We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like staying with family!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shirelodge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 20 Huntingdon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Like staying with family!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

I spent last weekend staying with the lovely Shona, Bob and they're gorgeous dog Buster. They gave us an amazingly warm welcome with huge pots of tea which was just what we needed after a long day out at Burghley Horse Trials! The rooms are really lovely - the bed I slept in was really comfortable and I slept like a log. Lovely en suite bathrooms with homey touches like dressing gowns and blankets clean and ready to use. We were reccomended to go to the pub down the road for dinner, which we did and it was great pub grub with huge hearty portions! The hot tub was bliss - we were in there quite late (as it's a bit addictive!) and we turned the outside light off to see the stars, it was amazing if you're there on a clear night then definitely do that as it's gorgeous. Breakfast was wonderful, huge fry up to fill us up for the long drive home and to soothe the hangover gained by one of our party who got a bit carried away in the hot tub! Really did feel like we were leaving family - absolutely lovely place to stay and we will definitely come back next year for Burghley, no more faffing with hotels as this is definitely the place to be!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MulberryLover123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shona T, Owner at Shirelodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Thank you firstly for taking the time to write the review on shire,lodge and secondly for such a positive one. We look forward to seeing you again next year especially Buster!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    8
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
20
48
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

We have stayed here twice for a golf tournament in the area. always a warm welcome, very clean and both Shona and Bob are very accommodating. The food is excellent...large breakfast, and the lounge facilities a bonus. We would certainly recommend staying here, its like staying with friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janet_m8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

We've just come back from a fabulous weekend where we were lucky enough to stay at Shire Lodge. We had a warm reception form Bob, Shona and Buster who made us immediately welcome with huge pots of tea. The bedrooms were large, comfortable and very clean, with all sorts of nice touches to make you feel right at home. The jacuzzi is gorgeous and was enjoyed by us late into the night. Breakfast is an event, freshly cooked to order and enormous!! After a game of football with buster (he is super talented) it was time to say goodbye. But within 24 hours we've booked to return next year. For 2 nights this time!!!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank pinkjojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shona T, Owner at Shirelodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. It means a lot to us and makes sure we are staying on top of things. Glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We have been staying at Shire Lodge for the last 5 years, for the Ramsey 1940s weekend in August, it is more like staying with friends, the welcome is very warm from Shona Bob & Buster the dog.
A welcome cup of tea as soon as you stop the car, rooms are beautifully clean, with tea and coffee making facility plus 2 chocolate bars, power Shower is brilliant, bed is very comfortable a huge full English breakfast. Plus electric gates make secure parking for our vintage car. Best B&B we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shona T, Owner at Shirelodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you Melvin and Annette for taking the time and trouble to write such a lovely review. It's good to hear we are keeping on top of things. We look forward to seeing you next year. Thanks again Shona bob and Buster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Have stayed at the Shire Lodge twice and both times have been flawless. Very welcoming people, clean and friendly. The room I have stayed in is an ideal size and has a nice en-suite with a walk-in shower. Very flexible and wiling to help meet your needs. Food is very good and if you get the opportunity a relax in the hot tub is worth a go. Parking on site and motorbikes welcome.

Am very pleased with the Shire Lodge and have provisionally booked further dates for business travel.

Thanks you Shona, Bob & Buster.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shona T, Owner at Shirelodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you for taking time and trouble to write this review. It means a lot to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Stayed for one night while celebrating the 40th anniversary of the MG owners club at nearby Swavesey. Shona and Bob provided all we needed, even a welcome gin and tonic after the hottest day of the year !
Spotlessly clean and comfortable and the garden is wonderful to wander around.
Good nights sleep followed by huge full English breakfast, what more could you want.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cericlogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shona T, Owner at Shirelodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely comments and taking the time to write your review. We appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon,UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Stayed here for 1 night while visiting Duxford, defo worth the extra few miles drive to stay here.
Shona and Bob are perfect host's,the breakfast was amazing same as the showers,never left without a drink in your hand, perfect sat on the patio with a beer and having a laugh..

If have children,they could spend allday playing football with buster(the friendly dog)...

Top notch B&B will defo stay again..

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mttbck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huntingdon hotels
9.4 mi away
Premier Inn Huntingdon (A1/A14) Hotel
7.9 mi away
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
#4 of 9 in Huntingdon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
8.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Hall Farm B&B
Hall Farm B&B
#3 of 20 in Huntingdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
6.9 mi away
Redwings Lodge
Redwings Lodge
#18 of 20 in Huntingdon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Thorpe Guesthouse
The Thorpe Guesthouse
#1 of 2 in Hemingford Grey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shirelodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shirelodge Bed & Breakfast

Property: Shirelodge Bed & Breakfast
Address: Shire Lodge Warboys Road | Bury, Huntingdon PE26 2NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Huntingdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Huntingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shirelodge Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star accommodation. Small and friendly set on the edge of Ramsey. Ideal location for Huntingdon, StIves, Warboys, Abbots Ripton, Ely, Peterborough, Wyton,Cambridge and surrounding areas. Separate lounge with honesty bar and snooker/pool table. Sky ( all channels). Free WIFI and free use of Hot tub with jets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shirelodge Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing