We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to unwind for a week or two”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vilamendhoo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I had no idea what to expect -

What's great:

Very nice food. They provide a large buffet which has different offerings each day to keep it interesting. The reef fish is delicious. The island set up and layout is brilliant - you can walk around or through the island and it is large enough to have different scenery when you wander through the internal paths. On inclusive packages, you get some watersports lessons included and hire of kayaks - these are great fun to paddle around the island and get some new views or have some gentle exercise. There's two pools, and the island is segregated into adults only and family sections. The family side has it's own pool (which I think is nicer to swim in) and you can still access many other of the resorts amenities - games room, beach volleyball court etc.

The reef is great - lots of tropical fish and wildlife to see. Easy to access and swim to, even for those with lower water confidence. The range and frequency of excursions seemed good to me - but I have little to directly compare it with.

Relaxation-wise, the pools are lovely as is the service from the friendly staff. The annual staff party occurred whilst we were on the island and it's clear that they had a good time and enjoyed interacting with the guests. They had an excellent eye for detail, delivering service, food and drink with an efficient style and I never once felt that they were over intrusive.

What could be improved?

Very little, some of guides when swimming/snorkelling swam too fast for some members of the group. I think expectations should be set appropriately for your chances of seeing things like manta rays, whale sharks and turtles - they are rare things. One thing that struck me was how poor some other guests were at adhering to the rules about no touching the house reef - they may need to reinforce this message when people arrive to safeguard what is (at the moment) a beautiful reef. This isn't the resorts fault, but to protect what they have... guests should take more care.

Summary:

It's a wonderful place, with great hot weather (expect the odd tropical storm and overcast day), lovely staff and a relaxed atmosphere. Recommended to those who want to unwind, try some watersports and who enjoy snorkelling in tropical waters.

Room Tip: The beach huts we thought were worth the extra over the garden rooms, the water villas seem to offer...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gareth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solah M, Director of Operations at Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Gareth H,

Sunny greetings from Vilamendhoo!

Thank you so much for a really nice review and taking your valuable time to share your holiday experience with us.

Thank you for appreciating the hard work done by our chefs, they certainly amaze us 3 times a day!

The reef fish that we serve are caught environment friendly and is really fresh as we do not keep any fish longer than 24 hours stored.

One of the most popular activity on Vilamendhoo is to kayak around the island, I am so glad that you loved it.

Boashi pool – located surrounded by coconut palm trees – is one of the most favorite spot for many guests and it is perfect to swim as an exercise due to the size of the pool. (Length: 23.90 M, Width: 11.90 M, Deep: 1.6 M, Water capacity: 455 m3)

Gareth, Thank you for recommending us to educate other guests whilst going on the excursion for snorkeling, we have proactively taken measurement such as giving detailed briefings on and off the boat.

I appreciate and thank you for recommending Vilamendhoo to everyone. In case if you are planning a trip to visit us again, please contact me directly on reservations@vilamendhooisland.com

Sunny Regards,
Mohamed Solah, Director of Operations
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,244)
There are newer reviews for Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,169 - 1,175 of 3,245 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

We have stayed here during June which theoretically is in the rainy season. But we enjoyed 8 sunny days and only on our departure day, rain was cooling the island. It was our second June Maldives trip and we believe that it is very wise financially speaking to visit Maldives during this month.
This is a mix review of information regarding the island and our experience at Vila.

Location:
Vilamendhoo is located on the eastern side of South Ari Atoll, 93 kms away from Male International Airport, being in one of the best spots in the world for making trips to spot whalesharks and mantas. The island borders the edge of the atoll on northeastern side and has a more wide lagoon on southwestern side where the water villas were built. On northern side of the island you will see Lily Beach Island Resort while on southern side the local inhabited island Dhangethi is easy to spot day and night due to its mobile coverage antenna. It is 900 m long and 250 m wide.

Getting here from Ibrahim Nasir International Airport:
After clearing immigration and luggage scan you will exit in the Arrival Hall where you will find a Crown and Champa Representative which will have your names on his list with travellers. He will help you in checking in with TMA. TMA luggage allowance pp is 20 kg for checked-in luggage and 5 kg for hand luggage. After leaving your checked-in luggage at TMA counter, you will take the minibus to get to seaplane departures. CCR Lounge for Vila and Veligandu is located on Terminal A and offers soft drinks, tea and coffee for free. We stayed only 15 mins in the lounge since our flight was very quick ready to depart. Do not forget to take your camera with you before getting into the plane or you will miss some scenic views of Male and Ari Atolls. It takes 25 mins to get to Vila from Hulhule Airport but most of the time the seaplane will have tourists from other resorts close to Vila like Centara or Vakarufhali so it will take around 40 mins to arrive at Vila.

Rooms:
There are 4 categories of rooms: Garden, Beach Villa, Jacuzzi BV and Jacuzzi WV. We stayed in a BV and we requested by email a room in the southwestern side of the island in the range 227 - 241. We received a detached villa in this range (236) so thank you Vilamendhoo and Simply Maldives for fulfilling our request. BVs in 227-241 and 179-196 range have no sandbags, walls or beach stones in front of the villa, being the best choice. All JBVs on both sides of the island have great beaches so either you choose you will be just fine. JBVs and JWVs are adult only and guests staying here eat in Ahima Restaurant, on the west end of the island. BV has a nice terrace, a spacious room with comfortable bed with mosquito net, safe, efficient A/C, minibar where soft drinks, beer and wine are included in AiP package. It has also a LCD Tv and a DVD. Free Wifi in the room has a fair connection, if you want a fast speed internet you can opt for 24hr premium package for 20 USD. Bathroom is an opened one with 2 sinks and a very nice rain shower. Every room has 2 sunbeds in front of it with the number of your villa on them. If you want to move them in a more attractive area of the island you can ask your roomboy to do it.

Housereef:
It's the main reason why we have chosen this island. The housereef is the best we have seen on our holidays around the world. You will not find such a reef in Mexico, Egypt, Thailand, Mauritius or Seychelles. Both sides of the island (north and south) are good for snorkeling but the best marine life you will find it on the north-eastern side of Vila, close to Asian Wok Restaurant (here we saw an eagle ray, a napoleon wrasse, morray eels, big black tip shark, banner fish, clown trigger fish) and on the exit in front of watersports (we swam with turtles, bat fish, white dotted black puffer fish, remoras, emperor angel fish, big parrots). We also saw lots of clownfish, sweetlips, snappers, cuttle fish, blue surgeons, moorish idols, jackfish, bluefin trevally, lionfish, stingray. We had a pleasant surprise when we spotted dolphins just in front of our villa. It is a real underwater Paradise with healthy brain, leaf or black corals.

Restaurants: There are 4 restaurants on the island: 2 buffet (Funama and Ahima) and 2 a la carte (Asian Wok and Hot Rock). The buffet restaurants offer a wide range of food delicacies: mouth watery soups (mushroom, brocoli, asparagus), lots of curries (vegetable, chicken), fish fillets, noodles and vermicelli, beef stews, lamb chops, papadam, seafood or pork ribs. Deserts are also to die for and include orange fried pancakes, carribean chocolate cake, tropical jalousie or apple pie. Fruits were the only downside of the buffet meals since no passion fruits were available during our stay.

Bars:
We spent some time enjoying coffee or cocktails at Bonthi and Sunset Bars. AiP package includes a list of 8 alcoholic cocktails (Gin Fizz and Blue Hawaiian were our favourites) and 4 non-alcoholic cocktails but quality of alcohol was not great. If you are on FB option prepare to pay a lot on drinks: 1.5 Lt of still water cost 4.5 usd, a coke or a beer 5 usd each.

Watersports:
If you are on AiP you are entitled to 1 hr of free kayak and windsurfing. You can rent also life vests free of charge but snorkeling equipment rent will cost you 9 usd.

Spa:
At arrival you will receive a voucher of 15 mins free massage if you are on AIP option. Furthermore you will receive another 10% discount to any of the massages that you will choose to enhance your 15 mins massage. The voucher is available only 3 days from your arrival. In addition to the 15 mins free massage we decided to have another 60 mins of balinese and muscle massage. The Balinese girls are doing a great job, their hands making us fall asleep. You will end your massage session with a nice ginger and lemongrass tea. Remember that Duniye Spa is the only place where prices do not include GST of 8%.

Sportscentre:
Play free of charge minigolf, badminton, tennis, table tennis and football. You can also use the fitness center at no charge.

Trips:
The best trip you can have from Vila is The Ocean Discovery Tour. It is a full day trip with everything included (towels, drinks, lunch and afternoon tea and snacks) and it offers a great chance to spot mantas and whalesharks. In the morning the boat takes you to the south-eastern side of the atoll, searching for mantas in the lagoon that protects Dhigurah island. Next will come the whaleshark search in the southern side of Ari Atoll starting from Lux Resort and ending near Sun Island. We went 2 times on this trip because the first one was unlucky spotting neither mantas nor whalesharks. The second trip was only 50% succesful, swimming with mantas being the highlight of our trip. This trip runs with at least 8 people and maximum no of tourists on the boat is 12. Cost per couple is 250 usd.
Whaleshark halfday trip cost 48 usd pp and only includes water while max no of tourists valid for this trip is 25 being too crowded in my opinion.
Manta and Turtle half day trip cost also 48 usd.
Dhangethi Local Island trip is a 3 hr trip taking you to explore the maldivian culture, food and traditions on a local island. Price: 27 usd pp.
Dhigurah and Lonubo trip: a mix between exploring a local fisherman island and a coral reef - 50 usd pp

Gift shop:
There are some nice things that you can buy from the gift shops: vases, wooden carved mantas, frangipani oil, books about Maldives, silver pandants. But there are also expensive things that you should bring with you from home to avoid useless shopping: sunscreen, caps, snorkeling equipment.

Service:
Most of the employees working on the island are smiling and are very helpful. They will make your holiday wonderful and try their best to keep you satisfied. We need to thank Gloria, Yolanda, Amber and Cecilia from Guest Relations, Waheed our waiter, Areef and its crew from Gomafulhu boat, Hafeez our roomboy and of course Mr. Solah which is not only a great manager but also a great guy.
We also want to send a Big Thank You to Amit from Simply Maldives which was really great from start to finish and made our dream comes true.

We will definitely come back!
Miki

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Mikiduta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solah M, Director of Operations at Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Mikiduta (Miki),

Sunny greetings from the sunny side of life!

Wow, I am so impressed with your observation and dedication in giving our future guests every single detail of your holiday experience, thank you so much.

It is so pleasing to me and the hard working team of Vilamendhoo to learn that our guests thoroughly enjoy our work and appreciate the uniqueness of Vilamendhoo holiday experience.
Only one thing to add to your review is that from July 1st, we have started selling AIP with all the cocktails and mocktails as part of AIP and we are working on improving the quality of alcohol as you have suggested. The biggest challenge for us is the limited varieties available.

Miki, I am glad that we managed to help you with Mantas but unfortunately no whale shark, so like you have mentioned, you have a reason to come back again 

I have shared your constructive feedback with the management team and as well with the special mentioned team members. It was great for me to personally meet you.

I wish to welcome you both in a near future to our little piece of paradise sometime soon.

Sunny Regards,
Mohamed Solah, Director of Operations
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This was our first trip to the Vilamendoo but we want to go again.

The resort is perfect for a relaxing vacation. The food is okay and there is always something which you may like. The rooms are clean and cleaning staff is good. We enjoyed the beach a lot. The house reef is the best attraction for this resort. We did the scuba diving twice since it was so much fun. There are more than enough restaurants and bars on this small island.

Though the resort was at 80% occupancy, we still did not see a lot of people around. We stayed our last night in a watervilla which has its own charm. We preferred the beachvilla due to easy access to the beach.

Few great things about the resort are the house reef, good food, nice staff, quiet room and clean beach. It is a perfect place to relax if you are looking for a quiet holidays and love snorkeling / scuba diving. We ended up seeing some dolphins also when we went for the sunset boat.

The spa is amazing and we had amazing time.

One thing the management can improve is the personal touch. You go to the resort and eat, drink, do your activities and sleep. The staff is okay but there is no personal touch. We were never asked by any of the PR staff about how our stay was going. It seems that once you are there, you already paid for the service and they consider the deal done. Most of the staffs do not even care to greet you when they see you. Though, on the positive side, everyone you personally deal with, your server, room staff, bar tender, they are always very nice. Syed in the restaurants great and has a smile on his face always. Abdulla and Harris never leave the glass empty in the bar. Raseed made sure that we had fresh coconut water every day. Illy made the scuba diving fun for us, even though we both were scared.

A personal touch would make this good resort a great resort.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 100NU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solah M, Director of Operations at Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear 100NU,

Sunny greetings from Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa!

Thank you so much for staying with us and most importantly sharing your thoughts and over all holiday experience with us.

It is true that Vilamendhoo is so blessed with one of the most amazing house reef in the Maldives.
Our guests really enjoy swimming around the island, spotting white tip / black tip reef sharks, turtles, eagle rays, butterfly fishes etc

It is great that you enjoyed the Beach Villas more than Jacuzzi Water Villas and it is amazing to realize how each guest preference is different.

Like you have experienced, even if the island is full, guests do not realize it, due to the size of the island and the guests are busy doing the activities offered on the island. Diving is one of them and I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed the diving offered by Euro Divers.

Duniye Spa offers varieties of treatments for the guests to relax and it is highly regarded. I am glad that you had cherished time at the spa and Duniye Spa team is ever so pleased to learn about your satisfaction.

I have shared your thoughts on personal touch and we will work hard on improving that based on your recommendation. Our Guest Services Team is dedicated with many multi lingual staff to customize the service that we offer to the guests.

100NU, I would like to welcome you back in person on your next visit to Vilamendhoo. if you are thinking of coming back, please do not hesitate to contact me directly on reservations@vilamendhooisland.com


Warm Regards,
Mohamed Solah, Director of Operations
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We (my boys and I) have just returned from spending 8 days in this wonderful resort. We had booked this resort online directly via the resort's own website. However, after booking it, I found that other online sites were offering a lower rate than what the resort had published. So I wrote in to the Reservations Dept immediately and asked them if they could match the lower rates being offered at the other sites. Immediately, they responded positively and this was the start of a wonderful holiday even before we were there.

From the seaplane transfer to arriving at the resort, it was a breeze. We stayed in the beach villa and best part was the snorkeling off the beach directly at the resort. I have young children and this made it easy to keep an eye on them and not having to do a special off island trip for snorkeling. The room is basic but most importantly, kept clean every single day by a dedicated staff, assigned to clean your room. The mini bar was well stocked and if you choose the all-inclusive package, then most of the drinks in the mini bar are included. My boys enjoyed drinking mocktails at the bar, whilst watching highlights of the FIFA.

The island has a Adults Only section and this is where the nicest part of the beach is. The island is not big, you can walk round the whole island easily.

There are 2 games room, one for kids under 14 years old and the other for older kids and adults. However, the one for kids under 14 years old is clearly meant for toddlers and very young kids as it is tiny and has only a mini pool table. This meant my older 2 boys ages 11 and 13 years old had no choice but to play in the other games room where there is darts, pool table and table soccer. They were asked to leave since they were underage but then there is no other option for them. So maybe the resort can look into changing the rules for the games room.

Breakfast, lunch and dinner are buffet style and it was ok, although I wish there were more varieties and change of menu after a few days cos after eating nearly the same stuff for 3 days, it gets boring.

In summary, we ended up with a fantastic deal with this resort and this being our first time in Maldives, it was impressive. We definitely will be back.

Room Tip: Choose a water chalet if you have no kids, so you can enjoy the best part of the island and how Mald...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onglsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solah M, Director of Operations at Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear onglsl,

Sunny greetings from Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa!

I would like to thank you for staying with us.

I agree with you that the breathtaking seaplane experience is such a pleasant one and it is pure beauty to see the Ariel beauty of the Maldives.

I am so glad that you loved the Beach Villas, it is simply perfect with attached open shower and few steps away from the beach and the beautiful house reef.

Our room attendants work tirelessly to immaculately clean the rooms and filling of the mini bar is done daily. The whole idea of having AIP drinks included in the mini bar is for the guest convenience and I am glad that you took advantage of that and I hope you enjoyed watching the World Cup on in - room television channels.

Our Chefs are dedicated to providing excellent quality and taste to what is prepared. Our guests come from all over the world and naturally, their tastes vary. It is a challenge to please everyone's tastes but generally, guest feedback is very good. Menu is designed in a way there is two weeks rotation to avoid any repetition during our guest stay.

Onglsl, it would be an honor to welcome you and your family to our beautiful island in a near future.

Warm Regards,
Mohamed Solah, Director of Operations
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

It's was a trip for our 5th wedding anniversary and 1st time to Maldives. We decided to book the all inclusive package with this resort staying in the jacuzzi water villa.

1) my husband emailed the resort with regards to the seaplane transfer but didn't get a reply till a week later and this was after 2 reminder emails.

2) in the email reply, the resort mentioned about vilamendhoo honoring to decor our room as it was our anniversary but when we arrived, there wasn't any decors. It wasn't something we requested and it didn't bother us that there isn't any decors but it's very telling of how much the resort keep their word.

3) as the all inclusive plan includes a sunset cruise, we booked the cruise one day in advanced and looked forward to it. However, the cruise was cancelled due to bad weather but we were not informed and only knew that it was cancelled when we arrive at the reception. It would have been good to inform the guests that the cruise is cancelled and not having the guests walked all the way to the recep and we were only told it was cancelled when we asked.

4) food was great in my opinion. The chefs in the restaurant were friendlier than the waiters.

5) beverages did not have consistency. I ordered a mojito while relaxing at the bar and it was good. So I decided to order the mojito again during dinner service and it tasted horrible.

6) room service was good. They come at least twice a day to tidy the room and change the towels. The room was spacious and clean.

7) I would suggest getting a JWV on the sunset side. The reefs are nicer. If you are looking at a beach villa, you may want to get the villas near to Asian wok. I find that area very peaceful and quiet.

8) house reef was amazing. Plenty to see.

9) staff shouldn't jump into conclusions that all Asians are from China.

10) overall I did enjoy my stay in vilamendhoo. It gave me beautiful memories of Maldives. I would consider returning to Vilamendhoo.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solah M, Director of Operations at Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Joanne G,

Sunny greetings from Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa!

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your holiday with us.

It is a pleasure for us that you chose to stay in Vilamendhoo to celebrate your wedding anniversary.
We offer complimentary amenities such as Fruit Basket and flower decoration as mentioned by our reservations department, however, it is disappointing to know that we missed out on the amenities.

I apologize for the delayed response by our reservations team and Reservations Manager is monitoring all the enquiries very carefully to ensure that we do not miss out on any email, our standard is to reply within 24 hours.

Regarding the sunset punch cruise, we always try to organize such excursions which is part of AIP and there is huge demand that guests wants to enjoy the privilege of free excursion, we always wait until the last minute to cancel the excursion. In such cases that we cancel the excursion, our excursion department always send a letter or call the guests direct to inform in advance.

I have shared your thought on consistency on beverage with our F&B Manager, Adam who will look into this and will improve straight away.

Joanne G, thank you very much for your positive review and it excites us that you will return to stay with us. If there is anything that I can do to organize your next trip to Vilamendhoo, please contact me directly.

Sunny Regards,
Mohamed Solah, Director of Operations
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

If you are going to the Maldives for the first time then you will find this to be a good resort but if you want a more personalised holiday then I would suggest that you pay a bit more and choose one of the smaller islands. Why, because this island has a lot of guests and and therefore a lot of accommodation on it and, for me at least, which detracts from the island paradise it could be.

The island has good house reef especially western side of island. The drop off to the deep water is close to the shore. There are no water currents to speak of and you can drift along the drop off watching the fish as they watch you. I took my own snorkelling equipment but you can hire equipment from the dive centre for hire 9 dollars a day.

I was in a Garden Room which was located behind the main reception. There was nothing wrong with the room. It was well kept up and clean. The downside of the Garden room was that it had two sunbeds outside, as all villas do, but they didn't get much sun as they were surrounded by trees and bushes and of course they had no view of the sea. The garden vilaas need to have their sunbeds moved to beach. I had to go searching for unnumbered sun beds of which there are only a few if I wanted a sea view. A bit of a pain, but not the end of the world.

The island has an excellent spa.

I stayed on the island in June and there was a noticeable breeze that picked up during the day that made the water a little choppy. The best time of the day for snorkelling was in the morning or late afternoon.

The food was buffet style and on the whole it was excellent. There was an superb choice ranging for traditional meat and two veg to curry, fish, salad, and just about any other type of food you would like. All presented exceptionally well.
The desserts are amazing. I got to talking with Fahud who would tell me how he made his desserts. I just wish I was that clever.

I went on two excursions, one to find whale sharks and another to find manta rays. Both times we were lucky to find what we were looking for. Its an amazing sight to see manta feed. You can book these half day trips in the main reception and cost $49 each.

I was on a full board basis because thats what the Hayes and Jarvis deal was. Although many others were on an All inclusive deal. The thing with the AI is that you are paying for things in the package that you may not really what, like a sunset cruise for example.
On full board you have to pay for your dishes, and that includes water. And at $4.50 a bottle (1.5ltr) that can work out expensive, especially if you are a family. I think the cost of water is expensive there and was annoyed at being held to ransom over it as there is no alternative but to buy from then resort.
Also a small 300ml diet coke is $5!! Seriously.. they are making huge profits on drinks.

The internet is free but man is it slow. Perhaps its the island pace of life. Its adequate if all you what to do is get your emails but don't expect much more. You can pay ($25 a day) for a faster experience but I never tried it

The evening entertainment good for those that want disco and karaoke or you can go to one of the other bars for a quieter time.

There are two pools on the island if you don't want to swim in the sea.

Lastly if you are travelling to the maldives from the UK choose another airline other than Srilankan. Their Airbus fleet is tired. The seats lack any padding which makes for a very uncomfortable long haul from Colombo. Every meal on the plane is some kind of curry and I like curry, but it can get a bit same'ish after a while. And the flight I was on seemed to have a large number of screaming kids. Again, very annoying on a 11 hour flight to have to listen to that.
Pay the extra and go Emirates is my advise.

If you got this far, thank you are reading and I hope the review was helpful to you.
One last word. If you take anything to the island with you, then take it home again. If you don't then it has to be disposed of in the Maldives and that is not good for the environment there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank woodworm107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solah M, Director of Operations at Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear woodworm107,

Greetings from Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa!

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and taking your time to share your holiday experience with us.

I am glad that you loved your overall holiday experience with us. Vilamendhoo is one of the biggest resort island in South Ari Atoll area. Guests choose Vilamendhoo because it is perfect size and according to most of our guests, rooms and other facilities on the island is perfect for this size of a hotel. I am sorry that we didn’t reach to our standard of missing out on personal touch.

Our garden rooms are just behind the Beach Villas and Boashi Pool and like you have mentioned, rooms are spacious and very tropical, just around the coconut trees and other trees and shrubs.
We have kept 62 spare sunbeds around the island on the beach especially to our garden room guests and upon check – in, we inform to our garden room guests.

Vilamendhoo offers Full Board – 3 meals from main restaurant – and All Inclusive Plus (AIP) to the guests. AIP is more popular because of the added value and around 70% of our in house guests are on AIP.
The challenge that Vilamendhoo face in terms of pricing of the drinks etc is the logistic and cost of the items to bring to the island. I apologize that you felt some of the drinks were overpriced.
Regarding the internet, free internet is offered to the guests to browse and surf on the internet, most importantly to stay in touch with the guests families. We recommend the guests to upgrade to premium internet for down loading etc.

Like you have mentioned, we have a special night entertainment for every evening at Bonthi Bar and if any guest want to spend their evenings quiet, Sunset Bar is the ideal place.

I am so impressed that you managed to see Whale Shark and Mantas on the respective trips. These excursions are very popular and we advise our guests to book in advance. Especially like you have mentioned, during June and July when the wind is little bit more than the rest of the year. These are monsoon months to the Maldives but we are so lucky to have sunshine always year around. Only difference is it might rain for an hour or two. And then sun comes back.

woodworm107, I would like to personally thank you for staying with us and if you like to try smaller islands, I may recommend you Komandoo or Veligandu which are part of Crown and Champa Resorts. If you need any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Warm Regards,
Mohamed Solah, Director of Operations
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

After a lot of research on where we wanted to spend our honeymoon, we decided on Vilamendhoo in the Maldives. We knew it would be a beautiful place, but we had no idea we would be staying in a true paradise. It didn't even seem real, it was so gorgeous. We were immediately impressed by the organization of the resort and the staff from the sea plane transfer to checking into our jacuzzi water villa. The crystal clear water and the reefs are absolutely breathtaking and the villas are so luxurious. Our villa was cleaned twice a day by Hameed who always made it beautiful and even blessed us with flowers on the bed a few times.

In addition to laying by the infinity pool and chairs on the deck of our villa (we got plenty of relaxation time) we wanted to take advantage of the excursions that the resort offered. We went on the Whale Shark Excursion first which was unbelievable! We loved our guide, who explained what we needed to do and did everything he could to give us a great experience. We ended up seeing 3 whale sharks, 2 adult and 1 baby. The other outing we did was the Manta Ray and Turtle Excursion. That was also amazing, as they know right where to go to help us find them. We ended up seeing about 20 manta and a turtle. The experienced and friendly staff helped to give us some amazing memories of seeing marine life in the wild.

Lastly, I think what made the trip so unforgettable was how wonderful the resort staff was. We looked forward to chatting with our waiter Meezad (with us each meal) as well as the chefs who always came out to see how we were doing. We were especially impressed Saman and how kind and personable he was. The food was amazing! We did the Full Board option which provided breakfast, lunch, and dinner each day and we paid for drinks which were quite reasonable. There were always so many options for things to eat and the fruit and dessert tables were incredible.

We feel so lucky that we were able to have such an amazing honeymoon experience at this breathtaking resort. As we left, we were already brainstorming ways to come back in a few years. If you are looking for a romantic, beautiful, luxurious resort for a vacation, look no further...you've found that in Vilamendhoo.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi water villas at the end of the dock give the best views.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bailey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solah M, Director of Operations at Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Bailey B,

Sunny greetings from Vilamendhoo!

Thank you very much for choosing Vilamendhoo for your honeymoon destination.
I am so pleased to hear that everything went perfect from the time you check – in.
Our Jacuzzi Water Villas are located over-the-water, in the lagoon…a short walk along your private jetty to this secluded hideaway featuring a larger bedroom, wood floor, an iPod docking station/sound tower, a tea/coffee/espresso machine; a spacious bathroom with a private, walled-in outdoor area featuring a Jacuzzi for two “under the stars”, a wooden sundeck with chaise lounges, a shade umbrella, tropical plants, a private sundeck with stairs into the sea and the most magnificent views of all and it is very popular with honeymooners.

Excursions in Vilamendhoo is graded very high. Whale Shark, Manta and Turtle excursion is post popular. I am very happy that it all went well and you enjoyed the excursions.

It is unbelievable feeling to us that you experienced a dream honeymoon with us.

I have shared your compliments to Hameed, Meezad and Saman. There is nothing better to motivate them but with your highest compliments.

I am thrilled to learn that you will be coming back in few years to stay with us and I can assure you we will work hard and will match your expectation.

If you need any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Warm Regards,
Mohamed Solah, Director of Operations
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamendhoo
5.4 mi away
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Vakarufalhi Island
908 reviews
23.5 mi away
Constance Moofushi
Constance Moofushi
#1 of 1 in Moofushi Island
2,104 reviews
14.3 mi away
Holiday Island Resort & Spa
Holiday Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Maamingili Island
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
LUX* South Ari Atoll
LUX* South Ari Atoll
#1 of 1 in Dhidhoofinolhu Island
3,100 reviews
16.3 mi away
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
#1 of 1 in Rangali Island
2,197 reviews
15.0 mi away
Sun Island Resort
Sun Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Nalaguraidhoo Island
2,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa

Address: Vilamendhoo Island, 20187
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Vilamendhoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vilamendhoo
Price Range: £241 - £856 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vilamendhoo Island Resort, surrounded by a beautiful lagoon, an excellent house reef and long stretches of white, sandy beach, is the only Resort on the island of Vilamendhoo, South Ari Atoll. It is 900 meters long by 250 meters wide, about 55 acres. Your seaplane transfer from Velana International Airport is a scenic, 25 minute flight. 184 Rooms include 30 Jacuzzi water villas, 30 Jacuzzi beach villas, 111 beach villas and 13 garden rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilamendhoo Island Hotel Vilamendhoo
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives
Hotel Vilamendhoo Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing