We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hillside Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
48
4
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
4
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2013

If you want a quiet, rural setting just out of Newry and a great host, clean good sized rooms and a very good breakfast then go no further than Hillside B&B. Blair made us very welcome, gave us all the directions we needed regarding an afternoon drive and suggestions for an evening meal. Overall a most enjoyable overnight stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bolindaduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blairvernon, Owner at Hillside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Thank you very much for the kind review Robert.

I'm pleased that you enjoyed your time here.

It was a pleasure having both yourself and Anne to stay.

I hope the rest of the trip goes well.

Best Wishes To You Both

Blair

PS Hope Anne's back is feeling better soon ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Loved the size of our rooms and the location. The views from our rooms we will never forget. Thank you Blair for looking after us in such a caring way. Really enjoyed our breakfasts. We left feeling we had made a new friend.

Room Tip: Our rooms looked over the hills towards Newry - the views were fantastic
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blairvernon, Owner at Hillside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Thanks so much Helen, its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

It was good meeting and getting to know you - its not the same without you guys here - breakfasts are so much quieter !!!

I hope the rest of your trip goes well and you have a safe journey home.

Thanks again - Best Wishes - Blair

PS I think your email may be full/faulty as had an email bounce back ;-(

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Blair made the stay the best. Friendly and helpful. Irish fry breakfast very good
Lovely, quiet place 5 -10 minutes from Newry... close to Banbridge for another shopping location
We would recommend this place to anyone who needs a quiet getaway , yet still wants easy access to Newry and surrounding area

Room Tip: front of the house
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blairvernon, Owner at Hillside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Thanks for the review Geoff, its very kind of you.

It was a real pleasure having you and Sheree to stay. Thanks for the photos they are smashing - Sheree looks lovely but Im not sure about the fella standing next to her !

I hope you enjoyed the rest of the trip and the journey home was a good one.

Thanks once again.

All The Best , Blair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Trip with my wife, my father and his girlfriend. The B&B is in the beautiful countryside not far from Newry. The rooms are modern and cosy. The breakfast is perfect. Blair is really friendly and available.

Room Tip: Ask one room with view on the countryside
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Safariway87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blairvernon, Owner at Hillside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2013

Hi Bastain

Thanks so much for the review, Im glad you all enjoyed your taste of Northern Ireland.

I enjoted meeting you and your family (it was nice to have my first visitors from Switzerland) and hearing you all talking together in French made me feel like it was me on holiday ;-)

Best Wishes

Blair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Great location, away from the busy crowds.
Blair is a great host, very attentive, nothing was too much trouble.
Hillside was really clean, home from home.
When we left Blair waved us off from the front door, just like an old friend would. Nice touch Blair, nearly made us cry.

Room Tip: Just tell Blair want you need.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blairvernon, Owner at Hillside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Thanks Paul

Im glad you and the family enjoyed your stay with us. It was a genuine pleasure meeting you all and I especially enjoyed our "coddled eggs vs eggs benedict" discussions !! Looking forward to welcoming you all back soon.


Best wishes


Blair

PS I hope the tears were because you were sad to leave not tears of joy !!!!! ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews