We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decidedly average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Montaz

Montaz
Ranked #90 of 111 Restaurants in Huntingdon
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Indian and Bangladeshi cuisine. This restaurant offers an exciting menu and introduces some nice fish dishes such as sea bass. Large screen showing bangra dancers gives a different feel. Tel 01480 434515/52792
UK
Level Contributor
107 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Decidedly average food”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

First time here as we were staying at the spanking new Holiday Inn nearby at the racecourse. We went on Tuesday night, where they were offering a starter, main, side dish and rice or naan for £9.95 which is very good value for a sitdown restaurant.

Food was OK, but distinctly average, but for this sort of money you can't really complain. Beer was good however. Seemed a little quiet, but not in the best location as far as restaurants go.

I would revisit to give them a second try, but there was nothing to write home about other than good value for money.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrickVader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    24
    8
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good takeaway!”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Thought we would give them a try as a take away service since we had a flyer posted through the door. We weren't disappointed. Food was hot, well cooked and flavoursome. Not the cheapest? However, they do a special in the restaurant on a tuesday night, so we will give that a try. Overall, good food (not exceptional), slightly on the expensive side but delivery was fast. For us, it was a matter of convenience and location, but I would use them again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jules875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Food and prices!”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Myself and my Girlfriend made a visit to Montaz in Brampton on a Tuesday night. The restaurant wasn;t too busy but didn;t expect it to be on a tuesday.

Service was good and food came quickly.

We had onion bahjees and butterfly prawn for started. the bahjees were good but was a little dissapointed by the butterfly prawn (although tasted nice...just didn't look great!). For mains we had a lamb celyon, chicken dansak, sag aloo. taka dahl, and shared a pilau rice and a naan. This was more than enough food for us but we pushed through all of it. Both the Ceylon and Dahnsak were milder than I have had in other restaurants, but very tasty and seemed fresh with good ingredients. The dahl was quite thick but tasty, and the sag alloo was good.

Price for the above with a couple of 'large' beers each was just under £40 which is very reasonable i my opinion.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisHeels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The best by far.”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We come to the Montaz once a week, and also have takeaway from the restaurant. What more can I say, the food is authentic, incredibly tasty, and plentiful. The menu is extensive and has something for everyone. From the house specialities to the normal curries you cant be disappointed. The staff are friendly, caring and give brilliant service. The restaurant itself is clean and has a nice atmosphere.

Even though it seems remote and at times can be empty, Montaz Brampton is by far the best Indian restaurant in the area and would recommend that you make a trip hear if you can.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simps656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great value night out”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Enjoyed a great evening out at The Montaz in Brampton. Great to see the restaurant busy with staff as always very polite. The food was great value with plenty of flavour

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank garryjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Montaz also viewed

Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire
Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire
 
Godmanchester, Cambridgeshire
Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire
 
Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire
Grafham, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Montaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing