We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent ”
Review of The Abbot's Elm

The Abbot's Elm
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Abbot's Elm
Ranked #7 of 20 Huntingdon B&B and Inns
north of england
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent ”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

5 star accommodation, service and food! Delightful owners who go out of their way to make you feel welcome . Lovely pub/ restaurant . Bedroom was spotless and extremely comfortable. One of the nicest places I've stayed in ! Picture postcard village but very close to Huntingdon. Highly recommend

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cara06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
13
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I have stayed at The Abbot's Elm. It is a lovely place, excellent food, good service and comfortable well appointed rooms.
When the The Three Horseshoes at Moat Lane Abbot's Ripton was destroyed by fire in 2010, some people accidently placed reviews for another Three Horseshoes on this site which has now been incorrectly updated under the Abbot's Elm name. None of the reviews here are actually for The Abbot's Elm as the reviewers will confirm if you contact them. The correct Tripadvisor site for The Abbot's Elm and reviews is listed under restaurants

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
356 reviews
266 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Just one night here, but very pleasant stay. Nice room with comfy bed and free wi-fi. Good home made (not frozen) pizza that was fairly priced. Good beer in the bar and a nice quality cooked breakfast.
Would definitely return

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

very brief one night stay,booked in at 8 30pm gone by 5 30 am.very friendly staff,nice clean room ,good pint of bitter in the bar so all in all satisfactory nights stay.great location,Resturant on site but did not try it so no comment

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kohn57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

My stay was excellent; the room was great, the location wonderful, the food pretty good. The service was a bit sporadic though and on arrival it wasn't clear where I needed to go to check in. I ended up being directed to the bar to check in which I don’t think is very good. Also, all the mild and cream for coffee in my room was out of date and off. Other than these very small niggles, it was great - highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andybrown999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bungay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
243 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2009

Because we thoroughly research our accommodation in advance we’re rarely disappointed with the outcome. Sometimes we find a gem and this was certainly the case with The Three Horseshoes. Our stay was a belated birthday present for my 80-years-young mother so it was important to get the choice right.

For weekend breaks we usually begin our search with the CAMRA Good Beer Guide and then view the establishment’s web site. If the beer’s good (and it rarely isn’t at a GBG-listed inn) we can put up with a few imperfections. We can honestly say we found none on our recent stay there.

Arriving a little after The Three Horseshoes closed its lunchtime session we were greeted by the staff and shown around. Our rooms, comfortable with every facility we needed, were at the rear so the main sounds during our stay were birdsong.

The restaurant was well-furnished and offered menus far beyond what one would expect from even a good-quality pub. On the back of the menus was a list of suppliers, showing that most ingredients are sourced locally wherever possible.

The bar area is furnished with armchairs and sofas and is ideal for a pre-meal drink, unless the weather is fine when one might prefer to sit in the substantial well-kept garden. There were four real ales available during our stay, all East Anglian beers dispensed by gravity, satisfying the purest of the purists.

Every staff member from the proprietors to the chambermaids was friendly and helpful. One gets the feeling that The Three Horseshoes is a happy ship. Special mention must be made of Chloe, barely seventeen but clearly very competent in her chosen profession. She became our personal facilitator throughout our stay and really “made the difference”.

The Three Horseshoes has zoomed to Number One in our personal favourites list and it’ll take something really exceptional to displace it.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Father-Brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntingdon
1.5 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#6 of 9 in Huntingdon
412 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Old Bridge
The Old Bridge
#1 of 9 in Huntingdon
470 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Dolphin
The Dolphin
#3 of 4 in St Ives
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse
1.6 mi away
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
#4 of 9 in Huntingdon
638 reviews
2.9 mi away
Riverside House
Riverside House
#11 of 20 in Huntingdon
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbot's Elm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbot's Elm

Property: The Abbot's Elm
Address: Abbot's Ripton, Huntingdon PE28 2PA, England (Formerly The Three Horseshoes)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Huntingdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Huntingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Abbot's Elm 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Abbot's Elm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing