We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous rooms; great service”
Review of The Old Bridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Bridge
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Huntingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We had dined at The Bridge on a number of occasions but had never stayed there. We booked a "large double" but found on our arrival that we had been given a complimentary upgrade to the Four Poster! (As shown in the photo above.) It was a beautiful room and led into a margnificent bathroom. The bath was huge, plus double sinks, a power shower, two chairs and a table!

You can see photos of each of the rooms on the website - and next time I am definitely booking in enough time to get the Tiger room - room 10.

Siobhan in reception was lovely; all the staff in the restaurant and bar were friendly and professional. The food in the bar was excellent with a wide choice and individually prepared. Comfy sofas and chairs. No rush.

Breakfast the next morning was a relaxed, quiet meal (guests asked not to use mobile phones - hurrah!) with locally sourced produce and a wide choice.

All in all a very good stay. I would have no hesitation in highly recommending the Old Bridge.

Room Tip: Look at the photos on the website and book in plenty of time for the best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsR76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBWS, Owner at The Old Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2012

Thanks so much MrsR76. And particularly well done to Siobhan on reception!

John Hoskins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2012

Excellent hotel, clean rooms, good nights sleep, lovely food and fantastic wine list

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroline3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBWS, Owner at The Old Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2012

We are very flattered Caroline3. This sort of comment really helps us get through a long winter.

Thank you

John Hoskins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I have been a few time through business, the staff really are friendly and I really don't have any complaints... the bar area is comfortable and the food is of a very good standard. Everyone is very attentive and I would be happy to recommend it to anyone without hesitation. Oh yes, and the Wine Shop is fantastic!! Beats another certain chain of hotels just down the road hands down!!!!! Definitely a better option.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsV70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBWS, Owner at The Old Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2012

Thank you MrsV70. Chain hotels do have their place, of course, but as a true 'independent' I naturally agree with your sentiments - and not just in our case!

The wine shop has proved very popular with residents as well as locals. We seem to find more and more guests doing a relaxed, informal tasting before dinner as a change from an aperitif in the bar.

Thanks again

John Hoskins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Visited for lunch on Saturday...recommended to our family. Service was excellent, however, the food was not worth the price disappointing for such a nice location.

We had 2 vegetarians in our party and their food was very poor..bland and lacked creativity! It's a shame, the vegitarian meals presented as the chef not having much time for individuals needs.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BraddersCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBWS, Owner at The Old Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Sorry to hear some of your party didn't enjoy their lunch last Saturday. I can only say that we do try to offer consistently excellent food all the time. However I fully accept that we can of course make mistakes.

I believe the vegetarian dish concerned was from our Set Lunch Menu that day (Pan-fried gnocchi with Jerusalem artichokes, spinach, sage and lemon butter; with a rocket and parmesan salad). We will check it to ensure it is being served correctly; and I will check all the current vegetarian options.

I do hope we can see you again at The Old Bridge.

John Hoskins, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

I stayed 3 nights at The Old Bridge last week. It was a wonderful experience and although I was on business, it actually seemed like a holiday! Everything was so well done. The food, wine and service were excellent. My room was elegant and comfortable without being tricksy or pretentious. The ambience was great - I think it came from the staff being friendly and working as a team. They seemed to love their work and got on well together. I will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

On 14th January my husband and I shared our joint 60th celebrations with our close family of 18 adults and 7 grandchildren. We had hired the dining room and have to say that we were treated like royalty! Every member of staff went out of their way to be helpful and made us feel very comfortable about having the children around, being children! All our guests (our children and their in-laws) were impressed with the standard of food and choice in the menu, as well as the service and surroundings too.We were left to celebrate at our own pace, never feeling rushed to eat or move out.
My husband and I stayed overnight in Room 10, which was wonderful, and enjoyed breakfast the following morning. It was all very good value for the whole experience.
Thank you to everyone at The Old Bridge, for making our celebration memorable for all the right reasons!

Room Tip: Room 10 has a large bathroom with roll-top bath and large shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monika60_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBWS, Owner at The Old Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2012

Thanks for the welcome feedback. We really appreciate such positive comments.
John Hoskins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We were traveling through cambridgeshire and stoped for the night , i was in a ¨time warp¨ Charm,Carisma veiws on the river. Staff were acomadating and friiendly.If i lived locally it would be visited on a very regular basis.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 742millet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBWS, Owner at The Old Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2012

Thank you!
John Hoskins, The Old Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntingdon
14.9 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,426 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandford House Bar and Hotel
1.6 mi away
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
#5 of 9 in Huntingdon
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#6 of 9 in Huntingdon
443 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse
18.4 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bridge

Address: 1 High Street, Huntingdon PE29 3TQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Huntingdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Huntingdon
Price Range: £96 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Bridge 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A handsome, ivy-clad 18th century building, once a private bank, overlooking the River Ouse and yet right on the edge of the town centre. Its atmosphere balances that of a boutique townhouse hotel and a bustling, relaxed, traditional inn. 24 beautiful air-conditioned bedrooms with luxurious bathrooms. Fine but informal restaurant, twice winner of AA award for best wine list in the UK. Also wine shop with 'enomatic' tasting machines, bar with real ales, and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Old Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Bridge Hotel Huntingdon
Old Bridge Huntingdon
Old Bridge Hotel Huntingdon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing