We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, food and service - will be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sugar Supper Club

Sugar Supper Club
Ranked #5 of 116 Restaurants in Newry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a small, locally owned, European-style bistro, located in the heart of Newry City. With our B.Y.O. alcohol policy and rock music on the stereo, our aim is to provide you with great food in a casual, relaxed environment. Whenever possible, we use local suppliers and locally grown/raised food. Head Chef Aidan Markey prides himself on writing a different evening menu each week so regular customers can try something new on each visit. We also have breakfast, lunch, and casual dining menus available that are updated seasonally for those who know what they like and want to stick with it.
Newry, N Ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, food and service - will be back!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Went last night in a group of four. Had the three courses for £20 deal. Excellent value. Our starters were French onion soup, mussels and mushrooms, For mains two steaks and two hakes. Everything was delicious. Steaks were perfectly cooked to our tastes. Somehow managed to make room for desserts and these were great too. looking forward to our next visit!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona3141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    25
    10
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newry, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely wee restaurant!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Went here last night with a group and the food was really lovely! Was a wee bit of a wait for our starters as there was a booking of 16 people in before us but staff were really friendly and kept us informed. Great vibe when you walk in, will definitely be back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Best in Newry!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I went to this restaurant last night with 2 friends and I have to say it was the best meal I have had for ages!

We all had the 3 courses for £20 deal. I had the portabello mushrooms with spinach - Steak and chips and chocolate and orange cheesecake with thyme syrup! It took a lot of will power not to lift the plate and lick it clean! lol! My friends had the goat cheese and the homemade bread with garlic and ham! For their mains they had cordon bleu and beef bourguignon and the beef just melted in your mouth! For dessert they had a chocolate bouchon (An individual chocolate cake) with ice cream and chocolate sauce and the the cheesecake too.

There was a good selection of things on the menu! There were specials as well and each one of them sounded tastier than the next!

The setting was lovely too! It had a very relaxed and french decor. The staff were very helpful! They also differed from other restaurants' waiting service as they seemed to care about the restaurant and worked as a team to make sure we were happy with everything!

I have to say that if you're in Newry and looking somewhere to eat your dinner then go here as you will not be disappointed!

Thank you Sugar Supper Club!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful surroundings fantastic staff”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Had breakfast with friends, the service was fantastic and the coffee is the best in NEWRY! Very comfortable!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank irishbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkeel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“Supper club give it a try.”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Had lunch in this resturant twice now. Situated in a busy street in Newry. Parking is close by in a large car park pay to stay.
Restaurant is quirky with a French theme carried through in the menu which changes daily.Walls are covered in blackboards displaying specials,music nights and other information. B.Y.O. wine there is a small corkage fee.
Lunch menu is very reasonable and portions are large and food is delicious fresh local food used. Can't wait to try dinner soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank wentaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sugar Supper Club also viewed

Newry, County Down
Newry, County Down
 
Newry, County Down
Newry, County Down
 

Been to Sugar Supper Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing