We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Most Amazing Holiday We Could have ever have wished for” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vilamendhoo
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Most Amazing Holiday We Could have ever have wished for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2011

Well me and my boyfriend have just retirned from a two week holiday at The Vilamendoo Island and Spa Resort and I would fly back in a heartbeat. We were concerned before we went as the island was in the midst of a refurbishment that was due to be finished before we arrived and i neednt have been worried one bit!! We stayed in a Beach Villa and it was amazing, immaculate and cleaned every day with a turn down service in the evening and the mini bar replenished twice a day. The food was fabulous with such a varied selection and the staff were attentive and couldnt do enough for you. The whole island had been refurbished to the highest standard but the only thing I felt was missing was a iron in the villa so be sure to pack a travel iron if you feel you would need one. Girls there is a hair dryer in the room too. The all inclusive package was fantastic including windsurfing lesson and canoe hire every day for an hour. The snorkelling was amazing especially for me a beginner and a little nervous you dont have to go out very far and out of depth to see the most amazing fish!! They provide a fifteen minute free massage for all guests and the Spa is beautiful and I did indulge in two hour long massages whilst we were there and it was every minute worth it. Paradise. You also get a free hour and a half sunset cruise where if your as lucky as us will see some dolphins.

I could compliment this island all night but I would like to give some tips if you are travelling to this island that would save you some pennies!! Make sure you take enough sun cream and buy this at home as although we think its expensive at home its much more expenisve in the gift shop on the island. A bottle of sun cream is around $27 and we had to buy a further three!! The other tip for those that smoke tobacco, they do not sell tobacco on the island. We ran out and the had to buy ciggarettes which although cheaper than home at $5 it wasnt a preferred choice.

I really cannot faut anything else honestly, it was our dream holiday and it lived up to everything I had dreamt of and more. We met some lovely new friends and have amazing pictures for memories. The most amazing sunsets can be seen every night from eack end of the island either the sunset bar or the asian wok. If you do go I hope you enjoy it as much as we did!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Nossers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,895 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,180
    547
    120
    30
    18
See reviews for
438
2,080
41
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (821)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2011

Just returned back from two weeks on the island, weather was great and the scenery was splendid so mostly no complaints of the place. Just the AIP is a let down still have to pay extra for lots of stuff.especially drinks and stuff out the mini bar including bars of chocolate and all were expensive The food did not always have great variety and the daytime snack menu is not worth it a choice out of three sandwich fillings and a bit of cake. As for the cocktails they did a daily special which was free and usually horrible all the cocktails on the menu you had to pay for. They are still cleaning up from the refurbishment so looks a bit messy and dirty in places and workman are around. The rooms were very big and clean done twice a day and with clean towles everday including beach ones.Entertainment was very low key but a good games room with board games as well. As much as i had a relaxing time i would not recommend it if you like good all inclusive. Also no problem with mossies as they spray it weekly which is not nice but does the job. Everything here is done just to make it look good and modern and so feels like they are pinching on other areas.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank missmon66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2011

Vilamendhoo is pure paradise, everything about this island is just perfect.
We stayed in a JWV for 2 weeks and it was out of this world, the staff are faultless, the food is great and the entertainment was good,
We met some really great people , and i hope some of us will be meeting up at Vila next year. xx

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jlp154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2011

Vilamendhoo has just reopened from refurb, and we stayed in the jacuzzi water villas in the second week of Jan 2011 which were fantastic - the Indian ocean from the front deck, and a large hot tub on the rear deck, with loungers on both decks. Inside it was big and had all the gadgets you would need (tv, dvd, coffee machine, ipod docking station etc), a mini bar frequently topped up and pure luxury. (also provide a brolly - but we didnt need it!).

It is definitely worth the upgrade as some of the beach villas don't have much beach outside and can be regularly walked past by other guests, thus are not private. the occupants of the water villas and jacuzzi beach villas have a separate restaurant where no children are allowed, and it is smaller and more intimate. Food was excellent with lots of chefs always checking that the food was fresh and beautifully presented. The sunset bar staff were excellent as was the location to watch some lovely sunsets.

The house reef is one of the highlights as it runs down the full length of both sides of the island with literally millions of fish for every snorkel or dive. It is well marked, so even at low tide there are routes through the shallow corral beds to the reef so the fish are always accessible. As a frequent traveller, this experience was one of the best!

There is a gym with modern kit, a tennis court, putting green and football pitch if you are feeling active and the spa is great - relaxing looking at the sea. AI guests were given a free 15 min massage to sample it.

Yes there is still a bit of work to do (the garden rooms were still to be completed and they were finishing off putting lights to the tennis courts and netting round the football pitch) but these are so minor issues that didn't have any negative impact on our holiday at all.

If you are going, I hope you have a wonderful holiday - we did.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Salcheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2011

We have just returned from our honeymoon at the newly renovated paradise Island of Vilamendhoo.

Anyone who doesn't enjoy the peace and tranquility of this island must be crazy! We loved every moment of our holiday on the island from the fantastic snorkelling to the relaxing honeymoon indulgence in the spa.

Food is fantastic especially the curry corner with local food, however they cater for all tastes. The waiters and bar staff are exceptional and the personal touch of a candle lit dinner on the beach on our final night made it all the more special.

Our room a jacuzzi water villa was fantastic with no real issues to note, we also had a lovely stretch of beach and a hammock right outside to top it all off.

We couldn't fault the island and would have no hesitation in returning, our only complaint was that we didn't book for 2 weeks instead of 1!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank HCoupland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2011

We have just got back after a fantastic week at Vilamendhoo Island Resort. Although we only went for a week as soon as we take off in the sky plane our holiday of relaxation had begun. The food, staff, villas and water villas are all brilliant and we couldn't think of anything we needed to complain about. The weather was perfect, the spa even better and the snorkelling brill. We made some lovely friends too into the bargain!!

If you are looking to go we would whole heartedly recommend this resort. I'm so jealous!
Jo and Roy

Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
24 Thank joanneaustin10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Storrington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2011

Have recently arrived back from Vilamendhoo and wanted to write a review to tell people due to visit or considering a trip what is happening on the island. For those of you not aware the island closed last year for 6 months to be totally refurbished and opened about the 20th Dec. We arrived on the 31st December and were thrilled to see that the island was looking in pretty good shape, all rooms were open, all restaurants, the spa and both pools. We stayed for 10 days and had a superb time. There is still a little more planting to do and probably a little more sand on some of the paths but nothing that should prevent you having a wonderful holiday. On the day we left even the hammocks were going up so they really were just adding the final touches. Having been to 5 islands in the Maldives I would say that this island is a great choice for anyone wanting brand new accomodation, superb swimming pools, a wonderful spa, good food and most of all superb snorkelling about 10ft off the beach! The snorkelling is possibly the best that we have seen as you can access the reef all round the island which means you can choose a different spot every day and never be more than a few minutes away from your lounger when you feel like a rest.

We would definately recommend it to others.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
35 Thank Sadlerfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamendhoo
5.4 mi away
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Vakarufalhi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
23.5 mi away
Constance Moofushi
Constance Moofushi
#1 of 1 in Moofushi Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
10.3 mi away
LUX* South Ari Atoll
LUX* South Ari Atoll
#1 of 1 in Dhidhoofinolhu Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lily Beach Resort & Spa
Lily Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Huvahandhoo Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,844 reviews
12.4 mi away
Mirihi Island Resort
Mirihi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Mirihi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
16.3 mi away
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
#1 of 1 in Rangali Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa

Property: Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
Address: Vilamendhoo Island, 20187
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Vilamendhoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vilamendhoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vilamendhoo Island Resort, surrounded by a beautiful lagoon, an excellent house reef and long stretches of white, sandy beach, is the only Resort on the island of Vilamendhoo, South Ari Atoll. It is 900 meters long by 250 meters wide, about 55 acres. Your seaplane transfer from Velana International Airport is a scenic, 25 minute flight. 184 Rooms include 30 Jacuzzi water villas, 30 Jacuzzi beach villas, 111 beach villas and 13 garden rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Agoda, Ebookers, Expedia, Travelbag and Odigeo so you can book your Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilamendhoo Island Hotel Vilamendhoo
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives
Hotel Vilamendhoo Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing