We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place to eat”
Review of Cann Office Hotel

Cann Office Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llangadfan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cann Office Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Llangadfan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Very good place to eat”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed at a local farm and ate at the hotel 3 nights out of 7 and were impressed each time. The owners were very pleasant and friendly and the food was very good. The food range offered suited us both and catered for non meat eaters. The service was fine and the overall package was not expensive and provided very good value. We would certainly return and eat there if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve-Marilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    21
    17
    6
    6
See reviews for
31
29
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as part of a stag party and to be fair the staff pretty much left us to it.

Two of the group had to move room twice, first off because one of the "bunk bed's" was not in a fit state to use. The two levels of the beds seemed to be connected by the smallest of wooden dowels and the supporting metal beam was bent, we demonstrated the flimsiness of it by shaking the bed which caused it to become dislodged and collapse. We managed to move to a much nicer room but the next day The owner Rob then moved our belongings while we were out without our permission back in to this room after saying he "watched" us breaking the bed from his car.
Luckily another guest in our party left so we swapped in to their room and avoided sleeping in the dangerous bed again. All rooms have a shower and toilet but our shower only did cold or off.

The bar generally stayed open until we all went to bed and they even cooked us all bacons sandwiches and some silly time in the morning, the breakfasts that were included in the price were good. Be warned that this hotel is a good 17 miles from Welshpool a pre booked mini bus cost us 75 quid. Not bad.


All in all a good time and an average place, slightly ruined by our stuff being handled and us being accused of damaging the beds.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

the pub is under new management and the new owner is really giving it a go
the owner let us bring our cat in as the cat comes everywhere with us
the rooms are comfortable and worm.the heating is left on all night in the winter which is very important to me as i have a dicky ticker and my pills make me cold alot of the time
several hotels advertise central heating but only run it for an hour in the evening and an hour in the morning but not when in the night when it is coldest
food is available when you want it and there is a varied menu catering for all tastes and pockets with no set closing time for food
overall including a well kept real ale bar it is excelent value for money

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebekah g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We were staying in some lodges about a mile from this pub. We weren't quite sure what to expect but it looked extremely busy. THe staff were very friendly and there were obviously ocals eating in the restaurant part of the hotel. We both ordered lamb shanks with horseradish mash with roasemary gravy and veg, red cabbage, leeks and carrots. All came out piping hot, gluten free, and absolutely delicious. We would definately recommend eating here if you are in the area. A right little gem.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Liz649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Stayed at the Cann Office quite a few times over the years. It's always been a great place to stay, and recent improvements to the decor have really tidied it up.
Great bunch of folk there, and happy to welcome the Yorkshire twang.
I've seen the odd review saying it was a bit rowdy when the music festival was on. Well to be honest you picked a dumb weekend to stay if you want the usual quiet country pub. Glastonbury is nice I hear, on the same weekend at the end of June :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bikespace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Wales
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I have heard so much about the Cann Office and the cultural events held there over the years. A popular social place attended by some friends in the area.
However, I was slightly disappointed by the lack of Welsh speaking staff. It wasn't the welcome I expected.
However, the food was good. My son enjoyed the burger, my daughter had a massive steak and ale pie and my wife liked the gammon. It was all topped up with a large bowl of chips between us. Excellent.
The place might be under new management. The restaurant had been refurnished nicely. There might be further developments in this place for the future.
Free Wifi was also available. Diolch.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Craffwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We were a it wary after reading some of the reviews, but as we were staying nearby and it was the only place to go for a meal within walking distance we decided to give it a go.
We were the only customers to start with but we went fairly early, four adults and one 7 year old.
The food was fantastic - absolutely spot on. We had between us: steak and ale pie, fish pie, lasagne and a kids fish fingers & chips (cant go wrong with that one anyway!). The portions were decent, the food cooked to perfection and the staff friendly and helpful - can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangadfan
13.4 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Welshpool
632 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
1,479 reviews
3.5 mi away
Dolanog Bed & Breakfast
Dolanog Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 3 in Dolanog
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Belan Bach Lodges
Belan Bach Lodges
#1 of 1 in Llangadfan
101 reviews
9.9 mi away
The New Inn
The New Inn
#1 of 1 in Llangynog
98 reviews
9.3 mi away
Brigands Inn
Brigands Inn
#3 of 12 in Machynlleth
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cann Office Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cann Office Hotel

Property: Cann Office Hotel
Address: Llangadfan SY21 0PL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llangadfan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Llangadfan
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Cann Office Hotel Llangadfan, Powys, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing