We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will definitely return!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canal Court Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newry
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Will definitely return!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

This was a last minute booking, tacked on the end of a short holiday. We'd had a terrible experience the night before in Ballycastle in the Marine Hotel, so we had nearly just given up and driven straight home. I'm so glad we didn't! We booked the deal which was offering the room, breakfast and an evening meal. When my husband rang to book, he asked if it would be possible to have use of the leisure facilities, to which he was told we'd be welcome to use the pool etc as much as we liked.
The room we booked was a double room with a King sized bed (great for little children who decide to join you in the middle of the night!) with a comfortable camp style bed for our son. The room was sufficiently spacious that having the camp bed up didn't make it feel in any way cramped.
The shower was amazing; great pressure and seemingly endless hot water. The bathroom and bedroom were spotless, and had all the usual conveniences, down to an iron and little ironing board.
The leisure centre was lovely; the lockers needed 20p to lock but the guy at reception did tell us and made sure we had change before we went in which I thought was a lovely touch.
The food was nice; the restaurant was lovely and the waiting staff was excellent. The girl who served us was training and made a minor error and a senior member of staff pointed it out, in a lovely manner, and came back to us to explain the girl was just training. What I loved about this was she complimented the waitress on how well she was doing and how fast she was learning, as opposed to blaming her for the (in fairness, tiny) mistake. I loved the fact that they were so supportive of each other.
The breakfast was one of the better we had on this break; hot food was ordered so there was no long buffet style situation where things were drying out, and there was a great selection of cereals, yoghurts, fruit, cooked meats and pastries.
The staff in every instance were fantastic; they stroke that lovely balance between extremely professional, yet very friendly.
All in all, the experience was completely positive from beginning to end. We will definitely be coming back, and would highly recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 123, which was at the end of a corridor, so only one room beside us. It was very q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    240
    59
    37
    27
See reviews for
238
264
24
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed there as part of a wedding. There was a slight mix up on arrival over not being able to find my booking, probably more so to do with the fact it was booked as part of a large wedding party and it was resolved quickly in the end.

The rooms were great, very spacious and comfortable.
The wedding went off without a hitch and the function room was decorated really nicely.

All the staff were very friendly.

There is a residents bar but that closed at 4am.

We didn't make the breakfast (see above comment) but we had lunch, an awesome carvery for £10 per head.

It's a bit hard to find the hotel if you don't know the area, and it's not easy to find your way back to a main road once you leave if you don't know the way (I was minus sat nav), the car park is also quite busy and you are not guaranteed a space, but there is nearby cheap parking as an alternative.

The lifts and stairs set up is a bit confusing, some lifts go to some floors and some don't, and not all stairs seem to go all the way. There is probably a simple system but we (and various members of the party) never grasped it.

Overall my quibbles are very minor and more of an FYI. This place is first class and well worth a visit (or a wedding!)

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seanfc78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel with great Irish ambience directly across from the bus station (direct buses from Dublin and Belfast airports and local towns). The rooms are spacious and they have AC! The dining room is fantastic the manager Mary is amazing. I had a wonderful family celebration that Mary helped me with. My only comment is that the younger wait staff is inexperienced which affects the service in the bar and dining room. I highly recommend the hotel

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolandIra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

First visit to Canal Court Hotel, Newry, but definitely won't be the last. A super hotel with exceptional staff. Rooms were fantastic and very comfortable. Food through the hotels bars and restaurants was excellent and fabulous value for money. The customer service by staff throughout the hotel was impeccable. Also has the benefit of very good leisure facilities - including outdoor hot tub. Very small gripe - having to wear a bathing hat (which if everyone had been wearing one would not have been an issue at all). I will definitely visit this lovely hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank almarbelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Well worth the trip from Belfast, this carvery was amazing and great value for money. For just £10 you can fill your plate with a main course and feel very satisfied. The selection of meats is as expected but the salad bar was a pleasant surprise. Other courses and beverages are extra but also good value. The atmosphere is busy. We arrived on a big football match day and the restaurant was crowded yet the service was quick and very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank will1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We visited the Canal Court for a midweek summer special! We stayed with a very hyper 5 year old and the staff could not have been nicer to us! The hotel itself is stunning, the room was spotless and housekeeping were wonderful! Sinead checked us in and she was great, the check in was excellent as was the check out. We had 2 beautiful breakfasts in the old mill and a stunning dinner. the food was out of this world and the staff were great!! What impressed me most about this hotel Was the staff, nothing was too much trouble and they took time and effort to make sure you were looked after! We will definitely be back :-)

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ClaireLRatican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
422 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

A one night stay last week and I felt the need to write another review. The check in staff are super friendly, the bar and staff are very hospitable, breakfast was fantastic, the room was fabulous, parking was free and so was wifi. What a great hotel. Will stay again naturally.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newry
5.3 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#2 of 8 in Dundalk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mourne Country Hotel
13.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
11.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carlingford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Whistledown Hotel
The Whistledown Hotel
#1 of 3 in Warrenpoint
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal Court Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Court Hotel & Spa

Property: Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Address: Merchant's Quay, Newry BT35 8HF, Northern Ireland (Formerly Canal Court Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal Court Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning 4* Canal Court Hotel & Spa nestled in the heart of Newry City and sits on the banks of Ireland's Oldest Manmade Canal. The Canal Court Hotel and Spa is a proud Irish hotel with an emphasis on service and tradition. The hotel boasts 112 bedrooms including a Penthouse Suite, Superior and Ambassador Suites along with family suites and standard bedrooms. All rooms have private safes & suites have Jacuzzi baths & mini bars with air conditioning in most rooms throughout the hotel. Wheelchair accessible rooms are available as well. The hotel boasts the award winning CC Spa with a full range of Spa / Beauty treatments available using the Germaine de Cappucini Product range. Along-side CC Spa is our Leisure Complex with a full 20m swimming pool studios and full gym with a full strength and conditioning area. The Granary Bar has numerous outlets to it including our Mezzanine Cocktail bar, our Gin Bar and our local Craft Beer Bar with live music every Friday, Saturday and Sunday (FREE Entry). For a more relaxing drink, we have the Merchants Bar with views over the Canal and fountains. For dining, you will never go hungry at the Canal Court Hotel with a number of dining options / outlets to choose from including our Old Mill Restaurant with a strong focus on local, Irish produce and fresh ingredients. The Old Mill is open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner with an Early Bird served 7 days a week 5.30pm to 7pm. We also have the Granary Bar and Grill which serves our legendary Carvery 7 days a week from 12 noon and Bar Food served everyday from 3.30pm. We also serve traditional afternoon tea 7days a week - no booking required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Canal Court Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Court Newry
Hotel Canal Court
Canal Court Hotel Newry
Canal Court Hotel & Spa Newry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing