We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and hospitality”

The Oak Tree Restaurant Mayobridge Golf Club
Ranked #17 of 125 Restaurants in Newry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$47
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Oak Tree Restaurant at Mayobridge Golf Club is a family owned business, it offers our customers top quality food in a beautiful countryside location. A little bit about our team. Our Head Chef Chris Gribben joined the team in December 2016 and his dishes are well all about the taste, he uses the best quality local beef, poultry and fish to create an array of beautiful dishes. Our Sous Chef Sean Chambers has a superb knowledge of ingredients and how to cook them that belies his youthful age, he has been part of the team for over 4 years, this young chef continues to gather a wealth of skills ,experience and confidence from his new mentor Chris.
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Great food and hospitality. Lovely clean comfortable surroundings. Bar staff very helpful and courteous. Will be back very soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kieran110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
There are newer reviews for The Oak Tree Restaurant Mayobridge Golf Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

54 - 58 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

We popped in on St. Patricks evening at 7pm. I had phoned ahead and was told it was fine to come down. I had read the reviews and was excited. There was a limited menu, as it was a bank holiday but there was still enough to choose from. We both went for steak. We did wait a long time for food but we noticed there was only one waiter doing everything, so we accepted he was doing his best. We did not receive the excellent service others had experienced at this restaurant on this occasion.

When the food came I was gutted, the presentation was very unappetising. Both steaks were wrongly cooked and very overdone (we had ordered rare and a medium rare) there were no crispy onions, as advertised and the veg was one floret of broccoli, 3 large chunks or carrot and 2 large chunks of turnip, with some random cooked celery thrown in. The pepper sauce however, was lovely and by far the best bit.
It was impossible to get the attention of the very busy waiter, we also wondered how long we would wait if we sent the food back. I kept waiting for the waiter to ask us how things were etc but this didn't happen. So we ate what we got and left feeling disgruntled about paying £16 for such a shoddy meal.

I have no doubt other people have had a great experience here but we really didn't and it would take a lot to make me return or encourage anyone else to. It's a shame, as others have obviously paid what we did and had great service, well cooked food and a nice experience but unfortunately not us.

4  Thank murphs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golfstar22, Manager at The Oak Tree Restaurant Mayobridge Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review, i am obviously gutted that you did not enjoy your evening with us, and will be passing on your comments to the staff, it can sometimes be difficult to judge staff needs when based in the countryside on bank holidays and i obviously misjudged this particular day. But that is what Trip Advisor is all about, so that we can take note and try to do better next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I love this restaurant it is warm and welcoming a huge fire is usually burning bright in winter lovely to sit beside and have a drink. The restaurant and staff are lovely they help in every way. We drive out from Newrycity but it worth the journey we have had a few family gettogethers and enjoyed our food and drinks.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NewryCityFoxylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Theres not much that needs said in this review other than the title!! went for an evening meal for two on sunday! The place was packed with customer's ! ... both bar and restaurant. I had no booking but they quickly made us up a table and was placed in the restaurant within SECONDS!! Superb waiting staff!! The setting was absolutely beautiful and we had our starters order's taking very quickly. I had the piri piri praws and can i just say ive never tasted anything like them! PERFECT! The other starter was a chicken pate which i could have ordered myself aswell! the taste was just to die for! Didnt have to wait long like most places we go to! done within 5 mins of ordering!! The presentation of the starters and the taste in my opinion was just top class!! Swiftly followed the main courses!! I had The big 12oz steak M. and the other main was a sea bass!! The presentation and taste on both dishes was Spectacular!! and again out within min's. bare in mind this was a very busy time for both the chefs and staff, with other big party tables in the restaurant! We washed all that down with a lovely bottol of house wine!... then came the dessert!! who ever makes them must be an artist in the kitchen!! A cappuccino parfait and i asked for a cheese bored.... along with the wine lol... then came the bill and i was diffidently shocked!! shocked to see how reasonable the total price was!! absolutely a great value for money and we will most certainly be back .... with plenty more people! mabey just book next time lol.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank newrylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Very warm and welcoming, tasty menu at reasonable price.

Steak was excellent

Plenty of sides, vegetables fresh and good variety

Will be back!

Thank royalgirl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Oak Tree Restaurant Mayobridge Golf Club also viewed

Newry, County Down
Newry, County Down
Newry, County Down

Been to The Oak Tree Restaurant Mayobridge Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing