We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chilled resort and overwhelming hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gustav's Place Beach Resort
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“chilled resort and overwhelming hospitality”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed at Gustav's for 4 nights in June 2014. We spent the first night in a beachfront bungalow, unfortunately a heavy rainstorm came up the next day and Irene asked us to move in one of the aircon rooms without extra charge. As the rain wouldn't stop we stayed at the aircon room for the rest of our stay.
Because of low season the chef was on holiday in her hometown which didn't pose any problem because the manager Irene cooked some delicious meals for us everyday.
Because of the weather we weren't able to dive Apo reef, so we have to come back to Mindoro occidental one day and Gustav's Place will definately be our resort of choice again then!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antonia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustav G, Inhaber at Gustav's Place Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for the very good rating.

We look forward to your coming again.

best regards

Gustav & Irene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    20
    8
    1
    4
See reviews for
6
33
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munster, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Gustav's place is a small beach resort with nice, simple and cheap beach bungalows w/fan, 600 P/night. It is managed by him (he is Austrian and part of the year a mountain guide in Austria) an his filipina wife. Gustav offers dinner buffet for 400 P/pers, which was also nice and always fresh but a bit high in price. There are a few AC-rooms in a bigger building about 100 m behind the beach but we chose a beach bungalow, because cheaper, nice view to the islands and cool sea breeze.

It is possible to have a day trip with Gustav's small boat to the Pandan Islands (400 P). There you can have an impressive snorkeling or diving experience in the protected reef with a good chance to see sea-turtles. Special hint: There are two other resorts on Pandan. Walking through the island forest on the well maintained way allows you to visit Spanish Point or the Wild Lagoon. We snorkeled to the wild lagoon and found a secluded and romantic beach bay, where nobody else was.

Apart from that Gustav has dive equipments for rent and offers boat-trips to Apo-Reef. Apo-Reef is a huge protected reef 42 km to the East by boat. The day-trips include 3 dives and a local meal on the boat. However surely nice we couldn't do that, because price-wise it only makes sense, if there are more people to share boat-rent and divemaster charge. For us two alone the trip would have been 9.250 Pesos.
There are also several inland trips on offer.

Other things to see there (best by tricycle):
- hanging bridge (behind Sablayan market)
- small park on Sablayan peninsula with longest island-to-island zipline. It was found still under construction and is supposed to go into operation from October 2014.


All in all Gustav's Place was a very good choice, ok, the black beach was rather boring but the hotel cosy and relaxed, the snorkle-visit to Pandan-Island a "must do".

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We came and stayed at Gustavs place as the jumping off point for an Apo reef diving live-aboard trip we had arranged with him a month prior.

Whilst a little awkward to get to the place is right on the beach and has great views of the sunset each night. The bungalows are right on the beach and whilst small they do the trick. Food which you are required to buy at least one meal a day was whilst a little overpriced compared to the options in town, was both tasty and convenient.

The problem was that there were simply no other customers. There was one expat with his new local 'wife' and that was all. The other guests that Gustav had arranged to join us on the live-aboard simply did not arrive. We waited 3 days in the hope of arranging a trip but no other customers arrived and hence we left to make arrangements for a live aboard trip out of Coron in Palawan.

The place would be a great backpacker hangout, pool table, on the beach, hammocks, a nice bar, etc, but unfortunately without any dorm rooms they do not cater for this market and hence are not attracting customers. Being a couple in our 30's we enjoyed the beach front bungalows however it is the backpacker crowd that this place needs if it is to succeed as it is not upmarket enough to cater for the middle age holiday makers.

Overall, this place has potential unrealised. If you are in Sablayan for Apo, i advise you pay the extra money and go to Pandan island to organise a day trip of diving or better still go to Coron and arrange an 11 dive live aboard....definitely worth the money (24,200php btw all meals and accommodation on the boat)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BUGONTOUR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustav G, Inhaber at Gustav's Place Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear BUGONTOUR,

Thank you for the good rating.

Our resort is located virtually on an island, a side the sea and on the opposite side the river, this river has two estuaries in the sea and in between is Gustav's Place Resort. There is direct access from the city over the suspension bridge and along the beach to us, or our boat across the river directly to us.
We offer all meals, but they are not obliged to buy a meal with us, you can eat in the city Sablayan.
There was one expat with his new local 'wife' and did what ave - sorry, I'm Gustav from Austria and my wife is Irene from Bicol. We work hard to provide our guests and they can read in the other reviews.

I must apologize for not coming the other guests. Unfortunately it happens sometimes, book the guests, we organize the tour and then not appear. it is not our fault. We will offer the best possible price for the other guests. It would have been no problem for you a diving trip to Apo Reef with 11 dives all inclusive to organize 24 200 PHP. A diving tour for 6 divers with 3 dives for 1 day all inclusive costs 7140 PHP. For 2 days 6 dives 11840 PHP.

Greetings

Gustav & Irene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Great and warm resort. Very laid back. Gustav is very helpful and welcoming. You can tell he and his wife enjoy having their guests around and making sure they have a good time. The diving equipment is brand new and it's a lot cheaper to arrange your Apo reef dive from Gustav's. Food is good and the rooms go from a charming small fan room to a specious aircon hut. The beach is 'silver' and has great sunsets but no snorkeling directly off shore. All in all highly recommendable. Also great to combine with a stay at Pandan Island Resort.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank yonahummels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustav G, Inhaber at Gustav's Place Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thanks for your time and for the excellent review.
Satisfied guests is for us the most beautiful.
So we are constantly striving to make the stay of our guests as comfortable as possible, we also extend our offer regarding tours and diving, so we plan to dive safaris and open in the autumn a CMAS Training Center.

Thank you for your stay at our resort and we'll see you again soon

Kind regards
Gustav & Irene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed in Gustav Place as Pandan Island was fully booked, but it was a very lovely experience. Gustav and his wife Irene are definitely the nicest person we've met. They are very accommodating and sweet. We all definitely felt very welcome :)

The bungalows are very comfortable and in good size. The peace and sound of waves in the evening are the best thing about it. Plus in very affordable price :-)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErikaReyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

My family (spouse and two daughters -- ages 10 and 8) stayed here for five days simply because the resort on Pandan Island was full. It turns out that Gustav's was fantastic. We did end up staying on Pandan itself for 4 days and, even though the snorkeling on the island was great, we found ourselves gazing longingly across the water at our "home" back at Gustav's. I guess that's why we loved Gustav's so much -- we felt appreciated and liked. The owners are super nice, and our kids became friends with their son. The accommodations are simple, but the food was good, the company warm, and the beach clean and mostly empty of people. Since we live in the Philippines, we will likely return to Sablayan and, when we do, we will stay at Gustav's and just visit Pandan Island for snorkeling (Gustav's can take you out on their boat for a small fee).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PennsylvaniaTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

This remote place is probably the nicest resort I have visited on the whole island of Mindori, including Puerto Gallera. Since it is away from everything, don't expect karaokebars, clubs or girly bars around the corner. To get there you need to travel a fair distance over the beach, or you need to ask to be picked up by the boat, in the city center.
The accomodation is basic. A wooden hut on the beach, with a bed, electricity and a simple bathroom. But when you sit in front you almost can touch the ocean.
The sand isn't white, it's fine black vulcanic dust, but since this is less popular you have the beach almost for yourself. The water has a mildly warm temperature.
The restaurant serves quality dishes and is the best option around Sablayan. And the divers staying in the resort were raving about the possibilities they had over there.
Gustav himself seemed humble about his creation, but I liked it very, very much.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Filip58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sablayan
0.0 mi away
Badladz Beach Resort
Badladz Beach Resort
#4 of 52 in Puerto Galera
221 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Paulina Beach Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Grace Island Resort
Grace Island Resort
#2 of 6 in San Jose
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices

Been to Gustav's Place Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gustav's Place Beach Resort

Property: Gustav's Place Beach Resort
Address: Dulo Malungay Street | Sto. Nino, Sablayan, Mindoro 5104, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindoro > Occidental Mindoro Province > Sablayan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Sablayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A special resort with dive shop and training center for CMAS diving courses in Sablayan, far away from the beaten tourist tracks. And a lot of kilometers long, lonely, beautiful silver palm beach. The Majority of the premises is covered by palms and other exotic plants, and there is a view of the sea from almost anywhere. Embedded in this scenery, you will be Accommodated amongst the palms in clean, good-quality and comfortable bungalows or rooms with a shower and WC situated Directly on the deserted, endlessly long beach. We offer exploring inland, as well as many sporting activities on land and water on. A highlight is a dive trip to the world famous Apo Reef or dive safaris. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gustav's Place Beach Resort Sablayan, Philippines - Mindoro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing