We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large room, helpful staff, but noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We checked in for one night - a Saturday - and were allocated a room on the first floor close to what turned out to be the venue for a wedding reception. The hotel is to be commended on the levels of insulation achieved with the glazing as we could not hear anything from outside, however, the noise levels from the corridor and room next door were significant. The corridor noise was not helped by the door to the room having a full one inch gap under the door so every conversation that was had by guests of the wedding in the corridors could be heard, as could the closing of every door - the door assisters could do with adjustment perhaps? We had a very disturbed night in a large well appointed room! There also seemed to be a perennial issue with the car park as the hotel is also a night club (of which nothing could be heard from the room). The staff were helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask if there is a wedding or function and if so get a room as far away as possible! A view over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevescnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,032)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

596 - 602 of 1,032 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

Very pleasant attentive staff, from the warm welcome at reception, the chamber maids, the waiters & waitresses at dinner and the extremely efficient bar staff it doesn't get much better.
The evening meal in the old mill restaurant simply delicious and the breakfast the following morning as good as it gets. My wife and I stayed here several times and will definitely be back.
Credit where credit is due the management of this hotel run a well oiled machine and this is reflected in the great frontline staff you have.

Room Tip: Just ask staff they will look after yourvrequirements
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desmondwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanetBagnall, Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Mr Woods,
Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay & we appreciate very much your kind comments and detailed review. We do aim to provide a relaxing & comfortable "home away from home" for guests and It is nice to learn you enjoyed the various aspects of your stay.
I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and if I can ever be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me at anytime,
Kind Regards
Mrs Janet Bagnall
Deputy GM
johare@canalcourthotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed here for one night with my husband on the shop till you drop deal, it was fantastic value, one night in a gorgeous double room, an evening meal, bottle of wine on our arrival and to top it off a £50 voucher for the nearby buttercrane shopping center! We had a brillant evening and would stay again

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roisin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanetBagnall, Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Roisin,
Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay & we appreciate very much your kind comments. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and if I can ever be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me at anytime,
Kind Regards
Mrs Janet Bagnall
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here while visiting family in the area. I will return next year. Room was clean and staff was exceptional. It does get quite busy with a younger crowd on Saturday nights in the bar but it's not bothersome. Hotel is very convenient to bus station (shuttle bus runs from newry train station after every enterprise train). Close to shopping and restaurants.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank thomasjmcginnis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanetBagnall, Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Guest
Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay & we appreciate very much your kind comments. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and if I can ever be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me at anytime,
Kind Regards
Janet Bagnall
Deputy GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I stayed in canal court last weekend with 5 other female friends on the one night spa break offer and came away feeling completely satisfied with our night away. The offer itself was great value for money, we experienced great food, with a fantastic menu to suit all tastes, helpful and pleasant staff and a very relaxing treatment. The lovely ladies that work in the spa even went as far to set up a surpise cake and fizzy strawberry wine for the twins birthday. A unique touch which made the girls day. The hotel itself as a welcoming,friendly atmosphere, I myself have stayed in quite a few hotels across the north and this is one of the best I have stayed in, so good I am booking another stay for next month. Canal Court should be boasting a 5 star reputation!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nfionn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanetBagnall, Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay & we appreciate very much your kind comments. Delighted that we could make the birthday celebration even more special! I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and if I can ever be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me at anytime,

Kind Regards
Janet Bagnall
Deputy GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We where awakened at 7:45am Saturday morning to the lovely sound off workmen shouting at each other and sawing block, if you are getting a room here do not take a room at the front off the hotel. I am sure the new walkway will look nice when finished but until then we shall be staying clear off this hotel..

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anthony m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanetBagnall, Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your review & I am sorry to learn of the noise issues that could be heard from your bedroom. Unfortunately road works & pavement maintenance are out of our control but we certainly could have offered you an alternative bedroom at the back of the hotel. Hopefully this experience will not deter you from revisiting and if I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate in contacting me.

Kind Regards
Mrs Janet Bagnall
Deputy General Manager
johare@canalcourthotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

my partner and I had a meal in the restaurant the food was just fantastic , the staff where absolutely brilliant , they could not do enough for you , but where not in your face . just to finish a perfect evening they had a piano player in the upstairs bar , yes just unreal . well done to all the staff in the canal court

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojob605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanetBagnall, Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your experience. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable visit and hope to welcome you back to The Canal Court Hotel & Spa soon.
Kind Regards
Janet Bagnall
Deputy GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newry
5.3 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#2 of 8 in Dundalk
733 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mourne Country Hotel
6.5 mi away
The Whistledown Hotel
The Whistledown Hotel
#1 of 3 in Warrenpoint
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
336 reviews
13.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
10.0 mi away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal Court Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Court Hotel & Spa

Address: Merchant's Quay, Newry BT35 8HF, Northern Ireland (Formerly Canal Court Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newry
Price Range: £84 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal Court Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning 4* Canal Court Hotel & Spa nestled in the heart of Newry City and sits on the banks of Ireland's Oldest Manmade Canal. The Canal Court Hotel and Spa is a proud Irish hotel with an emphasis on service and tradition. The hotel boasts 112 bedrooms including a Penthouse Suite, Superior and Ambassador Suites along with family suites and standard bedrooms. All rooms have private safes & suites have Jacuzzi baths & mini bars with air conditioning in most rooms throughout the hotel. Wheelchair accessible rooms are available as well. The hotel boasts the award winning CC Spa with a full range of Spa / Beauty treatments available using the Germaine de Cappucini Product range. Along-side CC Spa is our Leisure Complex with a full 20m swimming pool studios and full gym with a full strength and conditioning area. The Granary Bar has numerous outlets to it including our Mezzanine Cocktail bar, our Gin Bar and our local Craft Beer Bar with live music every Friday, Saturday and Sunday (FREE Entry). For a more relaxing drink, we have the Merchants Bar with views over the Canal and fountains. For dining, you will never go hungry at the Canal Court Hotel with a number of dining options / outlets to choose from including our Old Mill Restaurant with a strong focus on local, Irish produce and fresh ingredients. The Old Mill is open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner with an Early Bird served 7 days a week 5.30pm to 7pm. We also have the Granary Bar and Grill which serves our legendary Carvery 7 days a week from 12 noon and Bar Food served everyday from 3.30pm. We also serve traditional afternoon tea 7days a week - no booking required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Canal Court Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Court Newry
Hotel Canal Court
Canal Court Hotel Newry
Canal Court Hotel & Spa Newry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing