We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Country House”
Review of The Old Bridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Bridge
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Huntingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Modern Country House”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

A lovely old coaching inn next to the river. It has kept its charm but kept up to date.The food was excellent with a good selection not just for carnivores and the service was exemplary with charm and efficiency.The restaurant was full but the service kept up and with a smile.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JNDawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBWS, Owner at The Old Bridge, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thanks so much JNDawson.
We all hope we can see you again soon.
John Hoskins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    113
    38
    11
    4
See reviews for
67
193
18
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stowm
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Had bar lunch which was good - superb wine as well. Shame we didn't book a table in restaurant - could fit us in even though it wasn't that full. Bar area was adequate though. Would return but I would book a table next time. Staff very friendly :)

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBWS, Owner at The Old Bridge, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thanks so much Lisa C and I hope we can see you again soon.
John Hoskins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

With its location and buildings The Old Bridge has the potential to be a true destination hotel but a number of minor irritants detracted from our stay here. None were significant in their own right but together they put a slight dampener on the whole experience. The room was fine but poor and inadequate plug locations, a coffee pot but no coffee, and a maladjusted TV didn't help. The bathroom was huge and well-stocked. The food was undoubtedly very good without being, to use a Winnerism, historic and the wine list was colossal to the point of being almost daunting but definitely a plus point. The smell from the Gents loos, located near the bar, which was mentioned by previous correspondents still remains but the main problem for us was the staff. Lovely people all of them but, with one or two honourable exceptions, hopeless. This is a £180 a night hotel outside London and for that price you would look for seamless efficiency. The majority of the bar staff were clueless, serving the wrong drinks, wine in dishwasher hot glasses, unable to locate drinks or make even simple cocktails. My wife's breakfast order arrived with the wrong egg and much of the other service was haphazard and forgetful. A shame because this has much potential for a really civilized place to come. Other reviewers speak of excellent service so maybe we just caught a bad day or regular staff were absent and overall I would give this hotel another chance if I was in the area

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BorisPorter62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBWS, Owner at The Old Bridge, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback. If the service was that bad then you were kind to give us 4 stars. I can confirm those are not our normal standards!

Specific points:
We did have a drain problem in the bar at the weekend which we are certainly dealing with.
We do also have some new bar staff and I had thought we had progressed much further than that - it will be sorted.
The breakfast mistake was, I do believe and hope, a one-off, as was the coffee missing from the room (we do grind the coffee on the day; I hope it was brought up to you on request).
Every room has plugs around the desk and around the full-length mirror. I will try and find out which room you were in and see if we can add more. (This is one of those instances, I have to say, where guests might consider giving a bit of direct feedback to be really helpful).

And finally - we are not actually a "£180 a night hotel outside London". We are a £140 hotel - that's our normal double rate for bed and full English breakfast. You kindly paid the extra for a large double. Or at weekends we are £199 for dinner, bed and breakfast for 2. Of course that doesn't excuse the poor service elements - we should get those right whatever our price.

Thank you again

John Hoskins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
363 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed here on a Saturday night on a package with family to celebrate major birthdays for my Wife and I just three months apart.

We had scones and drinks in front of the fire in the bar on arrival and then just relaxed until a fun wine tasting in the Wine Room before dinner. The latter was excellent and the service was great.
The rooms were comfortable and quiet (we had room 17 and I would have preferred a flat-screen TV but could see it would be difficult to fit) with smart bath/shower rooms. The public areas are warm and inviting. Breakfast was also excellent, we had the full English and it is to be recommended.

All in all we all had a fabulous time and the staff were wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewlgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBWS, Owner at The Old Bridge, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for a great review. I must say (as they do get mentioned quite a lot) that we love our 'classic' B&O televisions. Flat screens are the norm, of course, but I hope there's still room for a bit of individuality....
thanks again
John Hoskins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Have just spent the weekend at this lovely hotel. From start to finish the staff were friendly and professional. The room - no 23, was spotless and very welcoming. We ate in the restaurant and from the snack menu and the food was excellent. The breakfasts were varied and again excellent. The wines were delicious and if you were unsure as what to choose, you were offered a taster to help you make up your mind. A lovely touch :) I would definately recommend the hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynniep43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBWS, Owner at The Old Bridge, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thanks so much for the glowing review. You are very kind.
John Hoskins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Was invited to go here for a colleaugues leaving meal a couple of months ago. She booked the table and emailed confirmation to the appropriate people etc. When we turned up the menus were already on the tables ready so assuming this was the correct early deal fixed price menu we ordered. We didnt get offered any drinks and had to get someones attention. We also had to ask for bread as well as we didnt get offered that either.
The place seemed very busy and we wanted to have the early pre set meal as it was slightly cheaper. I had to leave early and didnt have a pudding so decided to pay my meal before everyone else. This is when the problem arose, we were actually given the more expensive meal and expected to pay. When i questioned it the manager was very adamant we had got it wrong. We tried to explain the problem but was kept being told we had booked the wrong meal! Should the menus not just be put on the table without checking? As no one really asked us if we were ok through out we didnt get chance to check, but why should we as we assumed the menu etc was the correct one. In the end the bill was sorted and a fee was agreed but not the original set price we had hoped for.

The food was good but not very impressed with the service and the way we were made to feel like the error was ours. Shame, heard good things about the place but won't be recommending it anytime soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nel1283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBWS, Owner at The Old Bridge, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
We are a bit bemused by this review. I have just checked the correspondence and we certainly confirmed a full A La Carte menu with the host, and also took a deposit on that basis. The early supper menu was therefore not offered.
I am really sorry about the disappointment and any apparent lack of co-operation on our part. We really do try our bed to accommodate everyone. But on this occasion the team simply did as they were requested on the evening.
However I will of course remind everyone of the need to serve bread at every table as soon as they sit down.
John Hoskins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We wanted a Christmas stay away from home and with some old friends. We needed to be sure of good food and the sort of service and style of yesteryear - cosy and with character. On arrival on Christmas Eve we were greeted by very efficient and friendly staff and our rooms were perfect - spacious and warm with all the little luxuries that make you feel happy. The hotel was full but the staff were brilliant and nothing was too much trouble - pink champagne at breakfast came faster than light and the food in the restaurant was top class. We stayed two nights and left wishing we had booked for longer - we will certainly be back for more.

Room Tip: The rooms are well insulated and soundproofed - no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBWS, Owner at The Old Bridge, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you Dustymx - we are flattered by your kind words.
With best wishes
John Hoskins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntingdon
14.9 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,311 reviews
1.6 mi away
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
#4 of 9 in Huntingdon
646 reviews
0.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#6 of 9 in Huntingdon
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sandford House Bar and Hotel
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse
15.7 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bridge

Property: The Old Bridge
Address: 1 High Street, Huntingdon PE29 3TQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Huntingdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Huntingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Bridge 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A handsome, ivy-clad 18th century building, once a private bank, overlooking the River Ouse and yet right on the edge of the town centre. Its atmosphere balances that of a boutique townhouse hotel and a bustling, relaxed, traditional inn. 24 beautiful air-conditioned bedrooms with B&O televisons and luxurious bathrooms. Fine but informal restaurant, winner of AA award for best wine list in the UK in 2010. Also wine shop with 'enomatic' tasting machines, bar with real ales, and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Old Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Bridge Hotel Huntingdon
Old Bridge Huntingdon
Old Bridge Hotel Huntingdon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing