We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, excellent service, would definitely go back!”

The Oak Tree Restaurant Mayobridge Golf Club
Ranked #9 of 135 Restaurants in Newry
Price range: US$7 - US$46
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Oak Tree Restaurant at Mayobridge Golf Club is a family owned business, it offers our customers top quality food in a beautiful countryside location. A little bit about our team. Our Head Chef Chris Gribben joined the team in December 2016 and his dishes are well all about the taste, he uses the best quality local beef, poultry and fish to create an array of beautiful dishes. Our Sous Chef Sean Chambers has a superb knowledge of ingredients and how to cook them that belies his youthful age, he has been part of the team for over 4 years, this young chef continues to gather a wealth of skills ,experience and confidence from his new mentor Chris.
Reviewed 3 February 2018 via mobile

Third time here and the food gets better each time! Staff are so welcoming and helpful and the quick service is second to none! Great atmosphere in the front bar and the restaurant is equally quiet and relaxing. Would definitely return again!

Thank NatalieM3812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane f, Owner at The Oak Tree Restaurant Mayobridge Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Thanks for taking the time to post such a positive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2017

My first time eating here and it will not be the last. We were there for a family christening and the welcome we got was great. The restaurant had made personalized menus which was a lovely touch. I had the squid starter and it was amazing would highly recommend it, For mains i had the roast beef it was just to die for the meat just mealted in the mouth it came with pepper sauce and it was just the right heat. The restaurant itself was clean warm and the toilets were spotless.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sanlewis7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shane f, Owner at The Oak Tree Restaurant Mayobridge Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Thanks so much for taking the time to post such a great review, hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Went yesterday for lunch and it was fabulous. For starters we had red snapper in a thai broth - magnifique, whilst my brother in law had the brie and he was very impressed. For mains I had seafood risotto - oh my word how lovely was this dish. My sister and brother in law had the turkey and ham and were they happy campers. As an extra treat we chose apple and ginger sponge yummy. Thank you everyone for making our Sunday lunch so so special.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cara1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golfstar22, Owner at The Oak Tree Restaurant Mayobridge Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

The team here at Mayobridge Golf Club and the oak tree restaurant wish to thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review, our head chef Chris Gribben has created some wonderful new dishes in our new Autumn / Winter menu, keep spreading the word, Steak nights now run Thursday & Friday evenings , Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Excellent in every aspect, buzzing with ambience, warmth and craic. Well deserving of rating, staff all relaxed and pleasant.

Thank Nicky O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golfstar22, Owner at The Oak Tree Restaurant Mayobridge Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thanks Nicky for taking the time to post a great review, hope to see you again soon and will pass on to all the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

I'm only back from this absolute gem of a restaurant/ pub. All the food was excellent my chicken in a leek and cream sauce was very tasty and my parents had gorgeous slow cooked beef in a spinach and pepper cream sauce. The veg was very fresh and my kids dinners were excellent too. I will be back

Thank VictoriaSherlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golfstar22, Owner at The Oak Tree Restaurant Mayobridge Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thanks Victoria for the great review, really appreciate it when customers take the time out to post such positive reviews, will pass on your feedback to all the team, thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Oak Tree Restaurant Mayobridge Golf Club also viewed

 
Newry, County Down
Newry, County Down
 
Newry, County Down
 

Been to The Oak Tree Restaurant Mayobridge Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing