We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but crowded” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Koh Samed

Koh Samed
Book In Advance
More Info
US$48.90*
and up
Full-Day Samet Island Including Lunch from Pattaya
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice but crowded”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I stayed in Rayong and visited Koh Samed for a day. It was nice but not one of the wonders of the world.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Phoebe_Logro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    151
    52
    16
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Udon Thani
Level Contributor
143 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Less Foreign Touristy And Great to Place to Relax”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I have Thai family living in Rayong. My wife our three year old son and I were visiting them and decided to take our two nieces age three and six with us to Samet for a couple nights. We were a bit nervous how much fun we’d have with needing to take care of three small children with just the two of us, but turns out it was great and even quite relaxing.

We took the boat ferry from Ban Phe beach in Rayong to Na Dan Pier in Samet. They attempted to sell us a speed boat there for 2,300 baht one way that would go right to the hotel, but boat ferry is only a 20-25 minute ride, the kids were free and adults are 100 baht each way. Once there we did need to take a Satong. They charged us 50 baht per person saying the kids were free if sat in our laps. For the Satong we just paid the 250 baht so everyone could sit on the bench and they took us right to our hotel.

The Na Dan Pier on the Samet side that we arrived at, and later departed at, has some great photo opportunities. One is particular is a female giant of the sea statue in the water at the end of the pier. This is missed if taking the speed boat. Also all around this pier is packed and it was refreshing to see so many Thai travelers. There were only a small handful of western tourists in sight. This is unlike other places in Thailand such areas of Phuket where very few Thai travelers are found. Also most all the staff working around the area was Thai too, which was also refreshing to see.

In our case we stayed at Samed Pavilion Resort, which is a bit more costly than the other hotels. Our reasoning was they offer family rooms that have two very large beds, with separate seating chairs, that are right next to the pool that stays open till 10PM. Breakfast which is amazing is included, and the variety from the room service menu is really good. They also are right on the beach (well maybe 100m walk) and chairs are available there and the beach is quite nice. It also has fire dancers at night, but is very suitable for families. At our hotel there was a mix of both Thai and foreign guests while the staff was all Thai.

As we were traveling with small children and our hotel had most of what we needed right there, we didn’t explore many attractions of the Island, but did a little. When we went here in late April 2014, a lot was under construction. The roads are being widened but rather than being done in sections the entire way across a few beaches had road construction with machinery lining them. It will probably be a much nicer ride in the Satong worth traveling that way as it passes beaches once the construction is complete. Unless in a hurry I recommend this over a speedboat even now.

My opinion of Samet is this is much more a place to relax than a place for all the tourist trap stuff. That’s something I personally really enjoyed.

On the way back the hotel arranged for our ride to the boat ferry for 300 baht and the return was the same price (100 baht * 2 adults). Also we were charged 100 baht per day for parking at Ban Phe beach. All together the travel was very easy to do and it was a relaxing trip even as being just a couple with two three year olds and a six year old.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonsberg, Norway
Level Contributor
137 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Slow life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I spend 3 days at Koh Samed with my wife in april 2014. A perfect getaway if you just want to relax for a few days. Nice beaches, boat trips avaliable. We rented a moped and explored the island. The west coast was totaly recovered from the oil spill. I reccomend the fire show at the beach at 21:00 hours. There is a fee to enter the national park.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanukmak555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great weekend escape island, and close to BKK!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Great place to party, eat, rest or hang out and relax on the weekend... It's within a few hours of Bangkok, and is a great place to spend a few days as a tourist or as a resident of BKK! Perfect swimming beach (nice sand, no rocks or shells), except for the garbage and boats.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mitchell b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Koh Samed still affected by Oil slick Aug 2013?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

I read about the oil slick on the west coast of Koh Samed last year on trip advisor. Have just visited there (April 16th - 23rd 2014). Was worried before travelling, but decided to go as posts from as far back as Aug 2013 were positive that the East Coast was unaffected. We spent most of our time by the pool at our resort. But went down to the beach 3 or 4 times, and played in the sea. On our final day after being in the sea a couple of times that day already, I started to notice little black specks in the sea. There were about 20 or 30 per square metre. Managed to get hold of one. It was definitely oil. Not sure if this is a result of the oil spill last year and was now washing in due to the direction of the tide (as we hadn't seen previously). Although, it could have been from a boat we'd seen earlier that was spewing black fumes. That said, when building sand castles with the kids, I noticed that below the first 3 inches of beautiful white sand, the sand was a dark grey colour. Again, I'm not sure if this is normal or not.

Oil worries aside, I was pretty disgusted by some of the litter being washed up on the shore, and the usual lack of effort by the the Thais to remove it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cufcginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Koh Samed also viewed

Ko Samet, Rayong Province
Ko Samet, Rayong Province
 
Ko Samet, Rayong Province
Ko Samet, Rayong Province
 

Been to Koh Samed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing