We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most amazing place ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vilamendhoo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Maldives is the most amazing place ever. Perfect for a honeymoon and we went in July 2012. We stayed in a beach villa and the rooms were good. Can be a difficult place to get use to with the shower being outdoors and everywhere you walk there are crabs and all sorts in the sand.

The island is small, something like 900 metres long and 300 metres wide. You have a games room, 24 hour bars, football, golf, gym and tennis facilities. If you like football all the staff play a game during the day and let you get involved.

Food wasn't the best in Maldives but i just got on with it and tried a bit of everything. The staff are really helpful and go out of their way to help you. There is a bar that is open 24 hours near the beach villas and you can order snacks and drinks all the time if you are All Inclusive.

Try their mock-tails and ice coffees, i couldn't get enough of them. In general Vilamendhoo was a perfect location for our honeymoon and 7 days was just about enough because you do get bored eventually. July isn't the best month to go as it did rain everyday for a few hours but we did get lots of sun.

If you want a holiday where you have lots of excursions and things to do then Maldives is not for you but if you want to relax then it is. We wanted to relax after such a hectic time with our wedding but all our holidays since and in the future will not be like the experience we had in Maldives as there isn't much to do aprt from take in what you see :-)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asifashraf7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MohamedSolah, Director of Operations at Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Dear asifashraf7,

Sunny greetings from your honeymoon destination in the Indian Ocean!

Thank you for taking your time to share your kind words about your holiday with us.

Our chefs are dedicated to provide excellent quality and taste to what is prepared. Our guests come from all over the world and naturally their tastes vary. It is a challenge for us to please everyone's taste but generally, guest feedback is very good.

As you have mentioned, the ice coffee and other mock tails are very popular among our guests.

we do offer various excursions, sports and entertainments. but depending on the guest they may choose the activities that guests intend to participate.

Asif, Once again thank you very much for your wonderful feedback and we hope to welcome you back as a repeat guest in a near future.

Warm Regards,
Mohamed Solah, Director of Operations
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,492 - 1,498 of 3,406 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013

the island resort was a very beautiful place food was not the best in quality but selection was broad. rooms were cleaned and staff seem friendly. We stayed in a jacuzzi water villa and the view was amazing. Still left disappointed after having our ipad stolen from our room while we went to dinner. everything in our room was closed and in a matter of one 1hr we had our honeymoon trip turned upside down by some [--] from that hotel that stole our ipad with many of our memories from our trip. We paid big bucks to stay at this freaking resort and you will expect higher standard of service. I feel like they must have been sneaking into our freaking room god knows how many times while were were out trying to enjoy ourselves. very disappointed and will never ever go back to this resort. if you chose to visit this resort please please put everything in the safety box and DO NOT leave anything of value out not even for a split second because the time you do you may just kiss goodbye to it. We put everything in the safety box and the one time we forgot to put it in the safety box just to go eat some [--] took advantage of it. The maldives are gorgeous but I will chose another resort to stay at if I were you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank wsmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MohamedSolah, Director of Operations at Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Mr. Faltine Wintson (aggiedocvzla),

Greetings from Vilamendhoo Island Resort and Spa!

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent holiday with us. We are delighted with the compliments and positives of your stay with us, and we were also disappointed to learn that your ipad went missing on the last evening. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused due to this.

As you are aware, we did investigate on this issue immediately after your report, but we were unable to find any evidence of the item being stolen. We also offered to involve the local police on this case, but we respected your decision not to involve them.
After your departure, we came to know that you had forgotten your ipad at the spa once, and the staff had to call you to hand it over.

Please be assured that we will continue to look for the missing ipad, using all the means possible and return it to you when found.
As a responsible tourist hotel, we take the safety and the security of our guests and their belongings very seriously. We are also pleased to have a good number of our guests returning back to the island for their vacation, year after year.

Mr. Winston, we know how valuable the memories stored in the ipad will be for both of you. However, for now, all we can do is to replace the ipad that you have lost. Can you please kindly purchase an ipad of identical configuration and email us a copy of the receipt. We will fully refund the money after deducting the amount which was already provided to you while you were at Vilamendhoo.

Warm Regards,
Mohamed Solah, Director of Operations
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We have been lucky enough to visit eight different Maldivian resorts over the years and have to say that Vilamendhoo is by far our favourite, it ticks all the boxes with a great house reef, fantastic diving, the wild life is fantastic with virtually garunteed Whale Shark and Manta sightings,
the island is beautiful and lush with well kept beaches and gardens, all very clean and tidy, the service, food, and accomodation are all fantastic, I would reccomend this resort over all of the others that we have been too.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MohamedSolah, Mohamed Solah at Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Rob,

Sunny greetings to you from Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa!

Thank you for taking time to share your wonderful experience with us.
and we feel delighted to be named the best island that you have been
in the Maldives.

we are trying hard to keep the flora and fauna of the island as it is for the next
generations to come and we appreciate what you thought of our hotel.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to our beautiful island very soon.

Warm Regards,

Mohamed Solah, Director of Operation
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Spent 2 weeks in July on my honeymoon and never been to such a beautiful island with such warm loving staff who couldn't do enough for you.

We stayed in a Jacuzzi beach villa which was very nice, it took a bit of getting used to going to toilet and showering outside but made the experience even greater.

The quality of the food is from breakfast to lunch was outstanding and the different dishes every night for dinner made it worth looking forward to.

The trips were also brilliant, we done the sunset cruise and see some dolphins, we went to the picnic island and also one the local towns to by presents.

We also had lobster dinner on the beach that half was interrupted by a monsoon but again no complaints.

The spa was also outstanding and would recommend it to anyone especially when they make your wear the black pants.

The Sundays afternoon football against the staff were enjoyable in which we beat them twice on penalties, but word of warning a sliding tackle is more likely to leave you hobbling around with burns for the rest of the holiday like silly me.

Me and my wife miss this place and cant wait to return A.S.A.P.

A big thank you also to the staff Sadiq and Mohammed in the Sunset bar who also served you with a smile and sometimes a cheeky brandy.

If had had to complain about something .................... I couldn't.

Amazing

Room Tip: Stayed in 215 nice and close to the sunset bar in the adults part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SKIPPY31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MohamedSolah, Director of Operations at Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear SKIPPY 31,

Sunny greetings from Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa!

We are grateful for your generous feedback and your time sharing it with us.
Hope to welcome you and your wife again on your next visit to Vilamendhoo.

Warm Regards,
Mohamed Solah, Director of Operations
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We have just returned from two fabulous weeks at Vilamendhoo. We have previously visited Meeru which is owned by the same company and that is partly why we choose Vilamendhoo as we loved Meeru. Vilamendhoo is even better than Meeru!
We stayed in a Jacuzzi water villa. We emailed before the trip to ask for an odd number villa in the second half of the walkway and that is what we got! We had villa 319 which was lovely. The sun got round onto the outside of the villa from late morning. The rooms have everything you need and the beds are very comfortable. A few strokes and you are at the edge of the reef.
The resort is so quiet and relaxing, just what we wanted. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. Our room boy Manik was fabulous, he spoke very good English and we enjoyed chatting with him. One day he decorated our bed with hearts and flowers and swans it was fantastic, it made us feel very special.
The food is wonderful, so much choice, always lovely curries and fish dishes and something for everyone. Everything was full of flavour. Taawood, our waiter was great, he was friendly and happy and always remembered our drinks order! We were in the adults only restaurant which was very calm and quiet.
We loved the Asian wok at the other end of the island, we didn't eat there but went every evening for drinks and to watch the sunset. Sumesh did a fabulous job of topping up the drinks and always had time to chat. He knew everyone's drinks order and room number after their first visit.
The snorkelling is marvellous. The reef is so close to the beach and special channels have been cut through the coral so you can get onto the drop off without damaging the coral. The variety of fish and quantity of fish was stunning and everyday you would see something you hadn't seen the previous day, we saw turtles and octopus and an enormous jellyfish.
If you are looking for a relaxing holiday to recharge the batteries this is definitely the place.
We had a lot of rain for 3 days while we were there, which was unusual for the time of year I believe, we were walking along in the rain with our umbrellas, which are supplied in the rooms, mine was in a bit of a sorry state, suddenly a member of staff who we passed on our way to the restaurant stopped me and insisted I swapped umbrellas with him and had his good one, the staff are just lovely!
There obviously is overbooking like Meeru, when we arrived we were given our JWV but another couple were told they couldn't have theirs until the next day.
The seaplane is very well organised, but make sure you pack overnight bits in your hand luggage. Our flight out was delayed by two hours and when we arrived it was raining so they were concentrating on getting the people to vilamendhoo rather than all the luggage. We were lucky as our luggage turned up on the last flight at 5.30pm but when we went to the welcome meeting about 40 people didn't have their luggage and it didn't come until the next day. On the way home it is a very organised operation, you have a room departure time and sea plane time you and your luggage get on the boat and then the seaplane and it arrives next to you in a truck as your bus draws up at the airport at Male.
We went on the sunset cruise which is part of the AIP package and were lucky enough to see dolphins.
We were pleased to have chosen AIP as you don't have to think about how much drinks might be costing. There are a wide variety of cocktails, alcoholic and non alcoholic included in this, together with wine, beer, soft drinks and water.
We absolutely loved the island and cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: We loved the JWV 319 was our room and it was in an ideal location for us. The odd numbers get sun fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MohamedSolah, Director of Operations at Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Lynn D,

Warm greetings to you from Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa!
Thank you for taking time to share your recent holiday experience with us.
Vilamendhoo and Meeru are identical with many hotel facilities as we are part of CCR.
We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed Vilamendhoo and the efficient and friendly service of our team.
Lynn, please let me know if there is anything I can do to help plan a future holiday.


Warm Regards,
Mohamed Solah, Director of Operations
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

we went there on the 27th of October this year and had 2 weeks there the staff were unbelievable friendly we met two other couples Lou and Mike and Alan and Sandra and we just clicked they made our holiday the reef is out of this world, sea crystal clear, food fantastic, villas cleaned twice a day, out of this world spa. May i just say that Sharna from the restaurant and Husam and Robin from the bar made our holiday even better with there attention to detail to our needs Opps what needs because we did not have any they looked after us before we knew we needed looked after lol:) , and not forgetting the free mini bar in villa we were in 119, this was our 2nd time in Maldives went to Kuradu last year but Vilamandhoo is the place to go u have one life live it on this island and we are going back next year hope to see u there xxxxx Steve & Amanda xxxxx

Room Tip: beach villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MohamedSolah, Director of Operations at Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Stephen P,

Sunny greetings from Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa!

We are grateful for your generous feedback and your time sharing it with us.
Thank you for your compliment to our friendly team.
Hope to welcome you again on your next visit to Vilamendhoo.

Warm Regards,
Mohamed Solah, Director of Operations
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Hi Forum Viewers!!!

We got back from the island on 11.11.13 after 2 blissful weeks in paradise!!
Firstly...many thanks to all who made our stay so fantastic. A special thanks to Ismail in reception for being so helpful, Shawwa who organised our seaplane departures allowing us to leave the island at the same time as the friends we made, Haneef, captain and all the crew...for the most amazing day on the Gomafalu ( you just HAVE to do the Ocean Discovery Tour.... dolphins, manta, whale sharks and turtles in one amazing day!! Great food and great company!) Huge Thanks to Robin and team in the Bonthi Bar, Shahanna, Ahmed and Hussein in the buffet, Fazeel for our room service and Lou (rep) for her enthusiasm and advise!
Now for the nitty-gritty!!
Wow!!!!! What to say!!! The house reef offers all a non-diver could hope for and more!!! from the time we got to the treasure called vilamendhoo til the time we left, we could not ask for better service, nicer food, kinder people or better experiences! It may sound gushing, but tis a magical place!!! Only enhanced by the friends we made...if you are just about to go, or are just thinking about it....GO!!!
And many thanks to the House Keeping Football team for letting us trounce you 5-4 at the Guests v Staff game!!!!!
Honestly...from the bottom of our hearts...thank you to every single member of staff who worked so tirelessly, from the beach tenders to the managers...you all worked so hard and made this a holiday of a life-time. See you soon!!!!
Jipalou,Dorset

Room Tip: North side beach villas...amazing! However all parts of the island are wonderful! It may sound obvio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jipalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MohamedSolah, Director of Operations at Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Jipalou,

Sunny greetings from Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa!

We are grateful for your generous feedback and your time sharing it with us.
I am so pleased that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed Ocean Discovery trip.
Thank you for appreciating the service of our team who are very efficient and genuinely friendly.
Jipalou, please contact me if there is anything I can do to help plan a future visit.

Warm Regards,
Mohamed Solah, Director of Operations
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamendhoo
5.4 mi away
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Vakarufalhi Island
942 reviews
23.5 mi away
Constance Moofushi
Constance Moofushi
#1 of 1 in Moofushi Island
2,170 reviews
4.6 mi away
Drift Thelu Veliga Retreat
Drift Thelu Veliga Retreat
#1 of 1 in Thelu Veliga
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Holiday Island Resort & Spa
Holiday Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Maamingili Island
660 reviews
10.3 mi away
LUX* South Ari Atoll
LUX* South Ari Atoll
#1 of 1 in Dhidhoofinolhu Island
3,249 reviews
15 mi away
Sun Island Resort and Spa
Sun Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Nalaguraidhoo Island
2,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa

Address: Vilamendhoo Island, 20187
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Vilamendhoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vilamendhoo
Price Range: £251 - £1,031 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vilamendhoo Island Resort, surrounded by a beautiful lagoon, an excellent house reef and long stretches of white, sandy beach, is the only Resort on the island of Vilamendhoo, South Ari Atoll. It is 900 meters long by 250 meters wide, about 55 acres. Your seaplane transfer from Velana International Airport is a scenic, 25 minute flight. 184 Rooms include 30 Jacuzzi water villas, 30 Jacuzzi beach villas, 111 beach villas and 13 garden rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Agoda, Travelbag, Ebookers, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilamendhoo Island Hotel Vilamendhoo
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives
Hotel Vilamendhoo Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing