We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great but its the little things”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vilamendhoo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I stayed at this resort as a bucket list holiday of places to visit. The resort is excellent. 8/10. the food is very good allthough the desserts are a little bland. Views are stunning. Sting rays and sharks a plenty. i have the Water Villa which is adults only and a bonus. There was always space in the restaurants. The biggest issue i had was with the sloppy service. The room was mainly half cleaned not to a great standard. Towels were not left, mini bar not topped up, dust on surfaces and just generally sloppy. There is a lack of facilites so dont go unless you are a beach bum. some of the fixures are looking tired.
I would not go back as i have done it now but i would recommend.

Room Tip: Get the water Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Dodgym5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solah M, Director of Operations at Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Dodgym5,

Sunny greetings from Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa!

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and it means a lot to Vilamendhoo Team
that you graded us high despite being short on some areas of service comparing to what you have expected.

Dodgym5, please be assured that we will do utmost to make sure the highlighted areas that you recommended to improve will be addressed immediately.

Thank you for recommending Vilamendhoo to everyone and if you ever change your mind and would like to visit in future, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Warm Regards,
Mohamed Solah, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,207 - 1,213 of 3,311 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

We went to Villamendhoo for our honeymoon and it was perfect! If you are wondering what the definition of paradise is go to Villamendhoo. Without being pretentious and overly fancy (its a beach holiday after all) the service is excellent and the facilities superb. We stayed in the water villas which is just amazing with great attention to detail and exceptional cleanliness. The Whale Shark Trip is a must and the Scuba Dive Centre is the best we have ever experienced. With one of the best house reefs in the Maldives this island is perfect for both experienced divers as well as snorkelers - we rarely needed to go on boat diving trips as we couldn't get enough of the house reef. Lastly, definitely go for the all inclusive package - it might seem pricey but its great value for money plus it saves you the hassle of carrying your wallet around Paradise!

Room Tip: Watervilla Room 330 is definitely the best room on the entire island - it is right at the edge of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ads242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solah M, Director of Operations at Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Ads242,

Sunny greetings from simply Paradise!

Thank you so much for such a great review about your honeymoon with us.
I am sure where ever you go to honeymoon will remain forever with you, and I can promise you the same from here, we feel really honored that you choose us for your honeymoon.
It is our goal to keep on improving and providing the best possible customer service with great eye for details and overall facilities on the island.

Great that you enjoyed the whale shark trip. As you have experienced, I am living here and never bored of the house reef as it is so rich and spontaneous of what you are going to see.
Euro Dive team will be very happy to learn about your satisfaction of the service and facilities provided there.

Thank you once again for staying with us and it will be not a bad idea to visit us again for your first Wedding Anniversary.

Warm Regards,
Mohamed Solah, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

With some air miles to burn before they expired we felt a bit crazy and instead of visiting family we decided to book flights to a location that had been a pin on our map at home for years! After that brief moment of insanity began the search for a place to stay in the Maldives that would give us the holiday we always dreamed of...within our budget!! Vilamendhoo was just the place!!!
The whole experience was absolutely amazing. After checking through customs we were taken straight to a private lounge at the "domestic" airport. We only waited around 30 min which was perfect for us to freshen up, relax and enjoy a cold coke from the complimentary fridge. Then came the sea plane trip which was a truly unique experience. The views were breathtaking! The relaxed atmosphere was perfectly demonstrated by out pilot having a quick dip in the sea shortly after landing at the resort.

The island itself is absolute paradise!! There is absolutely no need for shoes of any kind whilst you are there-even the restaurant has a sand floor. We were on the All Inclusive Plus plan which was brilliant. The meals were great with anything and everything for any tastes. The water and drinks from the minibar kept us refreshed as we spent lazy days on the beach right outside our front door. It was also nice to be able to order drinks from any of the bars and by the pool.

The beach villas are definitely the way to go...the slight difference in cost from the Garden rooms is worth everything. There is no choice here...you simply have to go with the beach villa.
The rooms were surprisingly big and kept spotlessly clean the whole time. There is even a turn down service in the evenings which is great for getting the sand off the bed etc. The outside bathroom was interesting and added a lot of character to the room, but the best part was being only 10m away from the most amazing beach! We spent most of our time either on the beach or in the water. You only had to swim out another 15m before you were snorkelling over the stunning reef. The snorkelling was the highlight of our trip. My wife and I spent hours enjoying the huge variety of fish that live on the reef.
The service on the island was ok and we had no issues. They were very accomodating escpecially as we were travelling with our 2 year old daughter. All the staff were very friendly and helped us whenever they could.
Overall our stay was everything that we expected and so much more. It was the perfect island getaway.

Room Tip: Beach Villa!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank DougChrisM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solah M, Director of Operations at Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear DougChrisM,

Warm greetings from Paradise!

It is such a pleasing news that you have enjoyed your holiday with us.

One big advantage of choosing Vilamendoo is unique seaplane experience, wonderful sparkling white beach and unclouded water with huge array of colorful corals and fishes. Certainly one of the best in the Maldives.

I am glad that you preferred Beach Villas and you truly make a point there pointing out the space and comfort especially when travelling with families.

Vilamendhoo sells All Inclusive Plus Package with great value for the guests with consistent quality. I am glad that you experienced the good food from our buffet restaurants too. I am sure chefs will be very pleased to learn that they managed to impress you, so as the room attendants who as a standard provide service to the guest rooms twice a day.

DougChrisM, please contact me if there is anything that I can do to help you to visit the paradise again.

Sunny Regards,

Mohamed Solah, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We chose this island on the basis of others' recommendations about the best house reef. They weren't kidding. If you enjoy snorkeling this place is for you. The reef encircles the island and offers enough diversity of sea life and coral to keep you fascinated for ages. We even saw a good sized octopus on the house reef, which was literally 20m from our bure. The water is warm and crystal clear (no algae), and the sand is white and soft.
If you can, go for the jacuzzi over-water bures (adults only, so won't appeal to everyone) - they are really well appointed (including an espresso machine). We were lucky enough to get Bure # 330 - the last one at the end of the pier, and it pretty much guaranteed complete privacy. We felt like it was our own private ocean.
The All Inclusive deal is a must - great value. The food at the Ahima restaurant, although a buffet, was magnificent. We were treated to much variety (although if you don't like curries, there would be less diversity), and the multiple dessert tables were sure to stack the pounds on. The mainly Sri Lankan chefs are a credit to their skills and creativity. And whilst the cocktails included in the deal are limited, there are about 30 to choose from, and the Mojitos kept us going. And there was always the gym (which was well-appointed) to help keep the waistline creep at bay.
Do the Manta boat trip if you can - we saw many and got to swim with them at multiple locations. There were some turtles, but you see bigger and more in Sulawesi.
Although we were there in low season, the weather was pretty good. We had one night of torrential downpour, and it rained one night over dinner. The rest of the time it was sunny or cloudy, and always warm.
The free internet service is limited and slow, but why not take the opportunity to turn the technology off, and lose yourself in the slow pace of paradise?

Room Tip: The 30 overwater bures are fantastic. The smaller numbers are closer, and 329 and 330 are right at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TGS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solah M, Director of Operations at Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear TGS123,

Sunny greetings fom Vilamendhoo!

Thank you so much for the time taken in giving us positive holiday experience with us. It is such a nice heading for your review and we really feel that you are still here 

It is great that you have highlighted about the house reef, We are fortunate to have such a wonderful reef with a large array of sea creatures, right on our doorstep, and I can understand how this is such a highlight for yourself and many other guests who visit Vilamendhoo.

Jacuzzi Water Villas (85 sqm) are located over-the-water, in the lagoon…a short walk along your private jetty to this secluded hideaway featuring a larger bedroom, wood floor, an iPod docking station/sound tower, a tea/coffee/espresso machine; a spacious bathroom with a private, walled-in outdoor area featuring a Jacuzzi for two “under the stars”, a wooden sundeck with chaise lounges, a shade umbrella, tropical plants, a private sundeck with stairs into the sea and the most magnificent views of all...I am sure your minds will be with us again 
Thank you for recommending All Inclusive Plus (AIP) package, it is definitely great value for money and majority of our in house guests are on AIP due to the great value for money.

I have shared your review with the management team.

It is a challenge for us to increase the speed of the internet as I have highlighted in the other reviewers replies, due to the logistics and other factors, internet speed is a tough challenge to improve as fast as we wish to address but I can assure you we are working on it.

TGS123, in our minds and heart, you are still with us and it will be great to have the opportunity to personally welcome you to Vilamendhoo once more in a near future.

Warm Regards,

Mohamed Solah, Director of Operations
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed March 2014. As per almost all other reviews, the resort was outstanding value, excellent house reef (living up to its #1class ranking for snorkelling) with well planed and marked entrance/ exit points all around the small island, excellent rooms (although not of course in the super luxury class -I also stayed at Conrad Hilton on Rangali island) , astonishingly good food for a buffet set up and the price, we'll run and reasonable excursions (although you had to go quite a ways for whale sharks and mantas), and overall very well run and responsive to emails. The guided night snorkelling was an interesting first for me, although not as great as expected.

One nice touch was they arranged with Conrad I could take a boat transfer instead of flying back to Male and then flying Male to Conrad. A bit more expensive at $600, but far more convenient then the double flight and it was nice to arrive at Conrad in style. And if you are 2 or more (I was solo) its a bargain too compared to flying as the price is per boat, not per person. Flying to Vilamendhoo from Male was hassle free and all flights in Maldives are scenery spectacular.

I will stay here again when I next visit Maldives (likely next year) and have to pay (stayed Conrad on Hilton points) as it's better on all counts than the other reasonably priced top rated reef resort I tried previously in the Maldives- Fihalhohi. If money is no object or you have loads of Hilton points go Conrad - pure luxury, even better house reef --especially for coral, and trips to see mantas and whale sharks are closer. Otherwise Vilamendhoo is hard to beat.

From years of snorkelling in many places around the world I think I have now concluded Indonesia (have done Bunaken Island and Komodo National Park Diving Resort so far), the Maldives and the Australian Great Barrier Reef on a livaboard are the best bets, although I still need to try Fiji and maybe Bonaire fits here too . But so many other well recommended places have been comparative disappointments I think I need to focus on these for the next while. Next trip I will hit Vilamendhoo again and try another resort with a top rated snorkelling house reef as well.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Gordonnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solah M, Director of Operations at Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Gordonnomad,

Greeting from Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa!

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review about your recent stay with us.
We are delighted to learn that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us!

It gives us a great pleasure how much you enjoyed and that you liked the accommodation, food and the house reef. It is always lovely to hear that the guests have enjoyed every minute of their time with us.

I am glad that we were able to help you with the transfer to Conrad, it is indeed more convenient to go direct rather than going to Male’ and taking another plane.

Please note that your kind words have been shared with the entire team.

Once again, I would like to personally thank you for your lovely feedback.
We are delighted that you chose to stay with us and we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Mohamed Solah, Director of Operations
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We had the most amazing holiday, staff and management couldn't do enough for you. This is the most incredible place we were truly spoilt. We did get a bit of rain but this was expected as it was their monsoon season. We can't wait to go back!!!

Thank you to all @ Villamendoo...Hope to see you all very soon!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Meme M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solah M, Director of Operations at Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear memeyorkshire,

Sunny greetings from Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa!

Thank you so much for your review.

It is such a great pleasure to know that we all managed to satisfy you and your family during your stay with us.

I hear from many guests that they are not sure about the period of the holiday that they choose due to the monsoon. Normally, it is very often that the monsoons are really nice weather and very often guests like it because it is bit breezy. The only difference in weather is that it is bit windy and could rain time to time, but temperature does not go below 29 degrees. Sometimes it could be partly cloudy.

Great to learn that you will be visiting us and we all are looking forward to welcome you back to Vilamendhoo.

Warm Regards,

Mohamed Solah, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Third trip to the Maldives and this has been the best. As a whole, the holiday was just perfect from the start. BA flights on time and the shuttle time from Male to Vilamendhoo was very quick. Nothing out of place thanks to Cosmos and the Islands team at Crown Tours.

This is one of the smallest island we have been to, yet it still felt quite big (previously visited Kuredu, Kurumba and Kurathmathi) Takes 15-20 minutes to walk around which in itself, makes a nice venture while the room boys are cleaning in the mornings.

The water villa was excellent and equipped with everything you could possibly need. Thohir (Our room boy) made sure everything was clean with added surprises each night. Two places to sunbathe depending on whether morning or afternoon. The Jacuzzi was bath temperature so great for an evening relax. The house reef is a mere 20 ft away offering easy snorkeling, and the bottom around the villas is sand so a swim each day was a must.

Restaurant and bar in the adults end was excellent. Great choice of food afternoon and evening, never disliked anything and they catered for all nationalities. Meezad (waiter) always welcomed us. Made time to talk and very attentive to our needs. The bar had a good selection of AI drinks (beer, wine, spirits and 9 cocktails) that's right, 9 that you can try for free on AI. The waiters never let your glass go empty!

We didn't see many people around the island during the day or night. The main bar (Bonthi) has more entertainment if you want it, yet along with more people. We preferred the beach bar end as we were staying in the water villas, the ambiance is more Maldivian and relaxing with just music playing in the bar most nights.

Would definitely visit this island again and likely it will be the same time next year. Weather was excellent apart from two cloudy days (you still get tanned) and a couple of storms at night. Overall first class for the money. Would like to give added thanks to Thohir, Meezad and the entire 'Sunset Bar' staff team for making our stay so much more special.

Oh and so glad we booked British Airways too as you arrive in the morning and leave late afternoon...Direct and not a minute late!

Room Tip: Not telling you, spend the extra money and you'll find out
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Paul-and-Kerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solah M, Director of Operations at Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Paul-and-Kerry,

Sunny greetings from Vilamendhoo!

Thank you so much for your report on tripadvisor. It means a lot to us that you have graded as the best island out of three islands that you have visited.

Jacuzzi Water Villas are very popular among our guests in Vilamendhoo and it is great that you enjoyed the special scenery and the room facilities.

We have 2 main restaurants, 2 specialty restaurants and 4 bars around the island. Each has its own specialties. All the restaurants and bars cater for AIP and now from July 1st all the cocktails and mocktails are AIP.

I have shared your experience with the management team and passed your compliments to Meezad and Thohir.

Paul – and – Kerry, it excites all of us to learn that you will be visiting us again in a near future.
Please contact us directly should you require any assistance for your future holiday.

Warm Regards,

Mohamed Solah, Director of Operations
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamendhoo
5.4 mi away
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Vakarufalhi Island
915 reviews
23.5 mi away
Constance Moofushi
Constance Moofushi
#1 of 1 in Moofushi Island
2,131 reviews
14.3 mi away
Holiday Island Resort & Spa
Holiday Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Maamingili Island
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
LUX* South Ari Atoll
LUX* South Ari Atoll
#1 of 1 in Dhidhoofinolhu Island
3,146 reviews
15.0 mi away
Sun Island Resort and Spa
Sun Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Nalaguraidhoo Island
2,513 reviews
16.3 mi away
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
#1 of 1 in Rangali Island
2,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa

Address: Vilamendhoo Island, 20187
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Vilamendhoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vilamendhoo
Price Range: £246 - £892 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vilamendhoo Island Resort, surrounded by a beautiful lagoon, an excellent house reef and long stretches of white, sandy beach, is the only Resort on the island of Vilamendhoo, South Ari Atoll. It is 900 meters long by 250 meters wide, about 55 acres. Your seaplane transfer from Velana International Airport is a scenic, 25 minute flight. 184 Rooms include 30 Jacuzzi water villas, 30 Jacuzzi beach villas, 111 beach villas and 13 garden rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ctrip TA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilamendhoo Island Hotel Vilamendhoo
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives
Hotel Vilamendhoo Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing