We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location with excellent food”
Review of The Crown Inn

The Crown Inn
Ranked #5 of 111 Restaurants in Huntingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$28
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In idyllic grounds, The Crown Inn Broughton is a charming pub restaurant, housed in a Grade II Listed building. In a homely and cosy setting, The Crown offers traditional, hearty fare and local produce. Modern and welcoming, the bar offers a handpicked wine list, along with cider, spirits and regular guest ales. The lounge area has a comfortable seating area and a warm, cosy ambience. The traditional menu has a modern twist and uses fresh, seasonal produce, with delicious dishes that include pan fried peppered duck breast with rosemary roast potatoes or sea bass with wilted spinach and tomato & shallot butter. There is also a list of exciting specials, while the tempting dessert menu features sweets like Baileys crème brulee with lemon shortbread or crunchy plum crumble with vanilla custard. In the Cambridgeshire countryside, The Crown Inn is close to St. Ives and Huntingdon.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Beautiful location with excellent food”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Visited on a sunny Sunday for lunch. Welcomed immediately we went into bar & was asked if we had booked, we explained no, barmaid said no problem, but there may be a wait as we have a large party in, no problem we said. She then informed us that the chef may rush our order through before theirs, so we ordered & sat in garden. 15 minutes later our food arrived, beautiful rare cooked beef with home made yorkshires & roasties. Our son thought the white chocolate & strawberry cheesecake was the best he had ever tasted & he is a cheesecake expert!!
All in all a beautiful pub, great service in a fab location. We will be back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawnie1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    66
    24
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Top Pub!!”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Used to be a local of The Crown and it is great for drinkers and foodies! Brilliant local staff who are very personable and accommodating to all customers. The food is always of an excellent standard with a constantly changing specials board and a variety of beers and wines. Recently visited again and it hasn't changed a bit. Typical old pub from the outside with a more modern feel inside. Always has a good crowd in and there is usually something going on in their very large garden. One of the best.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank adam4991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“From Switzerland to Broughton !”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We booked a table of six to celebrate three birthdays ! One of these being my sister and my brother in law who were over from Switzerland they were so impressed with the welcome , scenery, food quality and customer service so much so this place knocks spots of what they have back home including 5 stars hotels !

We are regulars and the quality and consistency of food is out of this world . Mark is a true gent and nothing is too much trouble for him or his staff ps you must try the ammereto sours !.

Thanks again for the best evening

Sarah and Leigh

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fenton1318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sunny Lunch”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend chose to visit the crown for lunch having driven past numerous times and seeing it has a large, well kept garden perfect for enjoying the nice weather.
We arrived at the busy restaurant and were warmly greeted by the barman who was quick to supply us with drinks and menus. We chose to sit in the bar area whilst looking at the menus and requested to move outside when our food was ready, the staff were more than happy to accommodate us "wherever we were comfortable" which was nice.
Despite being busy, the food arrived promptly. We both had sandwiches which came with a salad and a generous amount of crisps which certainly didn't go to waste.
When waiting on our table the staff were very friendly and made an effort to converse, making the experience even more personal.
Two very happy punters, will be returning!

Helpful?
2 Thank RLeon95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Company barbecue”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We have held our annual company barbecue at The Crown Inn for two years running. Mark and Colombe were great and they couldn't have been more helpful with helping me organise the event. We had a party of 50 adults and 12 children and the food and service was excellent. The pub was closed for us and the weather held out. The garden was perfect for the little ones and the older ones had fun in the stream at the end of the garden :).
There was plenty of salads and the standard of the food was very high. The puddings were great, especially the brownies! Everyone went home happy and a good evening was had by all.
I would highly recommend the Crown for any occasion and will be looking at booking for a third year.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crown Inn also viewed

 
Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire
Hemingford Grey, Huntingdon
 

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing