We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Sunday Lunch”

Old Bridge Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 110 Restaurants in Huntingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Lovely Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We have been to The Old Bridge a few times now but were told the sunday lunch was the best so we decided to check it out-and it was! At £29.50 for three course we felt it was a very good price and the food was delicious.We all had different starters and then all had the roast beef with yorkshire pud-wow!! more meat than we have at home and cooked just right. Again a really varied choice of dessert and coffee to finish. The service could not be faulted and would recommend it although you do need to book most of the time.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rowton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBWS, Owner at Old Bridge Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you Rowton
So pleased you had a great time and hope to see you again.
Regards
John Hoskins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    135
    56
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My wife and I attended a family wedding anniversary luncheon as guests yesterday and found the quality of the food, the service and the atmosphere was exceptional but as guests we were unable to judge the value.

We had, however, travelled over 100 miles to be there. We allowed for delays that did not materialise and arrived about 40 minutes early and so took coffee in the lounge while we waited. I thought that the service of two Americanos was a little slow but it was still very good value.

The Old Bridge would definitely be on my list to visit again if I have the opportunity.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrBumble45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBWS, Owner at Old Bridge Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thanks Mr Bumble! I hope we can see you again. Huntingdon is just off the A1 so most journeys south or north should bring you near our door.
Best wishes, John Hoskins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The perfect pitstop”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

On our way home and hungry, we came off the A14 looking for somewhere pleasant to eat. Fortunately we found The Old Bridge Hotel, were given a table in a quiet part of a very pleasant restaurant, the set 3 course steak dinner was excellent value, good food and excellent service, the perfect pitstop

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBWS, Owner at Old Bridge Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Very kind words Douglas, thank you.
We look forward to hosting you again at The Old Bridge soon.
Kind regards
John Hoskins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
76 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Exceptionally Comfortable Top Stop near Cambridge”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The Old Bridge may well be the best dining facility near the A1 between Hertford and north of Stamford. It is better than any place in Cambridge as well. A very comfortable large lounge for meeting and drinks before dinner is bright and welcoming. The dining room is also roomy, well appointed and bright, most of it overlooking a rear garden and entrance way. The tables are well separated. The food is very good indeed. The sirloin steak is unusually tender, the menu is extensive from soup to nuts and desert, and the service is attentive, friendly and helpful without being intrusive. If you're stopping here during a journey, you may find it difficult to tear yourself away to resume your drive. As a day's trip base from London to visit the Huntingdon area and Cambridge, it is perfectly ideal and the good quality hotel is a suitable choice for an overnight after a filling and satisfying dinner, if you prefer this itinerary to a day trip. We have visited another excellent restaurant several miles to the West (The Pheasant, reviewed for Trip Advisor) which the Old Bridge used to own and has always supported, reflecting the professional and generously enlightened attitude of the management of this long-admired establishment.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank douglas_n6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBWS, Owner at Old Bridge Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you Douglas. You are right that we are fortunate in our location, just off the A1 north-south and also the A14 east-west. We are an inn in the old-fashioned sense - welcoming travellers from afar as well as our regular local guests.
John Hoskins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Magnificent!!!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This restaurant is a must for anyone who has experienced fine dining & been disappointed when they don't live up to expectations. Those places could learn so much from The Old Bridge, from the second we walked through the door we felt welcomed and wanted.
The staff are so friendly, incredibly knowledgable about the food and the wine. They seemed genuinely interested in our thoughts on food & wine in general, even bringing us a large sample of a wine we wouldn't normally order as he'd overheard us discussing the VERY extensive wine list.
We loved the wine recommendations on the menu, especially the dessert wine! In fact, after the very delicious, well proportioned meal (not so big you feel stuffed, not so pretentiously small you feel ripped off) we headed straight to the wine shop to buy more to take home.
The bar area is very comfy & atmospheric, if I was forced to say something negative about this place, it would be the decor in the restaurant. Although the furniture is comfortable, it is a little dated & this is the same for the decor, but it's not enough for me to give a lower score.
The whole evening was lovely, it was a shame that it didn't appear in my search for a hotel, otherwise we would've stayed here. Next time we'll be making a special trip just to stay & eat here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Xbox_widow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBWS, Owner at Old Bridge Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thanks so much Xbox-widow. Hope you get the chance to escape from the X-box again and come back to see us. It is easy to be good when our customers are enthusiastic too...!
Kind regards
John Hoskins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Bridge Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Hemingford Grey, Huntingdon
 
Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire
Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire
 
Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire
Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Old Bridge Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing