We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ao Lung dum, Expensive but private.”
Review of Koh Samed

Koh Samed
Book In Advance
More Info
US$48.90*
and up
Full-Day Samet Island Including Lunch from Pattaya
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ao Lung dum, Expensive but private.”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Samed can be crowded, depending on which bay you go - for those looking for quiet, private beach, try Lung dum bay (Uncle Black Bay), near Sang Thiean Bay (candle light Bay). Good food, decent hotel - but avoid Lung Dum Hut Beach Resort like the plague - it's dirty, toilet smells, and when we arrived, there was no one to greet us, there were contractors working on the resort so we weren't able to check in. Needless to say, we moved to another hotel, costs the same, much better. https://www.facebook.com/Kohsamed.AoLungdum/timeline

After a poor review left on the page, the owner was polite but very defensive.

Lung Dum Bay is a great place to go on weekday, especially if you want quiet beach as it becomes crowded during the weekends and holidays.

If you go to Ao Lung Dum, There's Jellyfish, Apacha - owned by the same family but different family member, right nearby, there's Ao Sang Thien (candle light bay) which is equally quiet and only a three minutes walk from Lung Dum.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Soyploy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    154
    52
    16
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Love the place, love the view, love everything on the island!

Can't wait to go back there, back to the clear water and lovely shower on the beach at night.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PN650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattaya City
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Municipality Pier where you get ferry to Koh Samed”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This place is an absolute disgrace, The beach is covered with plastic and rubbish. Myself and Thai friend were both first time here. It was a hot day, we were tired. We were approached by a lady from Choksununtra speed boats who offered us a speed boat straight away for 900 baht each. We accepted and ended up on a speed boat with 8 other people. The next day my Thai friend phoned the Choksununtra office and asked the price of a ticket to the island, 600 baht.
You can get a large boat that costs about 70 baht and is slow and makes a few stops .
If it is your first time to Municipality Pier, do your home work on the ferries to Koh Samed and cost of same beforehand; watch the speed boat operators; they are pushy, good luck.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank PattayaCityChai115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hosur, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very Good Island to hang on with family”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

excelent place to enjoy your vacation peacefully. Silent admosphere - only creeps of birds and sound of waves from beaches.
perfect place to take a break from noicy city life and work preasure.
A can can place for a nice swim in beach as its almost calm alltime.
I stayed in Vong Deuan Resort, a good place to trust with.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stalin_ODC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“PEACE”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

if u need to relax... then yes that's the place.
me n my husband went there before pattaya. and had the best of time.
beer on the beach with some massage n hair plaits cheaper than any where in thailand.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SnehMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Koh Samed also viewed

Ko Samet, Rayong Province
Ko Samet, Rayong Province
 
Ko Samet, Rayong Province
Ko Samet, Rayong Province
 

Been to Koh Samed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing