlands who made our wedding day such a success. Everything was just as had been planned, all the food was lovely, the Lapwing Room, marquee and walled garden were fantastic and the professionalism of the staff was excellent. We had a wonderful and memorable day that was enjoyed by all.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staveley
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We walked seven miles to the Longlands Inn from Crooklands Hotel along the old canal footpath. We ordered three meals: Scampi, Surf & Turf and a Rump Steak served with a bottle of red wine. The Scampi was fine. The four small prawns on the the Surf & Turf were meagre. The Rump steak which was ordered medium rare and was tough, dry and cold. We sent it back and the replacement was much better although served with only one mushroom!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tewitfield
2.9 mi away
Redwell Inn
Redwell Inn
#1 of 1 in Arkholme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bolton le Sands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 7 in Lancaster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Wheatsheaf at Beetham
The Wheatsheaf at Beetham
#2 of 2 in Milnthorpe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
10.6 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Longlands Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Longlands Inn & Restaurant

Property: The Longlands Inn & Restaurant
Address: Greenlands Farm Burton Rd, Tewitfield, Carnforth LA6 1JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Carnforth > Tewitfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tewitfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Longlands Inn & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are looking for a weekend break near the Lake District, Morecambe Bay, The Yorkshire Dales, business accommodation or simply an overnight stop over between Junctions 35 and 36 of the M6, The Longlands Inn is the perfect destination. Our 4 star Inn have rooms which are all designed individually with an eclectic mix of old and new. All have Vi-Spring mattresses, bright new bathrooms piled high with fluffy white towels, televisions, and a tea and coffee tray. Some have contemporary beds and others have old fashioned brass bedsteads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Odigeo so you can book your The Longlands Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Longlands Inn And Restaurant Hotel Carnforth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing