We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shirelodge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 19 Huntingdon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2014

A wonderful warm welcome was received upon our arrival by our hosts. The accomodation is imacculate,the room was lovely and comfortable. A lounge enabled us to have an evening drink at great value!! And to round off our stay we were treated to a fantastic English Breakfast.
A lovely place to stay in a lovely part of the world. (we also include Buster the dog!!!)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shona T, Owner at Shirelodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you firstly for taking the time to write this review and secondly for your lovely comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hopefully will see you again in the future. Buster sends his love!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
There are newer reviews for Shirelodge Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

A very warm welcome from very polite hosts Shona and Bob. We were shown round along with our friends and all rooms and whole building is very clean and well kept, including the guest lounge were we had a very pleasant drink from the bar at very good value. The Breakfast was very nice and Bob was very helpful in giving us a lift down to get our car from the local town. A very pleasant stay and will definitely be visiting again.
Thank You.
Marian and Ray.

Room Tip: all rooms were good as were shown round.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bertie6312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shona T, Owner at Shirelodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It's good to know we staying on top of things. Glad you all enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Shona and Bob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed here for two nights to allow travel up to the very north of England. A convenient spot. The room was lovely and quiet and has a great new bathroom. Beds deliciously comfortable. Very helpful owner.

Room Tip: Our bathroom, while great and new, had one problem: there is no place to put the hand-held shower ex...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waterfall21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Had another great weekend at Shire Lodge, Shona & Bob and Buster are very friendly and welcoming.
There is a large lounge with great facilities a wonderful hot tub and a very large breakfast cooked to order.
We would recommend staying here.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Barabara24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I spent last weekend staying with the lovely Shona, Bob and they're gorgeous dog Buster. They gave us an amazingly warm welcome with huge pots of tea which was just what we needed after a long day out at Burghley Horse Trials! The rooms are really lovely - the bed I slept in was really comfortable and I slept like a log. Lovely en suite bathrooms with homey touches like dressing gowns and blankets clean and ready to use. We were reccomended to go to the pub down the road for dinner, which we did and it was great pub grub with huge hearty portions! The hot tub was bliss - we were in there quite late (as it's a bit addictive!) and we turned the outside light off to see the stars, it was amazing if you're there on a clear night then definitely do that as it's gorgeous. Breakfast was wonderful, huge fry up to fill us up for the long drive home and to soothe the hangover gained by one of our party who got a bit carried away in the hot tub! Really did feel like we were leaving family - absolutely lovely place to stay and we will definitely come back next year for Burghley, no more faffing with hotels as this is definitely the place to be!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MulberryLover123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shona T, Owner at Shirelodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

Thank you firstly for taking the time to write the review on shire,lodge and secondly for such a positive one. We look forward to seeing you again next year especially Buster!.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We have stayed here twice for a golf tournament in the area. always a warm welcome, very clean and both Shona and Bob are very accommodating. The food is excellent...large breakfast, and the lounge facilities a bonus. We would certainly recommend staying here, its like staying with friends.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janet_m8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We've just come back from a fabulous weekend where we were lucky enough to stay at Shire Lodge. We had a warm reception form Bob, Shona and Buster who made us immediately welcome with huge pots of tea. The bedrooms were large, comfortable and very clean, with all sorts of nice touches to make you feel right at home. The jacuzzi is gorgeous and was enjoyed by us late into the night. Breakfast is an event, freshly cooked to order and enormous!! After a game of football with buster (he is super talented) it was time to say goodbye. But within 24 hours we've booked to return next year. For 2 nights this time!!!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank pinkjojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shona T, Owner at Shirelodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. It means a lot to us and makes sure we are staying on top of things. Glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntingdon
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse
5.7 mi away
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
#4 of 9 in Huntingdon
669 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Dolphin
The Dolphin
#3 of 4 in St Ives
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Sandford House Bar and Hotel
5.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#6 of 9 in Huntingdon
443 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Old Bridge
The Old Bridge
#1 of 9 in Huntingdon
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shirelodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shirelodge Bed & Breakfast

Address: Shire Lodge Warboys Road | Bury, Huntingdon PE26 2NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Huntingdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Huntingdon
Price Range: £59 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shirelodge Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star accommodation. Small and friendly set on the edge of Ramsey. Ideal location for Huntingdon, StIves, Warboys, Abbots Ripton, Ely, Peterborough, Wyton,Cambridge and surrounding areas. Separate lounge with honesty bar and snooker/pool table. Sky ( all channels). Free WIFI and free use of Hot tub with jets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shirelodge Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing