We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit - tried the spa this time .....Bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This is my second review of this fantastic hotel. The staff really make this hotel - they are so lovely, welcoming, hardworking, accommodating and above all else true professionals. The hotel is one of the busiest I've stayed in, there is always something going on, whether it be events, functions, live music, family gatherings etc.....and although it is busy, the staff still ensure you feel like their special guests and nothing is too much trouble. The spa in glorious - had a facial treatment from Kelly and it was wonderful. I will always book a treatment here when staying in the future. Great food and great service.

Room Tip: Have a treatment at the Spa
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanetBagnall, Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay! We are delighted you had the chance to use our CC Spa, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Canal Court Hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards
Mrs Janet Bagnall
johare@canalcourthotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,006)
There are newer reviews for Canal Court Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

611 - 617 of 1,006 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night a family of 4...I couldn't fault this hotel whatsoever....it was absolutely spotless...the staff couldn't have did enough for you and the food was fabulous. ...very reasonable prices for top class food....spa was brilliant great hot tub and jacuzzi and pool was great size....I am only back and am going to book another stay ASAP!!!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank IrelandEmma1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanetBagnall, Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay! We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Canal Court Hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards
Mrs Janet Bagnall
johare@canalcourthotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Really enjoyed this place, friendly staff and a great location as well as lovely premises. Although the weather wasn't great the place and the people made up for that. I shall be back next year with the family!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
Thank Carl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanetBagnall, Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Canal Court Hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards
Mrs Janet Bagnall
johare@canalcourthotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I had a great 2 nights stay in hotel, staff were fantastic and so helpful nothing was a problem to them. Carvery is great. I would go back and stay in this hotel again.The rooms were lovely and big, spotless and the tea and biscuits were renew each day.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanetBagnall, Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Dear Guest
Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay & we appreciate very much your kind comments and detailed review. We do aim to provide a relaxing & comfortable "home away from home" for guests and It is nice to learn you enjoyed the various aspects of your stay.
I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and if I can ever be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me at anytime,

Kindest Regards
Mrs Janet Bagnall
johare@canalcourthotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This review refers specifically to the midweek carvery lunch in the hotel's Granary Bar. Often, on this island, the carvery lunch can be a real hit-or-miss sort of affair, but not at this hotel! When in Newry we stop here for lunch whenever we get the chance, and it has been consistently good for over a decade that we know of. Efficient service; large selection on the daily menu, very good value, very good ambience. Always clean and welcoming!

Room Tip: Try to arrive before 1:00 or the queue can get long at the carvery. Also, parking is tight in this t...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drumraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanetBagnall, Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Dear Guest
Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Granary Bar - Carvery Lunch, we appreciate very much your kind comments. Carvery is served daily an offers a wide range of roast meat selection, fish & vegetarian options served with vegetables & potatoes, as well as a salad bar.
I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and if I can ever be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me at anytime,

Kindest Regards
Mrs Janet Bagnall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We had a great stay at this hotel and will be going back.The only thing I found a bit disappointing was after reading other reviews I noticed most of the people celebrating 80th Birthdays received banners ,flowers and a cake.We went for a two night stay to celebrate my sisters birthday and our mothers 80th Birthday.Some people celebrating anniversary even got an upgrade!,My Mother and sister got a banner.Surely what you do for one you should do for all?As for staff and service you are all 5stars.

Room Tip: We stayed in room206 facing car park and didnt hear any noise.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sharonniamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanetBagnall, Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Dear Guest
Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay & we appreciate very much your kind comments and detailed review. We do aim to provide a relaxing & comfortable stay for all Our guests.
In regards to Birthdays, Anniversary's & Special Occassions - we provide Occassion Banners on the doors & if dining in the Restaurant if we are aware that it is a special occassion we will bring out a birthday dessert etc. In regards to cakes, wine & flowers we can certainly arrange these for guests at an additional charge.
I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and if I can ever be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me at anytime,

Kind Regards
Mrs Janet Bagnall
johare@canalcourthotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

can not understand some of the negative comments about this hotel we stayed from tuesday until thursday in october the staff were fantastic they made you feel special, nothing was to much trouble, when we went for breakfast in the morning we were greeted and shown to a table our order taken , then asked if we need anything else , the breakfast set us up for the day , we had our evening meal there to , and could find no fault the same excellent service, the deserts were also very good, the rooms were lovely and big, spotless the tea and biscuits were renew every day, would stay there again with out a moments thought thinking of going for a week next year ,as we could not enjoy all the facilities as we were there for a family members funeral, we had to change our flights and the lady on reception helped to print our new boarded passes out well done for having such caring and helpful staff

Room Tip: we had a room over looking the canal ,
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunbeam47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanetBagnall, Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Dear Guest
Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay & we appreciate very much your kind comments. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and if I can ever be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me at anytime,
Kind Regards
Mrs Janet Bagnall
johare@canalcourthotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newry
5.3 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#1 of 8 in Dundalk
710 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mourne Country Hotel
6.5 mi away
The Whistledown Hotel
The Whistledown Hotel
#1 of 3 in Warrenpoint
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
10.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
306 reviews
18.5 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal Court Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Court Hotel & Spa

Address: Merchant's Quay, Newry BT35 8HF, Northern Ireland (Formerly Canal Court Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newry
Price Range: £88 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal Court Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning 4* Canal Court Hotel & Spa nestled in the heart of Newry City and sits on the banks of Ireland's Oldest Manmade Canal. The Canal Court Hotel and Spa is a proud Irish hotel with an emphasis on service and tradition. The hotel boasts 112 bedrooms including a Penthouse Suite, Superior and Ambassador Suites along with family suites and standard bedrooms. All rooms have private safes & suites have Jacuzzi baths & mini bars with air conditioning in most rooms throughout the hotel. Wheelchair accessible rooms are available as well. The hotel boasts the award winning CC Spa with a full range of Spa / Beauty treatments available using the Germaine de Cappucini Product range. Along-side CC Spa is our Leisure Complex with a full 20m swimming pool studios and full gym with a full strength and conditioning area. The Granary Bar has numerous outlets to it including our Mezzanine Cocktail bar, our Gin Bar and our local Craft Beer Bar with live music every Friday, Saturday and Sunday (FREE Entry). For a more relaxing drink, we have the Merchants Bar with views over the Canal and fountains. For dining, you will never go hungry at the Canal Court Hotel with a number of dining options / outlets to choose from including our Old Mill Restaurant with a strong focus on local, Irish produce and fresh ingredients. The Old Mill is open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner with an Early Bird served 7 days a week 5.30pm to 7pm. We also have the Granary Bar and Grill which serves our legendary Carvery 7 days a week from 12 noon and Bar Food served everyday from 3.30pm. We also serve traditional afternoon tea 7days a week - no booking required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Canal Court Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Court Newry
Hotel Canal Court
Canal Court Hotel Newry
Canal Court Hotel & Spa Newry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing