We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better”

Sheepbridge Family Entertainment Centre
Ranked #76 of 128 Restaurants in Newry
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

The soft play area is huge but my two boys aged 2 and 5 seemed less interested in it than others they've been to. It's very reasonably priced and due to the size I was unable to see most of it so couldn't comment on it's constituent parts but it was a chore to keep the boys in there. This was maybe due to the large amount of distracting 'arcade' type machines and amusement type rides around the edge. These are £1 a go and so cost us a whole lot extra. Some of the rides are also more arcade type games and so unsuitable for a younger age group.
The food in the cafe is good but is very pricey, £21.95 for a sirloin steak, I've paid less at salubrious restaurants. Fish & chips was £9.95 so not the cheapest and the drinks glasses are tiny. We decided then that the boys would be eating elsewhere.
If I was looking for a soft play in the area I would look elsewhere next time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JasonFerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2013

Went there as recommended by a friend. They closed the upstairs restaurant and moved us to the bar downstairs. We ordered the mushroom starter, which came with a salad that was limp and brown. The steak was ok but have eaten better at other places. Wont be back..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Simpletas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rory M, SHEEPBRIDGE FEC at Sheepbridge Family Entertainment Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

We Apologise for this but it does state clearly on our website that the Upstairs bar and restaurant does not open Monday to Thursday, all food excluding cheeky monkeys play area is served in the down stair bar and restaurant, furthermore the salad which is a garnish to the battered mushroom is flavoured with a Vinaigrette dressing, which makes the side salad brown in colour, the Sheepbridge FEC chefs are trained to the highest standard in making and preparing dishes, we once again apologise for this and hope this side salad doesn't deter you from visiting to complex in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Had a lovely Sunday dinner in the Sheepbridge on 30th June 2013. Vegetable soup (just like you would make at home) Roast beef with all the trimmings and Pavlova + tea or coffee. Really excellent meal with ample portions (I was unable to finish the roast beef, delicious as it was). The service was spot on and the atmosphere was lovely. Priced very reasonably indeed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Evelyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Held my kids birthday partie there will not be going back as Had to wait ages for food in snack the girl that took order did not have a glue as she gave us our tea which was cold by time food came. As for play area it was over crowded we could see are kids everyone was bumping into each other alround not good for small children.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rory M, SHEEPBRIDGE STAFF at Sheepbridge Family Entertainment Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2013

After Reading your review we are sorry about the inconvenience that was caused, at the moment in time we are currently re-training most of are new staff to provide an excellent service to even customer that passes through are door, consequently in terms of how busy we are we do inform all customers upon booking at the Sheepbridge FEC that the weekends are the busiest time of the week as The Sheepbridge FEC and Cheeky Monkeys are very Popular for kids parties. Once again we do apologise for this and hope it doesn't put you off visiting the Sheepbridge in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Regularly go to this restaurant/bar on a Sunday. The Sunday lunch is great with plenty of choice of veg and the sweets are beautiful. The food of the menu is great too which they serve after 4. There is music from 6 and plenty to keep the kids occupied with the 10 pin bowling down stairs and the adventure play area and lazer quest. it really is a great place to go with the family any day of the week.
I've had my son's birthday party in it twice as well as his christening party and my daughters holy communion meal and have to say the staff and service is second to none. Haven't found better.
When i went to book my husband's 40th birthday party in it, i was amazed to find out that the
management are only too happy to put on the hot buffet and dj for free if your having a large party with them. Wouldn't get that anywhere else.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Leah825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rory M, SHEEPBRIDGE STAFF at Sheepbridge Family Entertainment Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Hey Leah The Sheepbridge FEC staff our very thankful for your recent review, All the Staff make sure that all are customers feel at home from the minute they arrive to the moment they leave.. we have staff qualified in World Host Customer Service. Thanks Again SheepbridgeFEC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sheepbridge Family Entertainment Centre also viewed

 
Newry, County Down
Newry, County Down
 

Been to Sheepbridge Family Entertainment Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing