We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location for a relaxing break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Longlands Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tewitfield
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic location for a relaxing break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Can't say enough about the cottages, the management and staff.

This is our second stay in the one bed cottages and on both occasions we have been very pleased...to that extent we have booked again for October..

We dined in the restaurant on three occasions and the meals were great and the staff very helpful. I am gluten intolerant and the staff couldn't have been more helpful as well as the chef.

I have only one plee.... Please can the Wifi in the cottages be reviewed so we can combine business with pleasure.

Room Tip: Cottage 1 and 6 are perfect for both adults and dogs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 04tab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona B, Manager at The Longlands Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Good afternoon,
Thank you for taking the time to send a review. The cottages are a great location and we are in the process of fitting wi-fi, so hopefully it will be installed by October.
I have passed your comments onto the kitchen.
Kind regards,
Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    92
    34
    22
    13
See reviews for
81
131
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

We booked a two bedroom cottage to stay in for two nights. Very nicely decorated and furnished and the beds were really comfortable. Plenty of towels and the complimentary toiletries were lovely. Everything that you would need for a self catering holiday was in the cottage and this would make a great base if you were to stay for a week.

On the first night we had booked into the restaurant for dinner and all of the food was very nice and there was a good choice of food available. Would visit again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAntony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona B, Owner at The Longlands Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Good afternoon,,
I am really glad that you enjoyed your stay in one of our cottages. We are always looking for ways to improve standards and the Sedbergh Soap Company toiletries are a new addition which so far have proven very popular.
Kind regards,
Fiona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We had an evening meal with our grandchildren, the service was very good, the food 10 out of 10. The wine choice was good and Very good value and I would recommend this restaurant to anyone around the area or on holiday in or around the area. Thank you

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ru55bus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona B, Owner at The Longlands Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you. I am happy that we suited all of your party. Having children myself, I think that it is really hard to find places that cater to everyone's needs. If you have any further tips for catering for families please let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We returned for our 1 year wedding anniversary stay, had an evening meal, stopped over and had breakfast. Food and Service still just as amazing as our wedding - except now a different manager - still just as helpful and lovely as Alex was. Really recommend this gem. Comfortable clean contemporary rooms, good food and good company! Will continue to return to the Longlands... Thanks guys you hold a special place in our hearts!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingtish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona B, Owner at The Longlands Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Congratulations and thank you. We love the photos that you posted of the wedding and look forward to seeing you again in the future. I am happy that you liked your room. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

A birthday treat was ruined by the presence of a wedding taking place at the hotel: the noise and the drunken guests. My partner and I have stressful jobs and were recommended this hotel for a quiet break as it was my birthday. After a long journey we were initially given the wrong rooms and we were not believed until my partner had to produce the booking on his phone. Another 2 hours passed before we were settled in. It only got worse. The wedding party took up all of the time and focus of the staff. The disco didn't stop until 12:10am- complimentary earplugs are pointless when you can feel the vibration from the music through the floor!! Drunken guests of that wedding kept us up until gone 2am. There was no phone in the room and no night porter to sort out these inconsiderate guests. Lack of sleep ruined our following day out. If this place is going to market itself as a wedding venue then it needs to give some thought to where it places it's other guests. My partner was satisfied with his food but I was less so. The pudding cabinet was mouldy- not very inspiring!
Quite frankly what with the noisy wedding and the lack of sleep the whole trip was in all honesty a complete waste of time and money because it failed to either relax either of us. If I wanted to stay in a place like this I would have been better off renting a room above my local pub. At least then I wouldn't have had the 500 mile round trip to do and it might well have been quieter!!!

Room Tip: Make sure there isn't a wedding- if there is stay in one if the cottage style rooms that are not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona B, Owner at The Longlands Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hello, may I first say sorry for your experience at The Longlands. Unfortunately we did have a wedding on your stay and I feel very responsible. I completely agree with your review and would be more than happy to discuss this if you contact me at The Longlands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

An excellent country hotel. Nice large room and washroom, well equipped with coffee and tea making facilities. Very good pub and restaurant all in a really quiet and beautiful local right by the top end of the gorgeous Lancaster canal.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beavertail65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona B, Manager at The Longlands Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hello, thank you for your comments. All the team are happy that you have enjoyed your stay at The Longlands, our aim is always to provide Great British hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

My husband and I have just returned from our 4th stay at the Longlands Inn in the past 2 years. We absolutely love the place.
This time we stayed in the 1 bed cottage (num 6) which was gorgeous, the best room we have had! In the past we have stayed in 2 of the 2 bed cottages and also spent a night in one of the hotel rooms.
The hotel rooms are quite dated and could do with modernisation but nothing to complain about there.
The cottages on the other hand are the reason why we stay on a regular basis. They are decorated in a modern yet rural style with everything you need. The kitchen is great with all appliances, even a dish washer, the garden area was great for our dog and to sit out and enjoy the sunshine and the four poster bed was lush! The bathrooms are modern with fab power showers and spotless! Being able to take our dog is also a bonus!!
The location is great, 5 mins off the M6 and close enough for trips out to Kendal, Kirkby Lonsdale, South Lakes Animal park and the Lake District itself! Also the canal has some lovely walks in both directions and the little farm over the road is great for kids!
The pub is great, a proper county pub. Atmosphere is brill and again being dog friendly is great!
The food/restaurant has never failed us. The food is good and with mid week deals (Monday is pasta/pizza night for £5.95, Wed is steak and sauce night for £11.95) the value is great!

All in all it's a fantastic little get away to enjoy some peace and quiet of the country but not too far away from fun days out! Love it and I'm sure we will be back very soon!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baxter0440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona B, Owner at The Longlands Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hello,
Thank you, thank you, thank you! I am genuinely so pleased that you both love The Longlands as much as we do.
The cottages are great as a base to discover the area. There is so much to do and none of it is too far away. If you would like any more ideas of walks and places to visit, I would be more than happy to help next time you visit.
We are currently in the process of re-furbishing the rooms within the hotel.
Kind regards,
Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tewitfield
2.9 mi away
Redwell Inn
Redwell Inn
#1 of 1 in Arkholme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bolton le Sands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 7 in Lancaster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Wheatsheaf at Beetham
The Wheatsheaf at Beetham
#2 of 2 in Milnthorpe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
10.6 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Longlands Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Longlands Inn & Restaurant

Property: The Longlands Inn & Restaurant
Address: Greenlands Farm Burton Rd, Tewitfield, Carnforth LA6 1JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Carnforth > Tewitfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tewitfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Longlands Inn & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are looking for a weekend break near the Lake District, Morecambe Bay, The Yorkshire Dales, business accommodation or simply an overnight stop over between Junctions 35 and 36 of the M6, The Longlands Inn is the perfect destination. Our 4 star Inn have rooms which are all designed individually with an eclectic mix of old and new. All have Vi-Spring mattresses, bright new bathrooms piled high with fluffy white towels, televisions, and a tea and coffee tray. Some have contemporary beds and others have old fashioned brass bedsteads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Longlands Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Longlands Inn And Restaurant Hotel Carnforth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing