We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay , Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Myself and my sister stayed at the canal court Hotel fri and sat night 8th and 9th of Aug and I have to say it was 1 of the nicest Hotels I have been in. The staff were very friendly and the room was excellent and very clean. I would recommend this hotel to anyone .

Room Tip: Fourth floor rooms looking out on canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,048)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

562 - 568 of 1,048 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

Myself and my wife stayed here for my wifes birthday on 1st August 2014.. As always the reception staff are plesant and very helpful. We had a delicious meal in The Old Mill Resturant and proceeded to explore this fine Hotel after our meal. I must say the spa, pool and gym facilities seem fantastic but as we arrived late and had dinner we did not get the chance to try them out but I will certainly make sure to use these on our next stay,

We had a car park facing room with not a great view but i was not bothered as we only slept in the room and did not spent to much time there for anyone who enjoys nice views and scenery insist on a room at the front of the hotel. The room was a good size with digital Aircon a nice comfy bed and the usual tea and coffee facilities. The room was quite old fashioned classic style with dark furniture and decor but in saying that it is clean and elegant. Also a 32" flat screen Tv with a good variety of channels.

Breakfast was buffett syle with a broad selection to suit everyones taste cereals, fresh fruit yoghurt cooked meats and cheeses etc. Myself and my wife opted for a cooked breakfast which was made fresh and delivered to our table nice and warm.

Overall a very enjoyable stay and we will certainly be back for another visit.

Room Tip: Request a room at the front of the Hotel. Try the Cobbles Bar accross the bridge at the corner as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We were with a wedding and stayed overnight. Room was'nt ready until 3.45 so we waited in the reception area and have sanwiches fro the snack menu available. They were very fresh and well filled as the fillings were overflowing. The wedding reception meal was excellant. The service was prompt and the meals were hot which was great as not all places can serve it hot when serving large groups. The helpings were plentiful and very tasty.
The room was on the front looking out at the canal which was good as we spend a while in the room. They are quite large and clean. The bathroom was also spotless and the shower is over the bath and great water pressure from all taps. The Canal Court is a popular place as on Saturday night the place was buzzing.
Breakfast was very good, you can pick a cooked selection from the menu and there are a good range of fresh fruit, youghart and cereals. The cooked selections are not self-service as with most hotels and our meal was hotter fwhen delivered for this reason.
We would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel or staying again if an occassion arose.

Room Tip: choose a front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CoArmaghontour27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here as part of a business tour. We were in a group of 11. Room very spacious, nicely furnished with air con. Our room was to the rear overlooking car park, those with rooms at the front of the Hotel would have a wonderful view of the canal. Nice spacious bathroom, with bath and powerful shower.
Spa. 20 meter pool, steam room, sauna and outdoor hot tub. We used these facilities everyday.
Restaurant. Greeted by a member of staff and shown to our table. Buffett breakfast with large selection of cereals, fresh fruit and cold meats. Hot breakfast served at your table, freshly cooked.
We could not fault the quality of the food and the service was excellent, nothing too much trouble.
There are a number of bar/areas to choose from. Quiet sitting rooms and numerous large rooms for weddings, conferences, private functions etc. Internet free in public areas and bedrooms. Room Service was prompt and very friendly. Problem with room safe resolved within minutes. We would certainly return.

Room Tip: Choose room to front of Hotel to ensure nice view of canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Booked this hotal for my girl friends birthday. On the arrival the reception was very busy so we waited patiently to get our room key. Staff was polite althougth felt like lack of welcomming feeling. The room was facing canal so had a nice view in the evening with the light lighten up althught we didn't stay in it too much. Beds were comfy althought we requested two separated beds while booking but we got one double bed- which wasn't a big deal for us. Gym was very small, I found spa area uncleaned and very busy ( saturday stay) - especially the hot tube on the tarrace roof. What really put me off was that we didnt get any bathroom coats, slippers or towers to use spa. I forgot my flip flaps so was very unpleasent to walk in pool area and outside with bare feet. It took ages to walk and find spa from our room and we only had bikinis and towels wraped around on. (Thankfully nobody seen us running around like mani trying to find spa). Breakfast was ok. Had too ask for a waitress to come over to take our order. Newry- not many places to go out or have a meal and no nightlife but good for shopping. Avoid rush hour as traffic only goes one way.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This was a last minute booking, tacked on the end of a short holiday. We'd had a terrible experience the night before in Ballycastle in the Marine Hotel, so we had nearly just given up and driven straight home. I'm so glad we didn't! We booked the deal which was offering the room, breakfast and an evening meal. When my husband rang to book, he asked if it would be possible to have use of the leisure facilities, to which he was told we'd be welcome to use the pool etc as much as we liked.
The room we booked was a double room with a King sized bed (great for little children who decide to join you in the middle of the night!) with a comfortable camp style bed for our son. The room was sufficiently spacious that having the camp bed up didn't make it feel in any way cramped.
The shower was amazing; great pressure and seemingly endless hot water. The bathroom and bedroom were spotless, and had all the usual conveniences, down to an iron and little ironing board.
The leisure centre was lovely; the lockers needed 20p to lock but the guy at reception did tell us and made sure we had change before we went in which I thought was a lovely touch.
The food was nice; the restaurant was lovely and the waiting staff was excellent. The girl who served us was training and made a minor error and a senior member of staff pointed it out, in a lovely manner, and came back to us to explain the girl was just training. What I loved about this was she complimented the waitress on how well she was doing and how fast she was learning, as opposed to blaming her for the (in fairness, tiny) mistake. I loved the fact that they were so supportive of each other.
The breakfast was one of the better we had on this break; hot food was ordered so there was no long buffet style situation where things were drying out, and there was a great selection of cereals, yoghurts, fruit, cooked meats and pastries.
The staff in every instance were fantastic; they stroke that lovely balance between extremely professional, yet very friendly.
All in all, the experience was completely positive from beginning to end. We will definitely be coming back, and would highly recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 123, which was at the end of a corridor, so only one room beside us. It was very q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed there as part of a wedding. There was a slight mix up on arrival over not being able to find my booking, probably more so to do with the fact it was booked as part of a large wedding party and it was resolved quickly in the end.

The rooms were great, very spacious and comfortable.
The wedding went off without a hitch and the function room was decorated really nicely.

All the staff were very friendly.

There is a residents bar but that closed at 4am.

We didn't make the breakfast (see above comment) but we had lunch, an awesome carvery for £10 per head.

It's a bit hard to find the hotel if you don't know the area, and it's not easy to find your way back to a main road once you leave if you don't know the way (I was minus sat nav), the car park is also quite busy and you are not guaranteed a space, but there is nearby cheap parking as an alternative.

The lifts and stairs set up is a bit confusing, some lifts go to some floors and some don't, and not all stairs seem to go all the way. There is probably a simple system but we (and various members of the party) never grasped it.

Overall my quibbles are very minor and more of an FYI. This place is first class and well worth a visit (or a wedding!)

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seanfc78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newry
3.5 mi away
Mourne Country Hotel
5.3 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#3 of 8 in Dundalk
746 reviews
11.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
10 mi away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
17.2 mi away
Armagh City Hotel
Armagh City Hotel
#1 of 2 in Armagh
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal Court Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Court Hotel & Spa

Address: Merchant's Quay, Newry BT35 8HF, Northern Ireland (Formerly Canal Court Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newry
Price Range: £84 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal Court Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning 4* Canal Court Hotel & Spa nestled in the heart of Newry City and sits on the banks of Ireland's Oldest Manmade Canal. The Canal Court Hotel and Spa is a proud Irish hotel with an emphasis on service and tradition. The hotel boasts 112 bedrooms including a Penthouse Suite, Superior and Ambassador Suites along with family suites and standard bedrooms. All rooms have private safes & suites have Jacuzzi baths & mini bars with air conditioning in most rooms throughout the hotel. Wheelchair accessible rooms are available as well. The hotel boasts the award winning CC Spa with a full range of Spa / Beauty treatments available using the Germaine de Cappucini Product range. Along-side CC Spa is our Leisure Complex with a full 20m swimming pool studios and full gym with a full strength and conditioning area. The Granary Bar has numerous outlets to it including our Mezzanine Cocktail bar, our Gin Bar and our local Craft Beer Bar with live music every Friday, Saturday and Sunday (FREE Entry). For a more relaxing drink, we have the Merchants Bar with views over the Canal and fountains. For dining, you will never go hungry at the Canal Court Hotel with a number of dining options / outlets to choose from including our Old Mill Restaurant with a strong focus on local, Irish produce and fresh ingredients. The Old Mill is open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner with an Early Bird served 7 days a week 5.30pm to 7pm. We also have the Granary Bar and Grill which serves our legendary Carvery 7 days a week from 12 noon and Bar Food served everyday from 3.30pm. We also serve traditional afternoon tea 7days a week - no booking required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Canal Court Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Court Newry
Hotel Canal Court
Canal Court Hotel Newry
Canal Court Hotel & Spa Newry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing