We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Stukeleys Country Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Huntingdon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overnight Stay”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Room is a good price and spacious. The staff are really friendly as are the other clientele. The atmosphere was really good even for a Tuesday. I used the restaurant for dinner and the food was really good and reasonable. The room is spacious and comfortable with large bathroom and good TV. Would recommend to anyone visiting the Huntingdon and surrounding area. Plenty of free parking as well.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Coversure W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    10
    10
    8
    9
See reviews for
10
7
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I stayed at the Stukeley Hotel in February whilst undertaken business in the area. I found the food both in portion size and in quality very enjoyable. I had the beef stew and dumplings and was offered a choice of mash potatoes, new potatoes or chips! I would have gone on to have a dessert, but I was too full :-( The locals at the bar are very welcoming and friendly and the room that I stayed in reflected the character of the establishment and was attractively unusual and quite charming. It was clean, functional and suited my needs very well.
The hotel is located very close to Huntingdon and is easily commutable to both Peterborough and Cambridge by road.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elaine_smith1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The Stukeley Country Hotel from the outside looked quite nice when I arrived but I was soon to be very disappointed, my room was covered in old chip wallpaper and very poorly decorated with cobwebs in one corner. Initially the room was freezing and I turned on the radiator which eventually warmed the room up at 1am, at the same time the tired bowl shaped mattress became eventually unbearable, (I felt I had been sleeping in a tent on a hill!). The bathroom was 1970s and very dated with a broken toilet seat which flushed after several attempts. I decided to eat downstairs in the cold bar area and had home made chilli and rice which appeared in about 90 seconds?!It was the size of a large starter with very dry rice underneath served in a bowl. The people next to me moved from the window due to the draft and ill fitting windows, I actually thought the window was open .In the morning the breakfast arrived and I had to leave most of it although by this time I was really hungry, no choice in respect of how I would like my egg or choice of bread etc. I was staying in the area for business and tired all day due to such a rough nights stay - not actually funny. This was originally £89 and I got the room for £60 through late bookings.com, not worth £10 I would rather have slept in the car!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hunterone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Huntingdon hotels

Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

First off, there is nothing wrong with the food or the breakfast. Its a quaint country pub and the food was good. Freshly cooked and the breakfast was as good as any I have had.

Where this place really lets itself down is in the quality of the accommodation. It is very poor. I was in room 2 and while it has some lovely old world oak beams and oak doors and frames, the maintenance is poor.

The bathroom can only be described as disgusting and if health and safety were to stop here then it would be condemned. The shower head was rusted and dirty. The paint on the ceiling was peeling off. There was mould all over the tiles and sealant and the general condition was very, very poor.

The bed was old and uncomfortable. Fitted sheets are a personal hatred of mine and overall, I had a very cold and uncomfortable night here.

Room Tip: Any room, in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mj2000uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

We came here based on a recommendation and was treated to a lovely three course meal served promptly and satisfied with reasonable prices. I had battered chicken, beef stew with spiced dumplings and finished with apple crumble and custard. I left with a full belly and a smile.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ezzavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This is a really mixed review.

Normally I go to chain hotels and staying here made me realise just why I do. They deliver a level of consistency that these sort of places can't and ultimately there are few surprises.

So, I booked here last minute and didn't have many options as I needed a family room.

The initial impression was not good. When we arrived, the room was only made up for three, not four as requested, and there was a foul smell from a drain.

That said, when we spoke to the lady (I assume the owner) she could not have reacted better and gave us two double rooms instead (at the same price) which worked out better for us.

It has to be said that this is a very old property and therefore it is compromised. I found the room ok, if a little tired, but it is not as well insulated as modern buildings, so you hear noise from the traffic outside as well as the drains. It's not really loud, but it is there, so be warned. There are also not many electrical sockets and it is a little draughty, but not really a problem. The rooms were clean but the paint and grouting peeling away, making it look grubby.

Indeed, the detailing is what lets the hotel down. Electrical appliances show PAT testing dates which have passed and the breakfast, while fresh and very good, was served in a filthy room with dead insects lying all over the window sills.

Stuff like that is not good enough and lets down a hotel that has the potential to be really nice with a little bit of love and a little bit of money spent on it.

Room Tip: Room 6 has no wi-fi coverage and does suffer from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weelarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We spent a few nights at the Stukeleys Country Hotel as it was the only hotel with vacancies in the area. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good and dinner in the attached pub was also fine. While the bedding and towels were clean, the rest of the hotel is in need of a deep clean and update in decor. It wouldn't take much to really improve the rooms - clean the carpets, replace bedspreads, give the bathrooms a really good scrub and change some damaged furniture and it would be a very nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Request a room in the back if you are a light sleeper and bring a sleep mask if light bothers you as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smanders27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntingdon
1.3 mi away
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
#4 of 9 in Huntingdon
663 reviews
2.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#6 of 9 in Huntingdon
432 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Old Bridge
The Old Bridge
#1 of 9 in Huntingdon
482 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Dolphin
The Dolphin
#3 of 4 in St Ives
378 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Lion Hotel
The Lion Hotel
#1 of 2 in Buckden
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stukeleys Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stukeleys Country Hotel

Property: The Stukeleys Country Hotel
Address: Church Road | Off Ermine Street, Great Stukeley, Huntingdon PE28 4AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Huntingdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Huntingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Stukeleys Country Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the charming village of Great Stukeley, only 5 minutes from the A1 and 30 from Cambridge, this former 16th Century Farmhouse offers home-made food, free Wi-Fi and parking. The Suffolk pink, ivy-covered building is a welcoming beacon on the road north from Huntingdon and attracts an eclectic mix of travellers and local residents. Infused with the warmth and character of its historic past, great care has been taken to preserve the original brickwork, solid oak beams and large fireplaces. With an abundance of attractions just a short distance away the Hotel is the perfect base from which to explore the beauty of Cambridgeshire. Each of the 7 en-suite bedrooms has a character all of its own with many featuring exposed wooden beams, fireplaces and countryside views. Comfortable and well-appointed they all include free Wi-Fi access, HD flat-screen TV, telephone, comfy bedding, hairdryer and tea & coffee making facilities. Both Double and Family room types are available and they can also accommodate well-behaved pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The Stukeleys Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing