We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to cycle and sit in the sun afterwards!”

Grafham Water Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
Attraction details
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“great place to cycle and sit in the sun afterwards!”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My husband and I are regular fans of cycling round Grafham Wter - we are no longer young (both in our late 60s) but enjoy the off road - mostly - challenge. Part of the pleasure is sitting in the sun outside the cafe - if possible - tucking into something and chips or as in my case, a bacon and egg butty!! Yummy. The staff are friendly and cook it freshly for you and even bring it out to you too! Nothing too exotic to eat but they do also have herbal teas such as green/peppermint - also very refreshing after the bike ride. Heartily recommend. Only downside is people allowing their dogs off the lead - who then wander into your path! There is a parking fee of £2 (weekdays) and £3 weekends - plenty long enough to cycle eat and even browse the bike shop!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank lushrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    60
    19
    2
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Not been here for 40 years”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I hadn't been here for about 40 years and now training for a long walk on the continent later this year, I decided to return. Walked it yesterday,(Sunday). Great walk, but very popular with cyclists, which was understandable as it was a gloriously sunny day. Pay and display car parks, eateries and facilities about half way round on either side, mixed terrain, gravel, mud, inclines. All in all a very pleasant quiet walk. Our pedometers said exactly 16km when we got back to the car park, which is just under 10 miles. There are suggestions that this walk is under 9 and some say over 10 but I will stick with my reading as its proved correct before when measured with a car ride in other locations. Great morning.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian-atAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bike ride to Grafham Water”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

One night when looking at Google Earth of my home village of Brill just outside Bicester i noticed a large mass of water to the North East of my location which look very interesting,so a few days later i got on my push bike and rode out to Grafham water and it was well worth the effort.
Has a great cycle route around the perimeter which i did when i arrived then i had a quick coffee and bun followed by about 30 mins watching the dingy racing it was sunny and lots of people were around enjoying the fresh air.After being there an hour i set of for my cycle home finishing with about 135 miles on the GPS yes it was along ride but was worth every second.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank runningman0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A Bike Stop!”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The Cycle Centre at Grafham is close to the Restaurant here and a great place to have a cycle out with a lunch. The food is well prepared and served to order, its really great for families nice on Anglia Water!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Whether you want to take part in Water sports, cycle or simply walk by this lovely reservoir or just sit in the restaurant and wait for your friends to return, this is the place to be. Inexpensive all-day parking. Interesting water conservation tips and small shop are found in the restaurant which serves hot food all day.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank pat w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grafham Water Centre also viewed

Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire
Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire
 
Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Grafham Water Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing