We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canal Court Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newry
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Super experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

This was our first time to visit Canal Court Hotel Newry for a wedding reception and was delighted with the experience. When we arrived at the hotel, we discovered the hotel car park was full. For the size of the hotel, the car park is very small. However, we found an alterative parking space nearby.

The meal was first class. Everything was served very quickly & we didn't have to wait long between courses. Food was perfect & all staff pleasant however Tracy was outstanding. Tracy could not do enough for you. Thank you Tracy.

We didn't stay in the hotel & therefore unable to comment on rooms.

Overall very pleased with our visit to Canal Court & would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarkes69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    240
    59
    37
    27
See reviews for
238
264
24
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Food is always cooked to perfection and great service. Carvery always has plenty of choice and reasonably priced. Upstairs in the restaurant is Probably the best place in newry for quality service and great food.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beeks873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moville, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

my 2 daughters and myself had the pleasure of staying at above hotel for above dates.we thoroughly enjoyed the short break and found both staff at reception and in dining room very friendly and helpful.although room was not ready when we arrived staff were very sorry and gave us complimentary tea and biscuits while we waited.room was very spacious ,clean and comfortable.my daughter requested a feather pillow at 11oclock as she found the pillows a bit hard and immediately got her wish. breakfast and dinner were excellent with great menu and choice. I hope to be back for another stay in november to see a show.We really had a very enjoyable stay at this hotel. and I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 121 and found it very nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry Co Down Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

My husband and I and my daughter (the bride) and her bridesmaids had an overnight stay in the hotel on a package which included bed, breakfast and an evening meal in the restaurant (which was excellent). We really enjoyed our stay and the rooms were very comfortable and situated close to each other. Unfortunately on this occasion we did not have time to enjoy the hotel spa and leisure centre but the facilities of these are fantastic as we have used them in the past. My daughter was having her ceremony in the Dominican church which is just a five minute drive from the hotel. It was all so relaxing for us. We were able to enjoy a beautiful breakfast in the restaurant and the hotel staff alerted us there when the hairdresser and beautician arrived to pamper my daughter and co before the wedding. The staff at the Canal Court Hotel were so kind and helpful and helped to make the wedding morning really special. My daughter and her father were able to have some photos taken in the beautiful foyer of the hotel and also outside overlooking the canal. We were able to leave our cars there and travel to the wedding in the wedding cars. After the ceremony my husband and I and other family members retrieved our cars and we headed off to Omeath for the wedding reception. I think we are so lucky to have the Canal Court Hotel in our city and we are delighted to be regular patrons of it's many facilities. We wish the hotel staff well and we hope we will have an occasion to return soon.

Room Tip: A lovely hotel with a great location. Be sure to look up special offers when booking as they are off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gmsdoggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

I stayed here two nights after my sisters wedding in July. We had only booked to stay the night of the wedding and we enjoyed it that much we booked a second night. The double bed was huge and so comfy defiantly a major plus in my eyes! The breakfast was a good starter to both days. We also used the swimming pool which was lovely and relaxing maybe bonus and sold me was the roof top out door hot tube available for guest to take advantage. The sun was shining that day and you honestly would not have thought you were in Newry. I really couldn't fault this stay and the staff where very helpful and nothing was a problem. I would not hesitate to stay again, only thing that annoys me is they have no competition and can be a little more than average to stay.. but suppose you pay for what you get. Will look forward to my next stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed one night on special offer ( Treat Ticket, I think) and got a nice room overlooking the canal.

The bed was large and very comfortable but the air conditioning wasn't easy to operate. I needed a wee bit of heat late in the evening and a member of staff assured me that it would stop blowing cold air eventually but it didn't and I ended up turning it off altogether.

The wifi was included but unfortunately it was a bit intermittent and cut off when I was in the middle of typing something.

Breakfast was very good, though If you order kippers just ask for one as they're huge!

The hotel is just opposite the bus station and from there you can get a shuttle bus to the railway station to get trains to Belfast or Dublin. There are also two huge shopping centres nearby. I recommend the Boulevard restaurant in town for a very good reasonably priced meal.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kabiven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Myself and my sister stayed at the canal court Hotel fri and sat night 8th and 9th of Aug and I have to say it was 1 of the nicest Hotels I have been in. The staff were very friendly and the room was excellent and very clean. I would recommend this hotel to anyone .

Room Tip: Fourth floor rooms looking out on canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newry
5.3 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#2 of 8 in Dundalk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mourne Country Hotel
13.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
11.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carlingford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Whistledown Hotel
The Whistledown Hotel
#1 of 3 in Warrenpoint
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal Court Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Court Hotel & Spa

Property: Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Address: Merchant's Quay, Newry BT35 8HF, Northern Ireland (Formerly Canal Court Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal Court Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning 4* Canal Court Hotel & Spa nestled in the heart of Newry City and sits on the banks of Ireland's Oldest Manmade Canal. The Canal Court Hotel and Spa is a proud Irish hotel with an emphasis on service and tradition. The hotel boasts 112 bedrooms including a Penthouse Suite, Superior and Ambassador Suites along with family suites and standard bedrooms. All rooms have private safes & suites have Jacuzzi baths & mini bars with air conditioning in most rooms throughout the hotel. Wheelchair accessible rooms are available as well. The hotel boasts the award winning CC Spa with a full range of Spa / Beauty treatments available using the Germaine de Cappucini Product range. Along-side CC Spa is our Leisure Complex with a full 20m swimming pool studios and full gym with a full strength and conditioning area. The Granary Bar has numerous outlets to it including our Mezzanine Cocktail bar, our Gin Bar and our local Craft Beer Bar with live music every Friday, Saturday and Sunday (FREE Entry). For a more relaxing drink, we have the Merchants Bar with views over the Canal and fountains. For dining, you will never go hungry at the Canal Court Hotel with a number of dining options / outlets to choose from including our Old Mill Restaurant with a strong focus on local, Irish produce and fresh ingredients. The Old Mill is open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner with an Early Bird served 7 days a week 5.30pm to 7pm. We also have the Granary Bar and Grill which serves our legendary Carvery 7 days a week from 12 noon and Bar Food served everyday from 3.30pm. We also serve traditional afternoon tea 7days a week - no booking required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Canal Court Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Court Newry
Hotel Canal Court
Canal Court Hotel Newry
Canal Court Hotel & Spa Newry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing