We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overrated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newry
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

It is a very nice hotel and our room was very big and the bed very comfortable but the food and the service let it down. Admittedly there was a function on the night we stayed but we waited 70 minutes to be seated in the restaurant!!. That whole system of guests being told where to sit in the foyer before they can enter the dining room needs an overhaul - I wanted to sit by the window and the waiter who wanted us to sit elsewhere was not amused !!. They come very promptly to take drink orders but we waited ages for the menu and ages more to be shown into the dining room, where there was only a handful of tables occupied, so why the long wait. Had it not been at the end of a long & busy week sightseeing we would have gone elsewhere. The situation in the bar was equally bazaar - there was a guy using a very bad microphone doing some sort of fundraising auction. We couldn't understand much of what he said but he was loud and people cheered and clapped at times. It was probably a good local cause but did it have to be in the main bar in the hotel?. The breakfast was a similar fiasco - "no madam you must wait to be seated " ! Again very few people in the dining room so why could we not walk in, find a seat and have our juice or whatever until someone was ready to take our order. The breakfast display was ok but no more than that - orange juice almost empty, fruit a bit tired looking, long wait for coffee refill, no enough toast but the cooked breakfast was fairly ok. The staff seemed rushed and pre occupied so maybe they had another function on, but as none of them had time to speak to us we will never know. Comparing the Canal Court to hotels in Ireland we have stayed in over the past few years I dont know why it is rated 4 star. I certainly dont think we got value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnGalway_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    243
    61
    38
    29
See reviews for
243
276
27
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Back again as in area on business. Stayed here before with no complaints at all.
Lovely building, clean and very pleasant staff.
Large comfortable room.
Excellent restaurant and great value for money.
Wouldn't stop anywhere else if in the area.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
banbridge
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Myself and wife ate here recently. Food beautiful and service top class. Will be returning. Parking was great as they have there own car park. Nothing was a problem for our server on the evening. Only complaint we would make was we ordered a jug of water and waited quite some time on it to come to table, and when it did it had no ice and didn't taste very fresh. But apart from this brilliant. Dinning experience. Lovely hotel tastfully decorated.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank malley56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
522 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I stayed here lately with a group of people from Israel (I am a tour guide). In their evaluation of the tour most of them mentioned the stay in Canal Court as the most enjoyable among the 8 hotels we stayed in , in Ireland.
Warm welcome. lovely staff, Great food and excellent rooms - Can you ask for more?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nadi O o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed here as part of a family wedding.
The Good
- Fantastic food, one of the best I have had at a wedding
- Spacious rooms with good facilities
- Free Wifi
- Very friendly staff
- Drink prices not as bad as you would think
- Free Parking

Could be improved
- Lifts are a little confusing when getting to your floor.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkPeteD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for our first anniversary. As I was 8 months pregnant we needed some where close to home so decided canal court was a good idea.
We stayed Friday and Saturday night. We got breakfast included which was so tasty and fresh. It was not a buffi which I was delighted with.
Staff in every section of the hotel were friendly, helpful and efficient. Could not ask for anything more. Hot tub outside and swimming pool also great. Need swimming hat although can buy them there. Within walking distance to shops - great shop for woman called Berling !! Defs worth a visit!!! :-)
Overall great stay and great city / town!!

Thanks canal court !

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank emmaoc1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We had dinner there on Saturday 05.07.2014. I got the chicken coujons and my wife had the curry. We were waiting around 25 mins and when the food came out it wasnt worth waiting for. The rice in my wives curry was rock hard and she was not able to eat it. My coujons where like rubber, if had have threw them on the floor they would have bounced right back up. Not worth the price we paid and I doubt we'll be back any time soon.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank Ciaran F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newry
5.3 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#1 of 8 in Dundalk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mourne Country Hotel
13.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carlingford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
10.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
18.5 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal Court Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Court Hotel & Spa

Property: Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Address: Merchant's Quay, Newry BT35 8HF, Northern Ireland (Formerly Canal Court Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal Court Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning 4* Canal Court Hotel & Spa nestled in the heart of Newry City and sits on the banks of Ireland's Oldest Manmade Canal. The Canal Court Hotel and Spa is a proud Irish hotel with an emphasis on service and tradition. The hotel boasts 112 bedrooms including a Penthouse Suite, Superior and Ambassador Suites along with family suites and standard bedrooms. All rooms have private safes & suites have Jacuzzi baths & mini bars with air conditioning in most rooms throughout the hotel. Wheelchair accessible rooms are available as well. The hotel boasts the award winning CC Spa with a full range of Spa / Beauty treatments available using the Germaine de Cappucini Product range. Along-side CC Spa is our Leisure Complex with a full 20m swimming pool studios and full gym with a full strength and conditioning area. The Granary Bar has numerous outlets to it including our Mezzanine Cocktail bar, our Gin Bar and our local Craft Beer Bar with live music every Friday, Saturday and Sunday (FREE Entry). For a more relaxing drink, we have the Merchants Bar with views over the Canal and fountains. For dining, you will never go hungry at the Canal Court Hotel with a number of dining options / outlets to choose from including our Old Mill Restaurant with a strong focus on local, Irish produce and fresh ingredients. The Old Mill is open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner with an Early Bird served 7 days a week 5.30pm to 7pm. We also have the Granary Bar and Grill which serves our legendary Carvery 7 days a week from 12 noon and Bar Food served everyday from 3.30pm. We also serve traditional afternoon tea 7days a week - no booking required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Canal Court Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Court Newry
Hotel Canal Court
Canal Court Hotel Newry
Canal Court Hotel & Spa Newry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing