We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot to relax”
Review of Agriturismo Tholos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agriturismo Tholos
Ranked #1 of 4 Roccamorice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Had a two day stay in June 2013. Room very adequate for my daughter and I. Thought the cost of the room was a good value. Owners helpful and knowledgable about the area. Told us about a good hiking location and even lent us their map. Also volunteered to help with some genealogical research. Country around Tholos is very rugged with deep canyons. Roads allow for a nice stroll through the woods and fields with views of the mountains. Ate one dinner there which we enjoyed. No wifi but it is a short ride to town and a bar with free wifi.Worth a return visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RogerA301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2013

You really get a strong sense of the importance of this working farm to the family that has been running it as an agriturismo for 20 years. Our hosts delighted in introducing us to the produce of the farm (rare grains, such as solina and spelt, and fresh goat's milk and cheese) and the finest cuisine of Abruzzo. There are quiet walks in the local woods and on the country lanes that lead into the mountains (some are waymarked trails) and we enjoyed finding orchids and other unusual wild flowers. At night as you return to your room from dinner you can hear the night sounds of owls, insects and frogs. Beautiful!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank And1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

A real working farm, growing their own grains, pasturing their own goats, a charming and helpful host, fantastic meals, a comfortable quiet room, spectacular hiking.
The areas around Roccamorice and the mountains above are heaven on earth. Go there. Stay at Tholos. Opt for half board.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WashingtonMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

If you are looking to relax, enjoy some great food and spend time with nature, then this is the place for you.

I can't say enough good things about this place. The price is reasonable for what you get. About 45 euros a person for a clean bed, your own bathroom, breakfast and dinner. And the dinner is INCREDIBLE. Everything is home cooked - they go so far as to mill their own grain to make their pasta. They have their own goats to make their cheese, etc.

I have had the luxury of eating at many "top" restaurants, and 9 days out of 10 i would swap any 5 star meal for a dinner at this Agriturismo. Mind you, you don't have much choice when it comes to the menu - actually you have little or no choice, but that is because they have been working all day on the dinner and only use what they can find fresh that day.

The Agriturismo has a small farm and they encourage kids to interact with the animals; this, a ping-pong table and some swings are what they have for entertainment. So if you have kids, you will have to go explore and look for other things to do as well.

We'll be going back for sure!

4  Thank Paolo_in_Toscana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
133
Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Virginia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Andrea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roccamorice
4.6 mi away
Resort Regis
Resort Regis
#1 of 1 in Turrivalignani
219 reviews
20.4 mi away
Agriturismo Cignale
Agriturismo Cignale
#1 of 6 in Penne
118 reviews
1.5 mi away
Agriturismo Il Portone
Agriturismo Il Portone
#1 of 4 in Abbateggio
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
La Reserve Hotel Terme Centro Benessere
La Reserve Hotel Terme Centro Be...
#1 of 9 in Caramanico Terme
550 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Tholos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Tholos

Address: Via Collarso 105 | Parco Majella, 65020 Roccamorice, Italy
Region: Italy > Abruzzo > Province of Pescara > Roccamorice
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Roccamorice
Price Range: £68 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located at 700 meters above sea level surrounded by the green of the Majella National Park , also known as the " Tibet of Italy." Tholos is the name we have chosen for the farm in honor of the authentic specimen that greets us on arrival. Stone by hand , great blunders , " Lammie " barrel , and then again the round arches , niches ... Are the frame of the two restored houses , leaving intact the characteristics of time that was ... Impressive three dining rooms, a spacious porch and six rooms are the result . Our farm is a family organic and stretches over 10 hectares, cultivated mainly in wheat, spelled Solina , lentils , chickpeas, with an orchard of ancient indigenous varieties . We raise goats and sheep, from which we obtain excellent dairy products. On the farm we sell spelled pasta , pasta wheat Solina , spelled flour , flour Solina , Solina cakes , spelled beans , barley porridge , cream cheese , goat cheese and ricotta cheeses , breads, jams and preserves. Particular care ingredients and a great passion for cooking are the pride of the farm. The pastas are homemade with flour ancient : sagne , ropes chiochie , the taccozze , the ravioli , the guitar , the pasta , crepes with ricotta and mushrooms. Among the meat lamb, sheep , kid , the black pig , rabbit, chicken. The cheeses are never lacking , the result of all the work on the farm. You can find fresh and aged pecorino cheese , the ricotta cheese made ​​with goat's milk , curd , cream cheese , cottage cheese, or to taste while still hot with sugar and cinnamon. Herbs such as borage , cacigni , Matroni , orapi , chicory mixed acacia flowers and rose petals, enrich the table . Among the desserts the Parrozzo , the nevole made ​​with the distinctive hand-forged iron , jam tarts with the company , the sweet fruit . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Agriturismo Tholos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing