We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to eat, especially for a birthday!”

Frankie & Benny's New York Italian Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #85 of 111 Restaurants in Huntingdon
Price range: US$1 - US$37
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
St Ives, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good place to eat, especially for a birthday!”
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Went with group of about 30 of us for a birthday party, the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, the kids food came out extremely quickly and the adults shortly after, all good quality. All the staff came and sang happy birthday and even got someone to dress up as the dog which the children loved. Good atmosphere and service with decent food, will definitely be back for my birthday next month!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    26
    22
    24
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great family dinner”
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

We had a table for 9 on a Friday night including two children and had a fab meal. All the food was well cooked, the service was great and a good time was had by all. Our waitress checked on us regularly, took drink orders when glasses were getting empty and she was great with the kids. This is a cracking venue for a family dinner. There were lots of family parties celebrating a birthday which. The whole place would sing happy birthday as staff brought out a cake. Kids loved it. I would highly recommend the mixed grill platter, good value for £20. A member of the party left an item of property behind which the staff put to one side so when we attended the following morning it was behind the counter. Good honest staff. Thank you all, we will be back soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We wanted Sunday lunch for 8 people (4 adults and 4 children aged 5 - 11) and had not reserved a table after leaving the local cinema.

The restaurant were able to accommodate our party.

Service was good but food was mixed.

We did not have starters.

The lamb shank was a good choice but the penne carbonara was not well made.

The children chose either: spaghetti bolognese, sausage, beans and mash or burger and chips and were not able to finish their portions (due to the size).

Puddings were mixed too, with chocolate ice cream rather bland and contained ice crystals but the chocolate pancake and Tiramisu were rated quite highly.

The atmosphere was ok and overall the children and adults did enjoy themselves.

Certainly been to better places to eat and that cater for children better which is why this place only gets an average rating.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BluePirate68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not good”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Went here after going to the cinema started off well as we were half an hour early for our pre booked table and they managed to seat us 15 mins early. However we were offered dough balls or garlic bread as we sat down we went for the dough balls but they never arrived! We ordered our main meals and they came within 15 minutes not very well presented with half the plate bare. The place was packed and the waitresses were working hard but you could tell they were stretched lots of people were waiting for a table, lots of people also waiting a long time for their food to arrive. We did not feel like staying for anything else after our main meal so just got the bill and left although had to wait a further 15 minutes for someone to come and take our payment for the meal. Do not think i will be returning to this particular restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always Pretty Good”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My first impressions were that Frankie and Benny’s was a clean place….. Well I was right. I ordered a Hot Dog which came with a variety of sauces and also came with chips. Our waitress was kind and served us pretty quickly. The flavours of the sausage, ketchup,mayo and bun all tasted good together. For dessert I had an Ice Cream Sundae which was beautifully presented. This Ice cream was tasty and was a great way to end our meal!

There were a couple of negative points. These were that the bread on the hot dog was a bit dry and that the kids menu felt greasy and sticky, as though it hadn’t been cleaned in a while. Aside from this though, it was a good eating experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BoyVsFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Frankie & Benny's New York Italian Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire
Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire
 
Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire
Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Frankie & Benny's New York Italian Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing