We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing birthday 😥” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Twig and Spoon Restaurant

Twig and Spoon Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Ash
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing birthday 😥”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

I took my mum here to try to celebrate her birthday - I hadn't appreciated that it closed so early 4.30 ! My local garden centre in bournemouth is open till 8pm Thursday and Fridays and are still serving meals.
On arrival I was informed - kitchen was closed but could have hot drinks and a selection of cakes was available and that if I wanted the afternoon tea that I would have to come back another day ...
Good idea I thought till I saw that the afternoon was only served for a minimum of two persons !

My mum has just celebrated her 94 th birthday and doesn't have a huge appetite - and afternoon tea is one of her favourite things - but there is no way she could eat a whole one - I checked with one of the staff to make sure that was the case - yes it had to be for at least two persons.

We have had afternoon teas all around the uk and the world and have never come across this crazy idea ever before.

Needless to say - we won't be back - it would be a complete waste and would be upsetting for mum , an afternoon tea to share for the two of us would have been absolutely ideal - but still - it was not to be - we will be off to one of the other numerous places in the area to have what I know she will really enjoy and something to suit her size of appetite and it won't be here !

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MissyMosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    82
    18
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Always a winner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

This restaurant never fails to deliver on quality and value. The atmosphere and staff are welcoming and the food is consistently good. It is a regular haunt of ours because of all the above.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mcgabh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely Little Place For Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Really recommend this restaurant for a delicious lunch. Just called in originally for coffee and we were tempted by the lunch menu. I had a delicious smoked chicken, bacon a and avocado sandwich with lovely vegetable crisps and a blue cheese dip, my husband eventually decided on a cheese plowman's and wasn't disappointed. The place was busy but the staff were really brilliant and nothing was too much trouble. Thanks guys

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Georgie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A lovely afternoon treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We had an excellent afternoon tea today and was spoiled rotten by Olivier, Sharron, Joshua and Chkoe, you all made my birthday treat very special. Thanks guys! The sandwiches were lovely with hand carved ham, and really fresh smoked salmon. The scones were perfect, and the cakes really tasty. We eat here regularly and have never had a bad meal. I highly recommend booking a table for lunch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Worth searching for among the begonias”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

You need to be in the know when it comes to this little gem, because the majority of tables were reserved when we visited. You can even book online at: http://www.twigandspoon.co.uk/reservationsnew.php
The menu is varied, delicious and very reasonable. Everything we tried seemed to be home made and the portions were very generous. You can also have wine with your meal if required.
The staff were very smartly dressed and efficient. Definitely not your average garden centre cafe and well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Twig and Spoon Restaurant also viewed

 
Ash, Sevenoaks District
Ash, Sevenoaks District
 

Been to Twig and Spoon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing