We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Finaly after years of travelling we have found paradise! Yes in 2014 it is out there”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vilamendhoo
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Finaly after years of travelling we have found paradise! Yes in 2014 it is out there”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We wanted something special to celebrate our 30th Wedding anniversary, well Vilamendhoo was that place, 2 fabulous house reefs You arrive at the island by Seaplane, Amazing experience! Island has the one hotel but not busy, as only approx 190 room, 2 main pool areas, one in middle of island with loads of shade, natural and umbrellas, and bar, then an adults only infinity pool and bar to watch the endlessly different sunsets! Beach villas nicely fitted out Just a stroll from teh beach, or you can lay in bed and watch the sea.you have your own sunbeds, Hammocks nearby! The house reefs are great to see the reef from the beach edge or on the outer side where you are carefully managed to be safe and not damage the reef! So many different fish, colours size etc. often entertained by small reef sharks about 18 inches long swim by! Or go on a sea trip and swim with Manta ray, and whale sharks 20+Ft! Awesome, staff on board couldn't do any more to make our day very special. Overall its an amazing place staffed by fabulous staff! Go on visit! you wont be dissapointed

Room Tip: Yes it was that good, we chose the side away from reception as it was quieter, more private, current...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bee1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solah M, Director of Operations at Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Bee1234,

Sunny greetings from Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa!

Thank you so much for taking your time and writing a great review about your holiday with us.
Your eye - catching report means a lot to me and the team. I appreciate your kind words and shall share it with everyone.

I am grateful for having given the chance to be part of your wonderful moment of 30th wedding anniversary.

As you have mentioned, our beach villas are very convenient and spacious. Most of our guests like this category of rooms because it is right at the beach and everything else is simple including the room amenities.

I am glad you enjoyed our exceptionally beautiful house reef and special whale shark trip.
I am so proud of the Vilamendhoo team and thank you appreciating the amazing service quality. I would like to assure you that we will continue developing our team to deliver excellence.

Bee1234, thank you so much and congratulations on your 30th wedding anniversary, we all hope to see you soon in Paradise you just discovered.

Warm Regards,
Mohamed Solah, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,242
    565
    128
    32
    19
See reviews for
457
2,144
41
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (833)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

staff, across the board were consistently very friendly and helpful the whole 7 days we were there. We were always greeted with a smile.
Excellent room service ...twice a day.
Great variety of food and cuisines.
Very efficient transfer/pick up and drop off service.
above all it's beautiful once you're there you don't want to ever leave...great place to escape from reality ...it forces you to with its beauty.
highly recommended for honeymooners, babymooners and empty nesters or any couple just wanting to get away who love water .
While some had children there's not much for them to do so I wouldn't recommend going with young children that need to be kept busy otherwise parents will not relax much.
Only negative feedback was the seaplane back to the main island had no aircon, not only were we not informed prior to boarding but there was no apology either.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsTsueM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solah M, Director of Operations at Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear MrsTsueM,

Warm Greetings from Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa!

I thank you so much for your encouraging words and taking your precious time to express your
holiday experience with us.

It is always a pleasure for our team members to engage with guests and provide the best genuine, friendly service and they certainly carry island hospitality with a local touch. I am so proud of the whole team. I will share your wonderful experience with them.

We have already notified TMA for the sea plane issue that you had on your departure and I apologize that the plane was not up to the standard.

Thank you so much for recommending Vilamendhoo to everyone.

MrsTsueM, I hope we will get another chance to welcome you back to Vilamendhoo in a near future.

Warm Regards,
Mohamed Solah, Director of Operation
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This was our sixth visit to the Maldives & our first to Vilamendhoo. We chose Vila because we stayed at it's sister island Meeru a couple of years ago & knew what to expect; we weren't disappointed.

We stayed in a beach villa on the north side of the island near the Asian Wok & thought the accommodation was great - very clean with a comfortable bed with a minibar that was stocked every day.

The food in the buffet was very good with plenty of choice - we also ate at the Asian Wok a couple of times and thought the food & ambience was excellent. My only suggestion in respect of food would be to rethink the Hot-Rock format - although the location on the beach and the starters were excellent having a hot smoking rock on your place setting on a humid tropical evening wasn't much fun. Also, because everything comes at once our sides had been sitting for 5 minutes by the time we could start our meal so they were no longer hot. Just a bit gimmicky really - a pizza restaurant or grill would work much better as a third dining option in our opinion.

The house reef was amazing & if you snorkel you're in for a treat - bring your own fins though as they were not included in the AI as they are at other islands and were expensive to rent. We did quite a bit of diving as well & were really impressed with the dive operation - Laila deserves a special mention as she made us do her special Manta dance on the boat out to Coral Hills & ten + mantas showed up! Amazing!

We used the gym a few times which was well equipped with treadmills, bikes & all the usual weight machines.

Overall, we really enjoyed our time at Vilamendhoo & thought it was a very well run island; all the staff we dealt with were very professional and made it impossible to do anything other than relax. We would definitely return to this or any other Crown & Champa resort - thanks Vila :)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Robin2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solah M, Director of Operations at Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Robin2008,

Sunny greetings from Vilamendhoo!

Thank you very much for your return visit to Crown and Champa Resorts. It is such a great pleasure for us to see you again on one of our resorts.

I am very pleased to read your Tripadvisor report and thank you for taking time to write such a great review.

Certainly Our Housekeeping department works very hard to keep the guest rooms up to the standard and applies highest cleaning methods to keep the rooms very clean. I will convey your compliments to our Executive Housekeeper and her team.

Our Executive Chef and his team works tirelessly to prepare the meals every day and it is nice to read that you appreciated the wonderful job that they do. Like you have experienced, Asian Wok is a very special dining experience for our guests and it has a truly magical feeling about it whilst dinning over the Indian Ocean. I will discuss with the team regarding your recommendation about Hot Rock and I can assure you we are already discussing about improving the Hot Rock experience for our guests.

Vilamendhoo is truly blessed with one of the best house reefs even to the Maldives underwater standard. It is a magic to snorkel around the island and you can spot many types of colorful fishes. Even Mantas and Whale Sharks. I am so excited to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed the snorkeling and diving. Euro Divers are very well organized and I shall pass your compliment to them. especially to Laila.

Please note that we sell different range of snorkeling gear at our gift shop in case any guest do not have enough space on the luggage to carry it. To rent it is USD 9 per person per day to hire the mask and snorkel.

I am happy that you enjoyed our house gym and you liked the way we have quipped the gym and we are working on improving few more machines.

Thank you for complimenting the hard working team that we have here and for me it is a blessing to be part of this efficient team. They make all of the management team so proud and we are amazed all the time to see how well they deliver the service perfect.

Robin2008, I hope to welcome you back to Vilamendhoo again in a near future. In case if you are coming to any other CCR hotel next time, please contact me directly.

Warm Regards,
Mohamed Solah, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This is a lovely four star resort in the Maldives, offering good value for money. However, you need to be careful in selecting your rooms according to what type of holiday you're after. We chose a beach villa, but whilst the room was lovely, we had to eat in a restaurant populated by lots of children. Eating dinner surrounded by hoards of children and babies screaming wasn't quite what we had in mind, and although we moved table, there was really no getting away from it. We asked if we could pay a supplement to eat at the adults only restaurant, but apparently they can't do this, so we had to pay the extra and upgrade to a jacuzzi beach villa.

The jacuzzis in the beach villas are fairly pointless - who wants to sit in a jacuzzi in a tiny walled back yard, when you could be on the gorgeous beach? The environmental impact can't be great either, as they keep them heated. Also, you lose some space in the room to account for the extra space the jacuzzi takes up in the garden. The beach villa room was more spacious, but we were pleased to eat in the adults only restaurant. The JBVs are set in an adults only area of the beach too, so are a bit quieter, and there's an adults only pool (although the staff don't seem to enforce this very strictly, and we saw children in there a couple of times).

Food and service in the restaurant was great, although service in the bar was often slow. The all inclusive plan was good value, although the wines are pretty bad, and it seems a bit mean not to offer a sparkling wine by the glass.

We also tried the spa, and had great massages.

Overall, I thought this was a good resort. Not the place to come if you're expecting five star luxury, but great if you're after a decent house reef and value for money. They also seem well set up for families.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJ13London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solah M, Director of Operations at Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear SJ13London,

Sunny greetings from Vilamendhoo!

Thank you very much for your feedback of your recent stay with us.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us despite some issues.

Vilamendhoo’s pricing is good value for money. It is rated as a 4 1/2 Star Resort at 4 Star prices. It is popular and is full throughout the year. It is interesting to learn that you liked Beach Villas more than Jacuzzi Beach Villas. Jacuzzi Beach Villas are generally popular among honeymooners.

Like you have mentioned, we offer Beach Villas and Garden Rooms Funama Restaurant to dine and for Jacuzzi Beach Villas and Jacuzzi Water Villas we offer “sister” restaurant Ahima.
With hotel policy allows only adults over 18 to stay in Jacuzzi Rooms, there for Ahima is only for guests who stay in the Jacuzzi Rooms.

I was glad when you contacted the hotel whilst staying with us to express your dissatisfaction due to the families dining in Funama. We do not sell tables from the restaurant because tables are allocated to the rooms. And I hope you were happy with the special price that we offered to upgrade your room and glad that you managed to get on with your holiday.

Thank you for your generous comments about the service and food in the restaurant and the spa respectively. I will convey your compliments. Please rest assure that we will focus on improving the service speed of the bars.

SJ13London, I would like to personally welcome you back to Vilamendhoo in case if you are returning to stay with us in a near future. Once more, thank you so much for staying with us.

Wish you all the best.

Warm Regards,
Mohamed Solah, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slovenia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The hardest thing when going snorkeling and free diving in the Maldives is to get a decent unbiased information on how is the reef and fish life. Everybody claims that everything is just amazing, but there are few pictures or videos which can prove it. It is true that most of the reef and fish in the Maldives are well above the other places in the world, but which are amongst the best and money wise at the reach?
We will try to wrap three islands we have visited so far - Embudu, 4 years ago for 16 days, Madoogali, 3 years ago for 3 weeks ,and the last, Vilamendhoo, for 16 days.
Embudu is very near Male, just a boat ride, packed and small rooms away from the sea, little breeze. We have stayed in the water villas, which was nicer. The reef is/was the poorest compared to Madoogali and Vilamendhoo, but there is strong current in parts of the reef and the visibility was very good, with lots of fish. The coral was average. But, it is the cheapest of the three.
Madoogali is very nice, pristine white sand, self standing bungalows apart from each other. The reef on the east side is beautiful, but short compared on what you can see in Vilamendhoo. Madoogali has a more pristine feeling than Vilamendhoo, less crowded accommodation. The lightning in Madoogali is much more discreet and better designed, you can gaze at the stars and still not trip over when walking!
The fish life in Madoogali was poorer than in Vilamendhoo, less species.
Vilamendhoo was a great surprise, considering few reliable information available concerning the reef and fish life. Pity the island is sold more as the beach, honeymoon , spa and pool place.As any of the Maldivian islands, the stereotype which the average tourist wants is winning. What one needs in the middle of the fantastic lagoon and the best reef? A sweet water pool with chlorine instead of swimming in the clearest waters one has around the island. Vilamendhoo should be advertised as a snorkeling and free diving destination instead, but, you know, the guest is king...
Since the reef at Vilamendhoo is really huge, a big island, you can see in time almost any kind of fish passing by in the Indian ocean. The coral is very healthy, huge table corals almost everywhere cascading in the blue.There are 10 exits to the reef, and a very nice coral garden at the north east side.
We were very lucky to meet Mr. Solah, director of operations, very kind, efficient and a reef lover himself. As qualified, experienced snorkelers and free divers we were able to make photos of the many outstanding spots around Vilamendhoo.
The whale shark trip was outstanding, free diving with the whale shark was real fun.
The overall visibility was very good to average, depending on the current/lack of current in some days.
To wrap it up, Vilamendhoo has the outstanding, big reef and plenty of fish life.
We were for the first time on full board instead of all inclusive. The all inclusive, we found, was needles, since we do not drink that much. The bottle of good red wine started from 40USD in Vilamendhoo, but there was the 30% discount on happy hour time, just before dinner. The 1,5 litre bottle of water was 4,5 USD. The all inclusive wine we drank in Embudu and Madoogali was not worth the package.
Oh, we forgot about the food, but when free diving you do not eat much....there was plenty of all,
well, the pasta was overcooked. Maybe we will need to return, to check if the pasta is properly cooked!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank pathfinder_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solah M, Director of Operations at Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear pathfinder_9,

Sunny greetings from Vilamendhoo!

First of all, thank you very much for writing a so detailed review and comparing us with few other resorts in the Maldives that you have visited.

Thank you very much for your concern about the delicate environment that we have. We certainly try our very best to maintain and respect the nature.

I am glad that you enjoyed your holiday with us and thank you for your constructive comments.

It was very interesting to share your thoughts whilst you were here. I managed find more details of regarding our swimming pools. Both pools are now chlorine free and with refined salt treatment with solar energy the water is rewashed and treated.

Thank you for such an amazing pictures on Flickr and on Tripadisor. I am glad that I was able to help you during your stay here.

Our new Executive Chef has trained all the live cooking chefs and I am sure you won’t be disappointed to find out the pasta is now better than Italy 

Once again, Thank you for sharing your thoughts and experience with us and we look forward to welcome you back in a near future in Vilamendhoo.

I hope all going well with your work and everything at home. Stay in touch.

Warm Regards,
Mohamed Solah, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Just came back from 7 days in Vilamendhoo and this is my second visit in Maldives and i have to admit that although Maldives in general is a paradise, i was slightly disappointed. But that's not to say that the stay was not good, it just was not great ! i would probably won't be going back and probably tried somewhere else.

Where do i begin? -
1st - Seaplane transfer - although this has nothing related to the hotel, i thought the price for a seaplane transfer from the airport to the hotel was quite expensive @ $680 for two pax. Well we were well aware of this so cannot complain too much of this. However, instead for this price, i would expect a straight transfer from the airport to the hotel. However, we did two stop to two hotels before going to our resort. The welcome by the hostess when we landed was ok with no smile at all from her. We were told that our luggage will come from another plane, which we were ok with it. However, while we were checking in, my luggage arrive. but my gf's one was missing. They reassured us that it happens and that it will come in the next one. So while i was in the room with my stuff, no signs of the other luggage. I had to call them a few times to enquire and it was only 5 hours after we were on the resort that we receive the missing luggage. AGAIN not the hotel's fault, but i think a bit of update would have been better.

2- Welcome and Orientation - Well i work in hospitality and i can tell when the service is good and when the service is ok !! this was the most boring orientation i had. The guy was talking as if he was reading a book to us. In the end, i had to stop him to let him know that i thought we would be able to manage. No smile, no joy at all. I was given a room next to the reception, which i was not very happy about, as there was always plane coming in and lots of kids running around so i requested a room on the other side of the island. The guy said it was not possible and that i cannot request any room. I said that i did not care and that he needed to find me something else. so he said he will check and come back, after a while , someone else came in, introduce herself and was very polite, explained to us that the hotel was full and it won;t be possible to move us on that day and that they could move us the next day. We were happy with that. My point was not about getting what we want but how they handle the situation. Advice - request room from 153 - 190. this side of the island is much nicer and quieter!!.

Now i know there is a lot of negative there, but trust me, everything else was fantastic.

Room - Clean, spacious, and nice view to the sea.
Room boy - did his job every now and then but no consistency, i had to call a few times for a refill of the mini bar or for some fresh towels.

Snorkelling - nice but not amazing. I stayed in Bandos last time which is a 3 star hotel and the snorkelling over there was so much nicer. Although we manage to spot a few sting ray and very small reef shark.

One thing that i would credit the resort is how much effort they put in ensuring the island is clean. I was very impressed with how clean the island was and when we went to see the sun rise, there was a least 10 staff cleaning the island on the beach and inside the island. Great job there!!!.

Restaurant - where do i start? negative- ridiculous system that you need to sit at an allocated table, we were sat in the middle of the restaurant with no views whatsoever and the way the woman talked to us just pissed us off. Our main waiter Hussain was fantastic though, we was not very bubbly in the first few days, guess he wanted to know us better but he manage to get us a better table. i have to say that as a Restaurant Manager myself, i was very impressed with his work throughout our stay. he was working tirelessly and was always doing something compared to the other lazy waiter who was just standing around doing nothing and just chatting. Hussain was very very good and i believe this place need more people like him.

Food - food was great throughout the whole stay, and good variety as well. The only minus would be the lack of seafood available during our stay. Going to an island where seafood should be the main attraction, we had some boring fish every day. We did have a shrimp salad one day though!! i understand that it might be expensive to have seafood, but at least once is 7 days would not be too much to ask ??

Overall it was not too bad as my review, however, i believe there are other places that would more worth it. The first thing that the resort needs to invest is the customer service, and how to deal with guest as their body language is horrible!!!!

Room Tip: 153- 190 on the other side of the island! beach villa should be enough but if you have the means, ja...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vicky_Jon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solah M, Director of Operations at Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Vicky_Jon,

Warm greetings from Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa!

Thank you so much for writing about your holiday experience with us.
I am pleased to hear that you felt island was very clean and well kept. I am glad that you liked the room and the service by your room attendants.

I would like to apologize for the points raised on our facilities and services where we failed to deliver to your expectation.

Regarding your room request, we encourage our guests to inform us if there is any preference in terms of location and we try our very best to change the guest as soon as the requested area is available. I am truly sorry that it took us sometime to get this sorted and the way this was dealt certainly didn't meet our standard.

We are working hard on maintaining consistency of delivering service and I have personally shared your compliment to Hussain and his team will be trained to be more energetic and efficient like him.

Please accept my sincere apologies if any of our employees was unfriendly or demonstrated poor body posture. I have already spoken to the respective departments and I would like to thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.

I hope that there will still be a chance that you will consider coming back. It would be a pleasure to personally meet you then.

Warm Regards,
Mohamed Solah, Director of Operations
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I spent 5 days here with my fiancee for our pre wedding honeymoon and we stayed in room 329, the absolute last room of the overwater villas.

The view of the villa that we were in were great! At an angle, we can see the sunrise in the morning. Directly facing the sunset in the evening. We were awed by the exposed corals outside our room when low tide came in about 7am. A pity we could not see the exposed corals on our last day of stay. We were glad to be able to take some lovely pictures of the exposed corals before our last day of stay.

House reef outside the room was magnificent. The rooms at the odd numbered side were closer to the reef than those at the even numbered side. Despite the distance to Amathi Restaurant and the main parts of the island, we were glad to be allotted that room in the end (proximity to reef, view of stars, privacy, feeling of exclusivity).

Staff were enthusiastic. They were running in the boat when they spotted whale shark. That upped the excitement somewhat. They were friendly too. Regardless of staff job functions, everyone greeted us when they saw us. Despite us putting a do not disturb coconut outside the door, the staff did a good job by making sure that we would not want to be disturbed.

Excellent masseuse in Duniye spa. The 1st time I fell asleep during a massage session.

We feel that Maldives gives us a surprise everyday when we were there.
1st day, the amazing house reef with the beautiful fishes and a "Happy Honeymoon" card by the staff.
2nd day best days of all. Low tide exposing the heads of the corals in the morning, dolphin and flying fish spotting on the sunset punch cruise, blacktip reef shark close to shore and the resident bird by the beach infront of sunset bar.
3rd day sting ray spotting by Duniye spa.
4th day impromptu dolphin encounter while we were on the Dangeethi trip.
5th day 2 big sting rays spotted again by Duniye spa!

By the end of our stay on the morning of the 6th day, we were too sad to leave. But alas, we would have to go back to reality and would love to take the room again.

The seaplane journey to and forth was breathtaking too.

We would love to go back there again. Ideal for honeymoon or just a couple spending some time together alone. I like the concept of the water villas whereby we can just step out and snorkel whenever we like and at anytime of the day (before sunset)

Room Tip: Overwater villas at the odd numbered sides. They are closer to the reef when compared to the even nu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solah M, Director of Operations at Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Ryan K,

Sunny greetings from your honeymoon destination!

Thank you for writing such an amazing review.

It is such a great pleasure for me and my team to learn what a fantastic time you had. Our goal is to ensure that all our guests experience outstanding vacation with us.
I am glad you enjoyed the seaplane trip as this unique experience is something fond to our guests. You certainly got an amazing view from the Jacuzzi Water Villas. I am sure you were able to spot many colourful fishes to live corals right from your porch.

We are fortunate to have such a wonderful reef with a large array of sea creatures, right on our doorstep, and I can understand how this is such a highlight for many guests who visit Vilamendhoo. We advise our guests in the Water Villas to snorkel inside the reef to have a great snorkeling experience and to protect the reef.

It is great to know that our enthusiastic team managed to fulfil all your holiday dreams with local touch of hospitality and glad that you enjoyed the whale shark trip which is one of the most popular trip on the island.

You have certainly described it so well what a surprise each day brings us here on the island. It is spontaneous.

Duniye Spa team is so pleased to learn that you enjoyed the relaxing and high quality treatments that they offer. It is another credit to the hotel that Duniye Spa is a trusted brand with our guests.

It thrills me to hear that you will be returning back to stay with us and I assure you, if you visit us to celebrate your wedding anniversary, you will not be disappointed.

Ryan, if you need any assistance in organizing your next trip to us, please contact me directly.
Thank you very much for staying with us and see you in a near future.

Warm Regards,
Mohamed Solah, Director of Operations
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamendhoo
5.4 mi away
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Vakarufalhi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
23.5 mi away
Constance Moofushi
Constance Moofushi
#1 of 1 in Moofushi Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,998 reviews
10.3 mi away
LUX* South Ari Atoll
LUX* South Ari Atoll
#1 of 1 in Dhidhoofinolhu Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lily Beach Resort & Spa
Lily Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Huvahandhoo Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,924 reviews
12.4 mi away
Mirihi Island Resort
Mirihi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Mirihi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
16.3 mi away
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
#1 of 1 in Rangali Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa

Property: Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
Address: Vilamendhoo Island, 20187
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Vilamendhoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vilamendhoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vilamendhoo Island Resort, surrounded by a beautiful lagoon, an excellent house reef and long stretches of white, sandy beach, is the only Resort on the island of Vilamendhoo, South Ari Atoll. It is 900 meters long by 250 meters wide, about 55 acres. Your seaplane transfer from Velana International Airport is a scenic, 25 minute flight. 184 Rooms include 30 Jacuzzi water villas, 30 Jacuzzi beach villas, 111 beach villas and 13 garden rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilamendhoo Island Hotel Vilamendhoo
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives
Hotel Vilamendhoo Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing